Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (103)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'COMPETITION RATHER THAN FRIENDSHIP PERHAPS'
C.I A Agents 'FDR Foster' ( Chris Pine ) and 'Tuck' ( Tom Hardy ) are partners watching each others back when the chips are down, most importantly of all however they are ''Best-Friends''
'Tuck' meets a girl 'Lauren' ( Reese Witherspoon ) via an on-line dating agency, 'FDR' meets the same girl in a video store.
Competition between the two friends becomes intense...
Published 8 months ago by rbmusicman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A cold war
This Means War is a light piece of entertainment. It starts off rather funny but eventually falls into the usual cliches. Two best friends who also happen to be spies end up falling for the same girl. When they realise this the game starts with both guys trying to out do the other to win her affections.

Of course they both use the resources they have at their...
Published 5 months ago by T. Cosens


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'COMPETITION RATHER THAN FRIENDSHIP PERHAPS', 6 Aug. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Means War (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
C.I A Agents 'FDR Foster' ( Chris Pine ) and 'Tuck' ( Tom Hardy ) are partners watching each others back when the chips are down, most importantly of all however they are ''Best-Friends''
'Tuck' meets a girl 'Lauren' ( Reese Witherspoon ) via an on-line dating agency, 'FDR' meets the same girl in a video store.
Competition between the two friends becomes intense as they both do everything to spoil the others chances with 'Lauren'
friendship between the two is put to the test, priority's have changed.
The film with 'Tuck' and 'FDR's' working together as they've always done,, whilst simmering in the background the explosive competition between the two is often quite funny as the two go to great lengths to belittle the other.
well worth a watch at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May the best man win, 11 Mar. 2012
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Means War (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This Means War on paper at least sounded like a complete disaster but manages to be
a completely ridiculous very silly but very funny action comedy about 2 rival spies who end up both falling for the same girl. Tom Hardy and Chris Pine 2 of the best upcoming talents are both very good as the two best friends and CIA agents who both meet and fall for Reese Witherspoon also giving a very good performance and then have a competetion which gets out of hand as each agent attempts to sabotage the other's attempt to win the girl's heart. They both use every trick in the book and use every CIA resource in an attempt to get the girl. Forget reality, the whole film is very over the top, silly, immature but if not taken seriously like it's not intended to be taken seriously then it is a lot of fun with good action scenes. The name McG normally makes me cringe but this is probably his best film. Switch brain off and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unisex Rom Com, 3 July 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Means War (DVD) (DVD)
FDR (Chirs Pine (Star Trek) & Tuck (Tom Hardy -The Dark Knight Rises) are two long time friends & CIA operatives who take covert to a new level of carnage, much to the dismay of they're boss. But the pair who watch each others back's, maybe about to fall out, as they realise they are both after the the same girl, Lauren (Reese Witherspoon - Legally Blonde). They make a gentleman's agreement, but the gloves are soon off as the spy equipment & CIA staff are put onto tasks of an unimportant nature to US security, as the pair try to get one over each other on they're dates. May the best man win!

Overall i liked This Means War for it's approach on the Rom Com genre, as a male, i found it caught my attention & peaked my interest a lot more. The use of the spy equipment, gadgets & surveillance was very funny in places & added another dimension to the proceedings, compared to more traditional Rom Com's. The leads all had a good chemistry between them, which is a key factor for a Rom Com, as if you don't get that right you end up with a film where you don't believe there is a real two way connection. Chelsea Handler's (Chelsea Lately) interfering friend added some fun too, confusing matters for Reese who is usually a strong willed woman, but need's that push to take risks. While the sub plot with the Russian baddie Heinrich (Til Schweiger -Inglourious Basterds) bookended the proceedings.

In conclusion, This Mean's War is a good unisex Rom Com that would be ideal for sitting down with a loved one over some take out & refreshments. Contains mild language (1x F-bomb), violence & mature themes. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Total nonsense - great!, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: This Means War [DVD] (DVD)
Can't really imagine this will appeal to the boys - check out the bad reviews, most of them mail. However for a rainy Sunday afternoon I thought this was great. I rarely laugh out loud at films but did so on a couple of occasions. OK it wasn't going to win any Oscars but it was a light hearted romp. And of course Tom Hardy was his normal gorgeous self.

How earth RW would choose Chris PIne over him is beyond me, but then in Hollywoodland the Yanks are always going to beat the Brits. So if you have a spare couple of hours this is worth giving a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another film that was much better than reviews suggested, 8 Mar. 2012
This review is from: This Means War (DVD) (DVD)
For some reason this was supposed to be "a career low for all its three stars" according to one review in the press. I am glad I still went to see it! The plot of this comedy, if you don't know, is: two CIA agents and best friends accidentally start dating the same woman. Although they start off amicably, they progressively get down to dirtier tricks to spy on and undermine each other's efforts as they try to out-do themselves in front of her - while keeping their jobs secret and investigating the case of a German assassin heading to LA. Eventually the truth comes out... Who will she pick? How will it all end?

This is NOT one of those films where you are supposed to 'turn off your brain' (like Transformers) and it is definitely not an insipid rom-com. I don't know how, but all the incredible silliness and plot holes just don't matter and actually add to the enjoyment. Yeah, sure, in real life they'd be busted the second they diverted CIA resources to surveillance of a random civilian, and what the heck is an East Londoner doing working at the CIA? Forget it all. Both male stars bring something different to the film and for the girl it is a genuine dilemma of who to pick. I would say there is definite chemistry in both couples, and a believable friendship between the 'lads'.

I was fully expecting to sit through the film with a fixed grin and smile half-heartedly at the bits that were obviously supposed to be funny - I am a bit of tough audience when it comes to comedy and sick of the pulp that Hollywood rams down our throats. Not a bit of it, I totally got involved with the film, laughed, and didn't really see much coming in advance until it didn't matter.

I would really recommend this film (also, a mercifully short 1hr 40mins) for a cheerful evening in, whether by yourself or in a group - especially mixed girls and guys as there is a lot of 'relationship stuff' there to laugh about from both sides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun action comedy, 16 April 2015
By 
chelios1981 (Glos, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Means War [DVD] (DVD)
3.5 stars.

A fun breezy comedy that ticks all the right boxes, good cast, good story, good action and good direction.

If your a fan of movies like Mr & Mrs Smith or Knight & Day this is along a similar line, mixing romance and action around a flimsy but fun plot.

Hardy, Evans and Witherspoon play there roles well, as two cocky spies and the cutesy girl they both fall for.

Cue lots of one upmanship as they both try to woo her and make the other look a complete idiot utilizing there spy training and technology.

A traditional spy genre subplot involving Both men trying to take down a ruthless villain is thrown into the mix and provides the big action highlights.

Not smart, but big dumb Hollywood fun that should entertain guy's and girl's alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A cold war, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Means War (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This Means War is a light piece of entertainment. It starts off rather funny but eventually falls into the usual cliches. Two best friends who also happen to be spies end up falling for the same girl. When they realise this the game starts with both guys trying to out do the other to win her affections.

Of course they both use the resources they have at their finger tip to fnd out everything they need to know to woo the girl and this leads to some outlandish skirmishes.

Never mind the fact that they both seem to be happy that they are being cheated on in the first place the film really does need to be taken with a pinch of salt.

The action is okay and the comedy is sporadic but the film is generally fun and would pass a couple of hours easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars funny film with hunks, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Means War (DVD) (DVD)
loved this film at the pictures so wanted it for my easy watch collection. all 3 actors are brill in this but Tom Hardy is the icing on the cake
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see funny mix of romantic comedy and action movie., 31 Aug. 2014
Loved it - Fantastic funny mix of romantic comedy and action movie. Made me laugh.

Having discovered and loved Reese Witherspoon in her "Legally blond" movies this was a must watch for me. I wasn't disappointed. As a Star trek fan I should have recognised both Chris Pine and Tom Hardy too, but didn't. As characters in the plot they work well together and it amusing to see how they operate as rivals.

Packed a few surprise too.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate Romcoms.... But THIS is amazing, 3 July 2012
By 
Am Yeates - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Means War (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I must say, I've been always hated the predictable, boring American style Romantic/Comedy, however after being dragged to watch this with my, as she would put it, 'better' half I was pleasantly surprised. It wss FANTASTIC. THE best film I've seen this year by far. Don't expect it to not be predictable, but the comedy, is simply sublime. If you don't watch this and get something out of it there is something wrong with you....(And yes I've actually just purchased it. - money where my mouth is)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Means War (Blu-ray + Digital Copy) [Region Free]
£9.32
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews