Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here come the girls: perfect entertainment for a girls' night in
`Snow Flower' is one of those movies which you're likely to enjoy more if you haven't read the book around which it's based. It's an emotionally charged historical drama which contrasts two parallel tales of friendship between women, one set in the 19th century and the other in the modern world. The film interpretation is quite different to the book, although the core...
Published on 4 Jan. 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst film I've seen but definitly seen better
Not the worst film I've seen but definitly seen better. The story line was quite endearing but I found some of the acting slightly wooden. Such a shame cause I think this could be a film worthy of five stars if maybe a little more time was taken with it. I did like the parallels between the old and modern and some of the scenery was effective.
Published 2 months ago by AMAZON CUSTOMER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Love story - beautifully told., 18 Aug. 2014
Absolutely beautiful film. Moving and touching on so many levels. A love story between devoted sisters, beautifully told. I only wish I had read the book first. That is next on my list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing film, real weepy, beautifully shot and stunning scenery. I read the book first, so a little disappointed that they changed it, but still a great film on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed - a choppy, shallow and badly scripted adaptation., 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
I have not read the book that this film is based on, but I have read other Lisa See novels. If you were to watch this film unaware that it was based on a novel - it would soon become apparent to you that it was. There is obviously so much in the book that the writers wanted to capture in the film, that the whole thing ended up feeling very rushed and under-developed.

The film chopped clunkily and too often between the historical and modern day stories, none of the characters were well formed enough and it was hard to feel this so-called sisterly bond between the modern day characters in particular. The script was quite awkward and some of the phrasing was a bit obvious in its effort to sign-post where the story was going.

The scenes set in the past were a thousand times better than the modern day scenes, as the Chinese actresses were speaking in Mandarin and appeared more comfortable. They inexplicably spoke English a majority of the time in the modern day scenes, which sounded odd to the ear and affected their acting (in my opinion, as they didn't seem as comfortable acting in a foreign tongue).

This film could have been improved by focusing mainly on the historical angle of the novel, maybe having the modern scenes at the beginning and the end to tie it up nicely. The producers of this film have fallen down in trying to adapt the novel as faithfully as possible, but in the end we're left with a shallow under-developed and rushed film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Jun. 2014
By 
I found this very hard to follow at the beginning as it introduced the two pairs of girls. In both the historical and modern setting, one girl is from a rich family whose fortune is lost, and one is from a poor family who rises in society (due to the quality of her bound feet securing her a good marriage in the past, and her academic skills and hard work in the present). As the movie flips between past and present, rich and poor, different areas of China in the past, child and adult actors, it's hard to know what's going on.

Once you do know, this film is gripping, though the unnecessary English in the present spoils it slightly. Some of the lines the pair speak to one another in English as adults are downright clumsy, to the point of being embarrassing in a professional film, but the English subtitles aren't. Why would they speak to one another in private in a language they are apparently beginners in when by now the Korean woman has lived in China for 10 or more years? If it was supposed to increase the appeal to English speakers, they failed with this one. (In retrospect, maybe it's supposed to be some kind of parallel with Nüshu, but 1) it's not an obvious or logical parallel and 2) it doesn't work!)

The ending is obvious and perhaps a little abrupt, but it's heart warming, which is surely what they set out to accomplish.

Though I have plenty of complaints, it's still an enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing and touching movie ... Totally recommended, 30 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great movie with amazing scenery and fantastic story line. Very well linked between the two stories, with fantastic soundtracks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plot is interesting, have learned new knowledge about the 19th century of China through watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good interpretation, I've given it to my chinese friend ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
I read the book first,good interpretation ,I've given it to my chinese friend to watch,enjoyed thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 27 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film but I think if you have not read the book then this film is really quite vague but would recommend anyone to read the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful.....exquisite., 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a joy. I love this genre...Joy Luck Club , How to make an American Quilt , etc, etc. and this one truly is a 5 Star . It moves on so gently and pulls you right in ...and the actresses are perfectly cast....all plus the wonderful music score by Rachel Portman. I've watched it three times now and It will be watched many more times .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery! :o), 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Received this DVD very quickly indeed. I found this film to be very atmospheric & rather melancholy for want of a better word! Unusual but moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD]
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] by Wayne Wang (DVD - 2012)
£5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews