Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here come the girls: perfect entertainment for a girls' night in
`Snow Flower' is one of those movies which you're likely to enjoy more if you haven't read the book around which it's based. It's an emotionally charged historical drama which contrasts two parallel tales of friendship between women, one set in the 19th century and the other in the modern world. The film interpretation is quite different to the book, although the core...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Region 2 Viewers Short-Changed Again !
This review concerns the REGION 2 VERSION ONLY.

The US version runs to 120 minutes, the blue-ray edition runs to 120 minutes, why are UK audiences short-changed again with a sub-standard product that runs for 99 minutes ?

The difference, the REgion 2 is rated at 12A and the US version is rated at 13PG. Seriously ?!The other difference being that the...
Published 19 months ago by Soulstorm2112


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A warm, life-affirming film. Usunusal and thought provoking, although not without a few niggles., 10 Jan 2013
By 
John M "John M" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
This film is made of two distinct story lines, one in modern day Shanghai and the other set in rural China in the 1820's. Both concern two women, who are played by the same two actresses in both settings, who are in each case a 'Laotong' to eachother, something akin to a female soul-mate. The film parallels their struggles in the modern world and that of two centuries earlier.
In the 1820's, which was definitely the more interesting story line, the two girls named Lily and Snow Flower, are paired together across a social divide as Laotongs to each other. Both have their feet bound as young girls, and Lily is praised for the perfect form of her feet, which enable her to acquire a husband of higher social standing, such was the concept of beauty and social worth. Snow Flower, from a richer family, marries less well after her father becomes a bankrupt opium-pipe addict. This story follows the struggle of both women through married life in a male-dominated society, and is at times very poignant and moving, with excellent scenes and costume. The women communicate with each other by writing on a fan that they pass between them.
The modern day story line also tells the life of the two girls, Nina and Sophia, in a different but very comparable situation. Nina's family is ruined by a stock market crash and is separated from Sophia, when she meets a nightclub singer and owner (Hugh Jackman cameo), and after an accident both girls are reunited, realising that their friendship is the most important thing to them.
The parallels in the two settings deliver the message that despite the great changes in the world across centuries and generations, the most important things in life, such as human relationships, remain immutable.
The film has many good points: the structure is clever and unusual - although this mirrors the novel, and the insight into early nineteenth century Chinese culture is highly revealing. I was less struck by the twentieth century story line however, which prevented my giving it the highest star rating. At times this was a little slow, occasionally difficult to follow, and the story seemed a little forced in places to create the historical parallel.
However this is certainly worth watching, and I'm tempted to read the book after seeing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a watch, 27 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed the film but I think if you have not read the book then this film is really quite vague but would recommend anyone to read the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Region 2 Viewers Short-Changed Again !, 22 Feb 2013
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
This review concerns the REGION 2 VERSION ONLY.

The US version runs to 120 minutes, the blue-ray edition runs to 120 minutes, why are UK audiences short-changed again with a sub-standard product that runs for 99 minutes ?

The difference, the REgion 2 is rated at 12A and the US version is rated at 13PG. Seriously ?!The other difference being that the US version has many more features but is still half the price of the Region 2 version at the time of writing this review.

The BBFC have the approved running time at 104 minutes and 8 seconds.

This happens far too often.

The film itself (all 120 minutes of it) is superb.

My grade is for the Region 2 release, not the film itself.

Snow Flower & The Secret Fan [DVD] [2011] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film as good as the title, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I love Chinese and Japanese names - Snow Flower is beautiful and poetic. Take note celebs when naming children! I am also a massive fan of Asian Cinema -whether it be action Martial arts films or gentler ones like this. I don't know how anyone could be cynical about this film, dealing as it does with vows of true friendship that we in the West could learn from. It is an unashamed 'weepie' and maybe more aimed at women than us men, but I allow myself a guilty pleasure now and again. The photography and acting are gorgeous and the sentiments expressed laudable. I watched the film twice over as some of the flitting through time became a little confusing first time around-but all was much clearer second time. I am almost certain that I will watch it again! I am glad I haven't read the book as that invariably spoils the effect as the book and the film are rarely the same and purists will complain, as I might have done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good interpretation, I've given it to my chinese friend ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
I read the book first,good interpretation ,I've given it to my chinese friend to watch,enjoyed thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 20 Jun 2014
I found this very hard to follow at the beginning as it introduced the two pairs of girls. In both the historical and modern setting, one girl is from a rich family whose fortune is lost, and one is from a poor family who rises in society (due to the quality of her bound feet securing her a good marriage in the past, and her academic skills and hard work in the present). As the movie flips between past and present, rich and poor, different areas of China in the past, child and adult actors, it's hard to know what's going on.

Once you do know, this film is gripping, though the unnecessary English in the present spoils it slightly. Some of the lines the pair speak to one another in English as adults are downright clumsy, to the point of being embarrassing in a professional film, but the English subtitles aren't. Why would they speak to one another in private in a language they are apparently beginners in when by now the Korean woman has lived in China for 10 or more years? If it was supposed to increase the appeal to English speakers, they failed with this one. (In retrospect, maybe it's supposed to be some kind of parallel with Nüshu, but 1) it's not an obvious or logical parallel and 2) it doesn't work!)

The ending is obvious and perhaps a little abrupt, but it's heart warming, which is surely what they set out to accomplish.

Though I have plenty of complaints, it's still an enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars moving and beautiful, 4 May 2014
I found this film to be a very moving and beautiful film, gently executed, full of symbolism and a deep strong sense of story. Focusing on mainly two characters both past and present the parallels became stronger towards the end where the relevance of the theme of this film was brought into sharp focus. Both moving and sad there was a lesson for all in power of friendship and love...haunting, powerful, gentle and a sad reminder of what women endured in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, 21 April 2014
A wonderful story of love and friendship, slightly too sentimental for me in places, but well acted and I loved the slow pace. However......the irony of foot binding which thank god is not carried out any more, is replaced in our society by women wearing heels that are so high that they bend their feet into similar shapes, and teeter on tiptoe in pain.

Some things do not change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching., 16 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Enfield, Middlesex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very moving story. I am not usually fond of films with subtitles, but I'm glad I watched it through.
It tells the story of two friendships set in two different eras and enables the viewer to understand that life doesn't always turn out as you expect it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery! :o), 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Received this DVD very quickly indeed. I found this film to be very atmospheric & rather melancholy for want of a better word! Unusual but moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD]
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] by Wayne Wang (DVD - 2012)
£7.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews