Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here come the girls: perfect entertainment for a girls' night in
`Snow Flower' is one of those movies which you're likely to enjoy more if you haven't read the book around which it's based. It's an emotionally charged historical drama which contrasts two parallel tales of friendship between women, one set in the 19th century and the other in the modern world. The film interpretation is quite different to the book, although the core...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Region 2 Viewers Short-Changed Again !
This review concerns the REGION 2 VERSION ONLY.

The US version runs to 120 minutes, the blue-ray edition runs to 120 minutes, why are UK audiences short-changed again with a sub-standard product that runs for 99 minutes ?

The difference, the REgion 2 is rated at 12A and the US version is rated at 13PG. Seriously ?!The other difference being that the...
Published 17 months ago by Soulstorm2112


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here come the girls: perfect entertainment for a girls' night in, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
`Snow Flower' is one of those movies which you're likely to enjoy more if you haven't read the book around which it's based. It's an emotionally charged historical drama which contrasts two parallel tales of friendship between women, one set in the 19th century and the other in the modern world. The film interpretation is quite different to the book, although the core themes are the same.
Set in the feudal era of warlords, arranged marriages and foot-binding, the historical aspect of the film follows the fortunes of two young girls in Hunan who are paired together as laotong, friends for life. This reflects the formal marriages of the time when girls were parcelled off to make a good match, without the prospect of love or companionship within their marriages. The film delicately explores the changing fortunes of the pair as their paths separate and they become isolated, with only a series of secret messages for support.
200 years later in modern Shanghai, another childhood friendship appears to be unravelling as the women reach maturity and seem to be going their separate ways. As children they mimicked their ancestors by signing a traditional laotong contract - as adults they must explore what that means, or lose each other's friendship forever.

We enjoyed the historical segments of the film far more than the modern ones, although the mirrored themes are cleverly represented across them both. The four main characters are played by two actresses who deliver heart-wrenching performances with plot threads interwoven between the two time periods. The spikey high heels of the smart Shanghai set echo the torment of the children with their feet bound back to enhance their beauty; the girls are forced to assess the value of their friendships - and make life-changing sacrifices for each others' benefit. Can friendship really last for life, against the odds of domestic pressure and the demands of the modern world? At the end, there really wasn't a dry eye in the house...
The cameo by Hugh Jackman is little more than a couple of scenes, hardly a big part. Some of the spoken English can be hard to follow, while the minor historical characters (the husband and mother-in-law) seem to be little more than caricatures. The film veers unashamedly into the realm of the sentimental costume drama. It wears its heart on its sleeve, in fact; some may consider it soppy but we thought it was touching in its innocence. You'd be advised to watch the film first and read the book afterwards.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful film, beautifully acted. I liked it so well I bought a copy for my daughter. It arrived on time and in excellent condition. Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film about friendship, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
I had read the book which the film is based on a few years ago and did not know it had been made into a film until I caught it on TV recently. I had missed most of the TV transmission so I purchased the movie. It has a nice mix if modern and ancient china running the stories of two women parallel in the two different times which the book did not. Personally I would not read the book before watching the film read the book afterwards to fill in more detail. A great story of female friendship which many women will relate to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story about 2 women/friends/sisters, 5 April 2014
Absolutely beautiful story. Made me cry from sadness and happiness. Recommend to all women around the world. Watch this story about a deep love between 2 friends who understood each other on a level where only 2 soulmates (women/friends/sisters) can do. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 4 April 2014
Well worth a watch... lots of lovely scenes and a gripping story, with a deeper message missing from much of mainstream film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Charming and sometimes very sad story of two childhood friends and their subsequent adult lives in rural China . Remaining true to each other despite their very different lifestyles . A well made storyline and good acting .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of atmosphere, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Having read and thoroughly enjoyed the book, I was more than pleased to come across the film which I did not know had been made. It didn't disappoint. The film is very different from the book but is a work of art in its own right. It is atmospheric, beautifully shot and has wonderful music. I just wanted to watch it all over again when it came to an end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well..., 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan is a commercial and critical flop from acclaimed director Wayne Wang and adaptation of a bestselling novel that I haven't read. On surface it's a interesting art-house film that delves into some very interesting topics from Chinese culture and tries to make it work in both the historical setting of the book and in the newly added plot line set in modern time China. But sadly, the end result is utterly boring and melodramatic, Spielbergian style schmaltz and goo fest with very few redeeming qualities to it. Yes, the sets look wonderful and the cinematography is excellent as you might expect from a film made in China. But unlike the works of Zhang Yimou, the writing and acting just doesn't keep up and leave you with an empty feeling at the end.

It stars Bingbing Li who you might have seen in the horrendous Resident Evil: Retribution and my absolute favorite actress Jun Ji-Hyun who you might have seen in the Blood: The Last Vampire film and other lesser known Korean films like My Sassy Girl, Windstruck, Daisy and the recent The Thieves. They both try their best, especially Jun Ji-Hyun who has to speak in two foreign languages that she doesn't talk very well. It always baffled me why they chose her to play the part opposite Bingbing Li. She is Korean and while they explained her nationality and poor Mandarin in the modern setting, it completely made no sense in the historical setting. I guess she was cast because in Asia she is a recognizable name and to broaden the appeal of the film in other Asian countries and that she is probably the best actress of her generation with Doona Bae. Also there is Hugh Jackman and he sings in Mandarin and appears in few scenes. If he was in more than 5 minutes the film could have been salvaged by his accent alone.

So did I hate this film? Not really. I rather enjoyed it on a guilty pleasure kind of way. There are few scenes that completely redeem the film in my eyes and it has a landmark moment in the career of Jun Ji-Hyun. For those who has seen every film with her in it, will know that before this film, she haven't kissed anyone. And in the Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, she shared a kiss with Hugh Jackman. But for general audience this isn't going to matter at all and you will be bored by the film. I cant' recommend it for anyone unless you are a fan of Jun Ji-Hyun or Bingbing Li and want to see their filmography's or you are just very curious about it and can endure anything thrown at you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
A lovely book interesting and very informative. Having read the book I had to buy the DVD which was a pleasure to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] (DVD)
Just watched this movie for the second time. Great story from a period in history that I have an ongoing interest in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD]
Snow Flower and the Secret Fan [DVD] by Wayne Wang (DVD - 2012)
7.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews