Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy
If you've never seen it SOA (or SAMCRO--Sons of Anarchy, Motorcycle Club, Redwood Originals) is a series about a hells angels type biker gang in California. It is slightly similar to the Sopranos in style (ultra violent action mixed with dark humour, great characters and real drama). This seems a little darker and at times a bit more OTT but it is still a class show...
Published 15 months ago by ric03

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Promised Land
Let me tell you that much: S.O.A. is no "Sopranos". SOA had all the ingredients necessary for a successful TV series and I try to enumerate here good actors like Ron Perlman, Katey Sagal, Kim Coates or Mark Boone Jr, a hunk (Charlie Hunnam) and a hottie (Maggie Siff), plenty of drama, love scenes, violence, humour, bullets and machine guns to fill a barn and of...
Published 2 months ago by Adlah M.


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy, 21 Mar 2013
By 
ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you've never seen it SOA (or SAMCRO--Sons of Anarchy, Motorcycle Club, Redwood Originals) is a series about a hells angels type biker gang in California. It is slightly similar to the Sopranos in style (ultra violent action mixed with dark humour, great characters and real drama). This seems a little darker and at times a bit more OTT but it is still a class show.

There is a great depth, as the lead character, the young Vice President Jax (who is not quite ready to take control) vies for power with his step-father, Clay (Ron Pearlman--who is just starting to get too long in the tooth to run the club). Caught between them is Jax's mother, Gemma (the excellent Katey Sagal--Peggy Bundy for those who remember Married with Children!). It gets even more complicated, for Jax's real father was the president before Clay (before he died) and wanted to guide the club away from guns and crime (whereas Clay didn't). Jax finds and reads his father's memoirs and starts to take on his father's ideals, so there is real animosity building between the two men (and the scheming and manipulative Gemma).

Add to that a range of top notch supporting characters, dark politically incorrect humor, plots that include weapons smuggling with the IRA, disputes with rival biker gangs, local police and small-town politics, the increasing influence of drug trafficking in rural America, white supremists and on and on...

All in all this is a great and entertaining crime show and if you liked The Sopranos, you'll probably like this too (likewise if you like SOA and never saw The Sopranos, they're very similar in style). Just wish there were more programs like this around (I hate all these dreary modern PC dramas that have no real characters!!!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be disapointed, 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is a brilliant series, although it can be a little cheesy in places and you will definitely wonder through a few episodes in the first series how so many guns can be going off all at once without hardly anyone getting shot. With that being said Sons of Anarchy is a perfect combination of witty humor, drama, action and motorcycles. Character's develop over the series as a good TV drama should and the acting is top notch.

On the Blu Ray's themselves I have only had time to go through the first series and I cannot complain. With certain TV series (The Walking Dead for example) the Blu Ray quality is hardly non-existent. However with the Sons of Anarchy, the quality of the Blu Ray is definitely there and you can see a clear picture quality upgrade from the standard DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4, 15 Feb 2013
By 
Cire "C1r3" (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When the first series came out T.V. I missed a few of the first episodes so when I started watching I was lost, couldn't follow the plotline and gave up. Now I purchased the DVD box set - and finished Season 1 in 3 days. It has, it seems, everything in it from humour (dark at times) to inter rivalry whether between the bike gangs or family. Rivetting series and it's a case of finding it hard to stop yourself putting the next disc in.

The only complaint I have is the way the box set has been designed, with the plastic disc inserts cellotaped together down one side, so after a while they fall apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best series ever made, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Sons of anarchy is my favorite programme on tv which never gets the mention it deserves like sopranos as it balences story and action and dont think its had a bad episode. When i saw this 35 for four seasons and on blu ray i jumped straight on laptop and brought pure bargin the blu ray is stunning picture and sound i recommend usind surrond sound speakers the bikes sound so amazing. Picture quality of five usa in uk is poor which this programme on so buy this and season five when it comes out you wont be disapointed also bear in mind its about 12 - 15 to buy each season on dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just what i wanted, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Can't wait for the 5th season. Perfect TV series. Unfortunately no greek subs or greman language but at least with english subtitles!
I do totally recommend Sons of Anarchy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samcro forever!, 3 Jun 2013
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Got this box set a few weeks ago and have not been able to turn it off! Absolutely addicted to the sons great show with some great storylines and plenty of action. Would recommend to any fans of the show because it's great value for money for all the blue ray discs so hurry up and buy it already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The product was fine, but the content is even better, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caught an episode of series 5 on TV, and took a chance. Absolutely love the show
Product 5 stars
Content 8 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 22 April 2013
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am very pleased with this purchase and it represents good value for money, the picture is crystal and the audio is clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fab product, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was my bfs christmas gift. He was chuffed to bits. Fantastic product and quality. Well worth the money I spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It was a bargain for the price just can't wait for season 5 to come out on blue ray disc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray]
Sons of Anarchy - Season 1-4 [Blu-ray] by Charlie Hunnam (Blu-ray - 2012)
44.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews