Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sitcom since Friends
I love New Girl. As with all TV shows, you have to watch the first few episodes to get into the characters. But when you do, oh how good it is. The main character Jess is upbeat and fun, and her room mates are all great characters with stories of their own. There's a whole will-they, won't-they plot between Jess and Nick which is so well done, lots of chemistry and sparks...
Published on 21 Oct 2012 by SSmith

versus
9 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
I'm a fan of Zooey, but frankly this show is nothing special. I've been watching ahead online and the series is OK, but most of the characters become unendurable and cringe worthy (especially Schmidt)and the plot lines are decent at best. Whilst Zooey tries to be this nice indie girl who is good at heart I cannot help but find her performance a little too slutty to be...
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Mr. I. R. W. Hoey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best sitcom since Friends, 21 Oct 2012
By 
SSmith (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love New Girl. As with all TV shows, you have to watch the first few episodes to get into the characters. But when you do, oh how good it is. The main character Jess is upbeat and fun, and her room mates are all great characters with stories of their own. There's a whole will-they, won't-they plot between Jess and Nick which is so well done, lots of chemistry and sparks flying. I was a huge fan of Friends and have missed it since it finished; this is on a similar level and I'm looking forward to more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Who's that girl? Its Jess!, 25 Jan 2012
By 
Ms. C. A. Anderson "Cassandra220689" (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people might give this a go purely on the basis that Zooey Deschanel is a great actress but I promise you there is more to this than the average sitcom show. Taking the Friday night spot on channel four here in the UK is a big move considering the success and popularity of Friends but its new,fresh, funny and a little outside the box.

Jess, our focus and center of drama is a hilariously funny character who kind of acts like a guy. She is far from a tomboy, although the move to make her look geeky may be slightly questionable, it is more like her mannerisms and her pesona, she is quirky but in a sweet way and it is all done in a hilariously funny way. She has what in the film mean girls they refer to as 'word vomit' and her constant remarks and saying and doing things without thinking make for genuinely cringy and funny moments that have you going did she really do that?

Her character is a refreshing change from the stereotypical women who seem to be associated with this genre and is offset against the guys she is now flat sharing with. Each having their own quirks but my favourite being Shmit who thinks he is such a ladies man and kind of loves himself but does it it in a femininely way which is so funny at times you would wish you knew him. But when it comes down to it the guys are there for Zooey's character Jess when she needs them and I think that is what is great, because as the series progresses you see the bond growing and them becoming like a family together and sticking by each other. Its clear that friendship is the key and that Jess might just be the right person to be the glue in all of their friendships.

The episodes are quite short each time but are similar Friends style format and they have some genuinely funny moments which will have you cringing,laughing,empathising and absolutely loving!

Cassandra220689
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I did watch the series when it aired on tv, but by the time I watched the DVD I'd forgotten a few of the stories so it was great to see them again. This is witty and charming - and although I can see similarities with Friends, I think it has enough unique qualities to remain original in its themes and humour. Have just started watching the second series on tv and it doesn't match up to this one at all - so I shall treasure this DVD and enjoy watching it on rainy Sunday afternoons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars all is well, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great dvd with extras ect. A reasonable price too.
Zooey Deschanel at her best as Jessica Day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new comedy queen, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
New Girl is definitely one of the break through shows of the past year, Zooey Deschanel is so funny in this dry humored comedy, she shines as the socially awkward yet big kind hearted Jess. The very quirky, very funny and very warm Hearted New Girl! More laughs to come no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dysfunctional friends, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Aidan J. McQuade (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Following a messy breakup Jess (Zooey Deschanel), a school teacher of "kooky" sensibilities, an unnerving singing habit, and a supermodel best friend (Cece - Hannah Simone), moves into an apartment in Los Angeles with three men at various stages of loserdom in their lives. Naturally nothing will be the same again for any of the five of them.

After a slightly uncertain start this series develops into a very funny ensemble piece. Each character is something of caricature but with enough depth to make them almost believeable and more importantly likeable. Genuine comedy emerges then from the characters sparking off each other and their misadventures in trying to cope with life. This can be quite close to the bone sometimes: one of the characters has a cancer scare, and unemployment threatens, alongside more common sitcom staples such as dating and the search for love. The series is rightly confident enough about the quality of the writing and performances to play without a studio audience or laugh track.

While it may not (YET) be the level of genius of Malcolm in the Middle, Frazier or The Big Bang Theory it certain shows huge promise and already has established itself as a finely written, warm and consistently deeply funny show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So happy!, 2 July 2012
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I don't understand how anybody can find this anything but cheerful! New Girl has good storylines, plus the characters are all hilarious and have had me and my friends in stitches. If you like programmes like friends, scrubs, how i met your mother, and other upbeat comedies then I recommend it. I don't think it tries to be too quirky, I'm not a hugely quirky person and I love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rapidly becoming one of the best comedies on TV, 15 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Your desire to watch New Girl is probably predicated by your tolerance of Zooey Deschanel, her cutesy fringe and massive possum eyes but rest assured there is a lot more to this show than that. If you aren't already a Zooey fan please don't let the somewhat annoying portmanteau "Adorkable" put you off seeing this great show.

In my opinion the first few episodes of the show's run are a little weak, but as season 1 continues this show goes from strength to strength as the writers seem to be figuring out what works and getting rid of what doesn't. If you have seen the first few episodes on TV and are not sure if this show is for you I would definitely recommend sticking with it as the characters become less cartoonish and more fleshed out. While there are lots of comedies about people in their 20s and early 30s struggling with quarter-life crises, this show find a fresh approach to these issues that both men and women of this age in particular should enjoy.

There is lots of cringe-inducing humour and the show benefits from a great deal of physical humour and sight-gags as well as nerdy rapid-fire verbal comedy (which is my favourite!). I would definitely recommend getting this show on DVD, as it is incredibly rewatchable. Not only will you quickly come to really enjoy `hanging-out' with these characters but sometimes the jokes and quips come so quickly you will definitely pick up on jokes you missed during the first watch.

The actors are all excellent and are perfectly cast in their different roles bringing a real warmth to the relationships between the main characters. Zooey is excellent as Jess and is a really refreshing comic lead. It is great to see a quirky, laid-back female character as so often actresses in sit-coms are relegated to being the nagging girlfriend/wife or to just commenting on the funny situations the male characters get themselves in to. Not only is Jess a witty character but also her lack of tact and weirdness are frequently sources of humour, as are the gaffs of her three roommates.

Schmit is the break out character of the show for me. While in the first episode he comes across as an arrogant, shallow meat-head he quickly becomes more nuanced and sensitive and in my opinion is far and away one of the funniest characters on TV.

I would definitely recommend the show to any sitcom fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hysterical!!, 3 May 2012
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely LOVE this program! I sometimes struggle to watch comedic programmes since I often find them far too cringe-worthy, but New Girl hits ALL the right notes!! This is, without doubt, a series to buy and watch over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
This review is from: New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Great DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Girl - Season 1 [DVD]
New Girl - Season 1 [DVD] by Zooey Deschanel (DVD - 2012)
£11.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews