Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXTRA COMMITMENTS
13 episodes this time, babies a feature. Some fans have objected, but if a series runs for years and there are romances, babies surely may well result. Here they pave the way for an added dimension as characters try to cope.

There is thus extra scope for deadpan comedy from one of television's most unlikely couples. Tough FBI man Booth is emotional about the...
Published 20 months ago by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, dear!
I have been a longtime fan of Bones but I'm rather disappointed in the direction the series has taken. Apparently, the viewing figures in America for Bones have been in steady decline and, after viewing Season 7, it's easy to see why. The problem, of course, is the pregnancy of Temperance Brennan and her resulting relationship with Seeley Booth which altered the entire...
Published on 8 Oct. 2012 by Cressida


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXTRA COMMITMENTS, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
13 episodes this time, babies a feature. Some fans have objected, but if a series runs for years and there are romances, babies surely may well result. Here they pave the way for an added dimension as characters try to cope.

There is thus extra scope for deadpan comedy from one of television's most unlikely couples. Tough FBI man Booth is emotional about the imminence of new life. Humourless forensic expert Brennan insists on working to the last moment, her excitement confined to thoughts of teaching their future offspring such delights as how to dissect a frog. Meanwhile colleagues Angela and Hodgins try not to let sleepless nights with little Michael affect their work.

The four stars rise to the challenge. They sparkle. They are fun.

Despite such commitments, all actively set about solving yet more intriguing cases. The yuk factor abounds with corpses often in advanced stages of putrefaction (including one flattened over a long stretch of highway). Often identities of culprits genuinely surprise.

As always, the likeable main cast is complemented by quirky "squinterns", Finn a most welcome addition. (More of him, please!) Booth's blunt boss Caroline remains great value. (More of her, too, would be very welcome.) Especially moving is Ep. 4, enhanced by Ralph Waite (of "The Waltons") as Booth's grandfather.

Some may find Ep.12 set in Hollywood a bit silly (although the makers seem thrilled with it). Few, though, will doubt the impact of the season's finale - a ruthless serial killer running rings round the team, one of them in particular danger....

Commentaries. Modest extras. A happy gag reel.

Although occasionally uneven, the series has been a firm favourite from its very start. This latest season may be shorter than many would wish but still contains much to please, babies included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones is the best!, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This series continues to give good watching. Not enough episodes for my taste...but only because I am greedy and would like to see more of it.

Can't wait to see the next ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, dear!, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
Cressida (Minstead, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a longtime fan of Bones but I'm rather disappointed in the direction the series has taken. Apparently, the viewing figures in America for Bones have been in steady decline and, after viewing Season 7, it's easy to see why. The problem, of course, is the pregnancy of Temperance Brennan and her resulting relationship with Seeley Booth which altered the entire dynamic of the series. What used to be a fairly gritty crime series with nice touches of offbeat humour has now morphed into a kind of romcom/soap opera with a crime background. All the characters have lost the edge that made them so interesting - the tensions and interplay between them have become banal and soft. Too often, the murder investigation of the week seems to be nothing more than a subplot to the trvial tales of two sickly sweet couples and their photogenic babies.

In a way, I'm relieved that this season is only thirteen episodes long although I agree that having to pay the price of a full season for it is a bit much. I don't know if I will bother with Season 8 when it comes out - surely not at full price. I have a feeling that a once intriguing and different series has now run its course. Which is a pity but probably inevitable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 29 Nov. 2013
By 
Robert Quick (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent story line and great chemistry between the characters. They keep
on turning out the high standard of story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones S7, 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great show. Even though they got Tempe and Booth together with a baby no less, It still hasn't jumped the shark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bones how you know it (or not), 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Fans waited a long time for this to finally happen. Have to admit the way they did it, is a smart one. They do not put too much attention on the whole relationship and how it develops, but more or less force them together by having her being pregant with his kid. One way of doing it. There usually is always a bit of concern about the show when two main characters get together, because usually not everyone is happy about the move. But in all fairness the producers and writers handle this fairly well in the season. It is still how it always is, the banters are cute, Booth is hot and all tough guy, Bones as always a bit clueless (but I love that about her) and everyone else is still there as well. I love that they kept the interns-idea going. I love that they have these on a rotating basis. Have to admit though, slowly the show looses its fascination for me. Maybe it is simply because it has now been 7 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 13 episodes are explainable, but not the loss of quality, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
A. J. Sturgess "Alan Sturgess" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
OK, OK, griping about only 13 episodes isn't really valid because of Emily Deschanel's real-time pregnancy (Her son was born Sept 2012), so I have no problems with the 13. I do strongly agree that it's not right to ask maximum price, but that's American TV studios for you .... profit before everything and anything. Thank heavens my daughter bought this series for me via an affiliate who charged well below the full price.

So what of the series itself? I have to say I was genuinely disappointed. Emphasis seems to have shifted towards personal love relationships and problems within the team or family members of the team (Seeley and Temperance - Angela and Jack - Lance and Daisy - Michelle and Finn). The ongoing area of dischord between Seeley (partly lapsed Catholic) and Temperance (atheist) is ridiculously brought to a head after they 'discuss' the possible reality of a manger birth for Jesus when - would you believe it - THEY are turned away from an upmarket inn when Temperance goes into labour and - would you believe it even more - she then gives birth in a barn.

Oh Pleeeease.

Storylines also seem to be becoming a tad repetitive in the way they begin. Just how many times and ways can folks be seen running through countryside only to fall face down and come face-to-face with a decomposed skull? There also seems to have been an attempt to compensate for the softer themes of relationships with increasingly gross bodies. Particularly memorable (and not in a good way) is the heaving mass of bone and blood of one body on the slab and for a fully-grown snake to then emerge from deep within the rotten guts. And then there's the corpse encased in clingfilm which is then slit to release a positive waterfall of rainbow-coloured goo. The staff, of course, watch in amazement without the slightest hint of nausea or the need for any form of face-mask.

Another thing that's noticeable is the trawl through all the various eccentric assistants. Does each writer or actor vie to make their characters as whacky and weird as possible? Fortunately, the new character, Finn, seems to have some depth and a back-story that might just be worth developing into a thread for the future. (What DID happen to his father? WAS he murdered and if so, by whom?) Also, the emergence of tech genius Christopher Pelant as a real threat to society and Temperance provided a genuinely good mystery and storyline which lead to a satisfyingly taut end to the season. Will he match up to the 'miniature killer' in the original CSI series which went on for a long time and seemed to end only for there then to be an additional twist?

So, all-in-all, Season 7 has some good points but an awful lot of indicators that things are starting to slide. Here's hoping the writers can pull things back for Season 8. If not, I can see Fox Studios pulling the plug - just as they did with the truly brilliant and original series 'Firefly'. Once ratings slip, the accountants' knives come out. Slish. Slash. No blood - just an empty film set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bones and Booth, happy families?, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Bones and Booth settling into 'happy families' was a bit of a different style to what 'Bones' followers have been used. Still fascinating insight into Forensic goings on supposedly at the Jeffersonian makes up for the new domesticated Bones and Booth. Whilst its supposed to reflect real life its obviously not going to be to everyone's taste and would not be a good idea if this formula was continued in later series and could lose fans ultimately. Bring back Zack and pit him and Hoskins together again would also boost what now is looking like scriptwriters stuck for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series, terrible price, 20 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome series that appeals to everyone, it has excellent storylines and memorable engaging characters. I love the booth and bones personal storyline that has developed through the series. The only reason this hasn't got more stars is that the pricing is ridiculously expensive, especially this series which has about half as many episodes as the other series, do yourself a favour and wait till it comes on sale as I did and got series 1-8 for £27, which is almost the price for one series - see what I mean by ridiculous?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only 13 episodes!!!, 6 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I was really disappointed to receive this DVD and discover there were only 13 episodes!!! What an absolute rip off!!!! Please don't buy this until it is much cheaper! Still love the program but the series just isn't value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bones - Season 7 [DVD]
Bones - Season 7 [DVD] by Emily Deschanel (DVD - 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews