Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior to the Rhino collections and Re-Mastered.
I bought these thinking they were the original CD masters. I'm a massive fan and I had given the original CD away when The re-mastered series started to unfold. Unfortunately, the re-mastered version of The Top didn't feel right for two reasons: Shake Dog Shake's start was slightly cut and Bananafishbones sped up. I was therefore hoping that these would be the original CD...
Published on 5 Dec 2011 by steeve patrick

versus
0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not their best Stuff
Disappointed with this, as had expected more of their hits on it. My fault I suppose, as I didn't bother checking playlists before buying.
Published 5 months ago by W. Waters


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior to the Rhino collections and Re-Mastered., 5 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
I bought these thinking they were the original CD masters. I'm a massive fan and I had given the original CD away when The re-mastered series started to unfold. Unfortunately, the re-mastered version of The Top didn't feel right for two reasons: Shake Dog Shake's start was slightly cut and Bananafishbones sped up. I was therefore hoping that these would be the original CD releases the way Rhino releases cheaply packaged albums of the old masters (thin sleeves, no booklets) after re-mastered work is released (original album series). These are in fact the 2004 - 2006 re-masters including 8 pages booklets with lyrics and pictures packed in very attractive gatefold LP-like sleeves and as such I was pleasantly surprised.

As for The Top, well, Bananafishbones is still OTT whilst Shake Dog Shake has been "fixed" with the sound of the drums starting naturally without the odd "cut". Amazing value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars setting the record straight, 22 May 2012
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
In response to the review by PM Clark/RE Clark (21 April 2012) "Killing an Arab" never was on the first album, "Three Imaginary Boys".
The first four albums IMHO are classics ( I'm not much into anything later by The Cure).
Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Seem to be the Cure !, 14 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Bought this for my son's birthday who asked for one Cure album ,as i'm not familiar with their work this seemed to be the answer.My son was very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 1 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
5 remastered early Cure Albums in a bare bones box, no extra tracks but at this price it's great.

Good value for money and the music is great too!

Highly Recommended, superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The early classics, 29 Oct 2012
By 
F. D. Burns "POB" (Barrow-in-Furness, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
This set of the first 5 proper albums (plus the Japanese Whispers compilation not included here) covers my favourite era of The Cure before the more upbeat Head on the Door album and ensuing commercial succes. A good price for such a great body of work that in the main was written and recorded at a time when Robert Smith was dealing with personal grief and demons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff. Missed it first time round, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Great stuff. Missed it first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
great albums nicely packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box set, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
My son happily spent many hours listening to music and will continue to do so. He was delighted to get whole set all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Cure Classic Albums, 21 April 2012
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Why (oh why) has "Killing an Arab" been excised from the first album? PC gone mad - clearly based on the Camus novel, which, of course, is still (rightly) freely available - neither song nor literary work are racist .. loses a star for this alone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must buy to get a load of Cure songs!, 14 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] (Audio CD)
Nicely packaged, all CD's look like vinyl which is awesome. Although none of them is my favourite, it's a great way to get loads of cure albums cheaply. The best album in my opinion is wish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Album Selection [1979-1984]
Classic Album Selection [1979-1984] by The Cure (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews