Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An artist to look out for in the future...
Gary Clark Jr. was the man who electrified the blues - well at least his character was in the John Sayles film "Honeydripper". Here doing his own 'thang' he reverts to bluesy melodic folky rock, a bit like Ben Harper or Amos Lee. We get two studio tracks from last years album and two live tracks. Studio: "Bright lights" is an atmospheric moody rock song, "Don't owe you a...
Published on 18 Nov 2011 by G. E. Harrison

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I should have sampled this before purchase
Rock misic is very subjective, having seen GKJnr live with Eric Clapton I wanted more of his music...unfortunately the selection on this disc is not to my liking .....Its just me ...I am sure others will love it.
Delivered promptly new as described. Well done there.
Published 15 months ago by C. A. G. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An artist to look out for in the future..., 18 Nov 2011
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
Gary Clark Jr. was the man who electrified the blues - well at least his character was in the John Sayles film "Honeydripper". Here doing his own 'thang' he reverts to bluesy melodic folky rock, a bit like Ben Harper or Amos Lee. We get two studio tracks from last years album and two live tracks. Studio: "Bright lights" is an atmospheric moody rock song, "Don't owe you a thang" is a downhome rockin' blues with nice fuzzy production. Live: "Things are changin'" a plaintive solo melodic song, "When my train pulls in" again a solo song, nice enough but I didn't feel it justified its 8 minutes plus. Definitely an artist to look out for in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music doesn't get much better than this., 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
Just stumbled upon him coincidently via the StumbleUpon app on my phone! Brilliant mix of blues/rock/soul. Great riff's and licks and all round solid tunes, your foot will tap. I can't wait for a full album and a chance to go see him. Everything that good music should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
A great 4 track ep that really is worth buying if you are into rock/blues. It a shame the Gary's Blak and Blu release was not as good as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Humble genius, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
Brilliant album. Also privileged to see him live at the Shepherds Bush Empire. He's a genius - and humble with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bright Lights EP (MP3 Download)
4 track ep demonstrates this gup's ability on both electric and acoustic guitars, bought as a taster will definitely buy other albums by GC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing taster of more to come., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bright Lights EP (MP3 Download)
This is a live recording and having bought the Blak and Blu CD decided to listen to some more of Gary's music. Thoroughly recommend listening to Gary Clarke Junior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
As usual, great service, solid packaging and fast turn around. And the album is fantastic, I bought it for my brother's birthday, loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bright Lights EP, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
First heard Gary Clark Jr on Jools Holland - thought he was amazing - reminded me of 'old school' R&B. Although this album was good not all 4 songs were what I would call 'old school' R&B, but I did like the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars if you like guitar you need to listen to this, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
a short but sweet collection of 4 songs this is so good - all I can say is just listen to 'Don't owe you a thing'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good service, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bright Lights Ep (Audio CD)
Heard one track on blues programme - Monday's Radio 2 and bought CD on strength of that one track - item arrived on time - thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bright Lights EP
The Bright Lights EP by Gary Clark Jr.
Buy MP3 Album£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews