Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars79
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 June 2012
Rachel Scott and her company Florida Omni Search are contacted by the mother of missing firefighter Samantha Collins. When Sam fails to emerge from the burning warehouse it is assumed that she has died but when her body isn't found an investigation begins. Rachel discovers that there is a lot going on in Sam's life not least the arrest of her police officer husband on charges of drug dealing. This brings Rachel into contact once again with DEA officer Mike Mancini.
I love the ongoing themes through these books. We have Rachel's tentative romance with Mike, her friendship with journalist Stacy Case and her relationship with her colleagues. The main theme of course being the search for Rachel's young daughter Mallory, now missing three years. The author manages to weave these topics in among the main story in such a way that the reader cannot wait for the next book. Hopefully we won't have to wait too long.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2012
Brought this book as it was on offer and other reviews were really good and i was not disappointed,it is a great read from a writer i have not read before but will hopefully read some more.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 19 June 2012
Burn Out is the first in the Rachel Scott series. Rachel runs Florida Omni Search which she founded following the kidnapping of her own daughter, Mallory. This organisation looks for missing people, on this occasion Samantha, a young married woman with two daughters who is a fire fighter. She has gone missing during a blaze, with the only trace of her being her helmet left in the parking lot.

I preferred this book to Asylum Harbor, the second Rachel Scott book. This story was much more evenly paced rather than the frenetic action in the other book, particularly towards the climax which stretched credibility. In this book the chapters are headed with a timeline - date and time, so that the reader is in no doubt as to the time scale the action is taking place in. This would have helped a lot with Asylum Harbor.

Some of the tension is taken out of this tale as it is quite clear whodunit in the first half of the book. However, the interest then switches to how, and possibly if, Sam is going to be rescued. At the end there are one or two loose ends left for the author to pick up in the future. This is very short - about 180 pages - and most readers will get through it very quickly, particularly as the chapters are very short which keeps you reading. Overall an interesting story, and fairly light reading.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a story of a woman who, whilst searching for her missing daughter, has set up an agency devoted to finding missing people. She gets a call about a missing firefighter and goes off to search for her.....

I thoroughly enjoyed this. It had me gripped from page 1. I thought I had it all sewn up at one point but the story took me off onto another tangent. The characters were believable and I completly identified with the lead characters reasons for setting up the agency. I loved the bad guy, I mean what a whack job!

I understand this is the authors debut novel. If this is setting the standard then please may we have more!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
After the disappearance of her daughter, Mallory, Rachel forms a missing person organization and is quickly on the hunt for a firefighter who has gone missing in suspicious circumstances. Where is Sam? Is she dead? And if not, how did she escape from a collapsed building with no one noticing?

This is a captivating story that will have you dying to turn the pages, and a must read for fans of Lisa Gardner. Traci Hohenstein has weaved together a great mystery/thriller, and I hope there's going to be another in the series. Strong female characters, a hint of romance, an intriguing plot, and a missing person. It's got everything you want for an engrossing novel!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this as soon as I had finished Asylum Harbour the first of series that introduced Rachel Scott who has set up her own search and rescue company after the unexplained and unsolved disappearance of her own daughter Mallory. Burn Out continues Rachels story with a new case to solve-that of missing firefighter Sam Collins. I enjoyed this book even more than the first as we start to find out more about Rachels character and Mallorys disappearance too. Traci Hohenstein has done her research well as I found this a real page turner and can't wait for the next in the series!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
I persisted to the end of the book but it became increasingly unbelievable. Spoiler alert : When the investigators finally find a likely cabin where the kidnapped woman is being held, they go home because its getting a bit dark and come back the next day! A bizarre mission to a hollowed out tree with an unlikely clue is also part of the plot. How this fitted into the timeline of the kidnap is never properly explained . It also seemed inconsistant that the kidnapper was using an unloaded gun. Definitely not an author I will read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
Characters are straight out of a childrens' book as they all have perfect hair and figures etc. etc. The descriptions are of locations and occurrences are tedious in places and the author gets bogged down in totally unnecessary descriptions of things that don't matter and add nothing to the plot. She needs a good editor and to learn how to show not tell. On the plus side, dialog is often the first thing to suffer but here it's very good. Believable and suiting the characters, even if they are all soap opera characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
I borrowed this book from the Amazon Kindle library. It was the first book I have read by this author. i found it an easy read but was a bit disappointed that the perpetrator was revealed so early. I kept wondering if there would be a twist. It was also a bit rushed towards the end to tie everything up. It is quite a short book so got through it quickly reading it over lunch breaks at work. I will definitely read another one and would recommend it if you want an easy read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Overall story is not bad, but the plotline is much too obviously signalled and the characters speech too often jars as being implausible.

Unfortunately the authors own personal thoughts also show through in small ways too, such as a reference to "icky bugs"!

OK to read to pass a few hours, but much too formulaic for this readers taste, and no interest in any further Rachel Scott "adventures", sorry Traci.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.