Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic new voice in YA...
Wow - just when I was getting a little bored of YA a book like this comes along and just woes me back! What I loved was that at first I thought I was reading a typical story of a teen girl who discovers she has extra-ordinary powers, and while that is the starting point the story then moves rapidly changing direction and leaving me twisting in the gale like a wind...
Published on 4 Nov 2011 by M. C. Symonds

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An OK story.
An interesting idea but unfortunately became a little predictable and did not encourage me to read more of this series even though the story ended in a cliff-hanger !!
Published 12 months ago by Taff


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced, engaging characters, am now buying book 2:), 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced, engaging characters, am now buying book 2:)
I think it will appeal to younger readers in particular, but if you're an oldie like me, don't let that put you off. The main characters are teenagers. The main concept of mind-control/evolution is well thought out. It is 'believable' enough, read it:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
i cant fault these books, you will be hooked, if they made it into a movie id be there with bells on, ruddy epic storyline, love them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Open minds, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
Easy to read sci to book. Good story line with interesting characters. I look forwards to reading the next book in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Open minds book 1, 20 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
i searched for a free and well rated science fiction book, This sounded promising and has relit my love of reading. A great concept superbly written and hard to put down. I have already purchased books 2 and 3 purely on the back of book 1. A must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new and fresh reading experience, 19 Feb 2013
By 
I. Fenton "Felinewyvern" (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
What can I say about this book that won't sound overly gushing? Well I can tell you it's one of the best mind power stories I have read in a long time. The concept and execution were both new and fresh and I hope the following books continue this excellent start to the Mindjacker series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun entertaining read, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
This book is an idea easy read for trains, planes nod holidays.. A little predicable but well written and the main character is liable..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced and Original, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Marsha Moore (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
I haven't read a lot of YA, but Susan Kaye Quinn's novel 'Open Minds' has certainly convinced me to delve into more. The whole concept of the book is fascinating: a society where people can read each other's mind with ease... and then, a subsection of 'mutants' who can control those minds. The plot is original and engaging, and the main character is believable and likeable, despite her hard shell. I can't wait for the second in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
This would make a fantastic film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strange feeling reading this, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to put it down as the character of Kira annoyed me, but the more I read the more she became real. Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review: Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn, 8 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open Minds (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy) (Kindle Edition)
You'd be forgiven, from reading the first few chapters, that Open Minds is about surviving high school and navigating the strange world of boys with a little bit of superpowers thrown in to make things interesting. What unravels after the obligatory boy drama, however, is a downward spiral into a dangerous world where the "bad" and "good" guys are pretty much the same as each other, and it's difficult to know who to trust.

It's very clever how Kira gets drawn into the conspiracy, how each choice she makes puts her further into danger, while manipulative other characters use her to further themselves. I was glad, too, that when Simon, Kira's boyfriend, plays her, she doesn't immediately forgive him and go back to making out. YA Heroine who realises her boyfriend has been a tool for the win.

Some things are lingered over, while others are brushed past when I would have preferred it the other way round, and the slang is a bit of a twee way to immerse the reader in Kira's world - a world that's otherwise well imagined and realised. But in terms of presentation and editing, you wouldn't know this book was self published.

So, overall, this was a tense story, once the initial section was out of the way, with a resolution you'll have seen before, but remains a satisfying solution to the conspiracy problem. The characters and the world were interesting, and it's the first time I've truly been tempted to purchase the sequel to a Self Pub. Maybe when I've got through my impressive review backlog!

Rating: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews