Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I bought this as a Christmas present for my son who is a big Apple/Steve Jobs fan. He had already read Steve Jobs recent biography (which he also enjoyed) and so I wasn't sure how interesting/informative he would find this book. I needn't have worried! He loved it. A definite 'must' for any Apple/Steve Jobs fan!
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by C. Dul

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you might expect
This smells of being a hastily put together cut and paste job.

I had come across most of the quotes before. If you have read any of the more detailed biographies of Jobs you won't find much new here.

Possibly worthwhile as a very basic starting point if you want something to dip into but don't fancy reading a full biography.
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by S Hogg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as you might expect, 28 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Steve: Steve Jobs in his own words (Kindle Edition)
This smells of being a hastily put together cut and paste job.

I had come across most of the quotes before. If you have read any of the more detailed biographies of Jobs you won't find much new here.

Possibly worthwhile as a very basic starting point if you want something to dip into but don't fancy reading a full biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what i was expecting, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Steve: Steve Jobs in his own words (Kindle Edition)
I probably didn't read the description too well before I bought this, but I was expecting a biography of some kind. It's actually a collection of quotes and bullet points in history around Steve Jobs and Apple. Interesting but not really a "good read".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insubstantial & overpriced, 9 Nov 2011
Many quotes mentioned here are already well documented, not much new here. Also, although it is 160 pages, many pages are just references or url's where he got the quotes from, so for the price, it is not good value. Also there is a Jobs timeline that wastes many pages, that you could get from Google news or Wikipedia. There was not much effort to collating some quotes & creating this book & it seems the author is just trying to cash in on Steve's death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cut and paste, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Steve: Steve Jobs in his own words (Kindle Edition)
Just a bunch of clippings, waste of money. You could find as much and more interesting info on Wikipedia And that's free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Jan 2012
By 
C. Dul (Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a Christmas present for my son who is a big Apple/Steve Jobs fan. He had already read Steve Jobs recent biography (which he also enjoyed) and so I wasn't sure how interesting/informative he would find this book. I needn't have worried! He loved it. A definite 'must' for any Apple/Steve Jobs fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars :), 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An interesting read for those whom are interested in his ideas and work!

Worth a try if you like autobiography's. :)

Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A handy collection of "Steve-isms", 11 Oct 2012
Nothing new here but still a handy collection of "Steve-isms" from across the years, and a quick timeline of Steve/Apple. Could do with a little more editing, and some of the citations are incorrect. For example, on page 45, it's unlikely Steve would be talking about "Internet Theft and Motivation" in Rolling Stone, 16 June 1994!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very bity piece of work., 13 Jan 2012
this item is done on just selected disjointed pieces taken verbatim from JOBS spoken or writen items. Though his words do make sense on his opions of the work force of to-day it seems the author of this piece rushed to get it into publication and it seemed that he repeated many of the sections. I enjoyed the jist of all pages but it did become slightly boring after a while and thus i have laid it down to maybe rejoin the book at a later date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I Steve - what a con !!, 4 Jan 2012
I received this book as a Christmas present and settled down to enjoy Steve Jobs lifestory. No such luck, it is just a string of quotes from previously published material !! A large portion of the book (28 pages) is just credits and acknowledgements. The title is very misleading - when you see something advertised as 'xyz in his own words' you expect if not an autobiography at least something which has been 'ghostwritten'! Sorry would not recommend this, rating minus 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I, Steve: Steve Jobs in his own words (Kindle Edition)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Steve: Steve Jobs in his own words
£3.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews