Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - overpowering sales team
I have been a Serif customer since version 3 of PagePlus, currently version 16 (X6), and it has become a main part of my arsenal of applications when publishing documents either electronically or printed.

The features this version brings include the .ePub format, which is something I wanted to play with and see if my musings would be published and improved pdf...
Published on 2 Mar 2012 by Mr. G. Walburn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Messy but produces results
If you are a first time user this package takes getting used to. I have used it only for newsletters - I'm sure it will do a lot more. If I was making a decision to buy now, I would probably try Microsoft Publisher.
Published 10 months ago by TM.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - overpowering sales team, 2 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. G. Walburn "Seligsoft" (Gloucestershire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I have been a Serif customer since version 3 of PagePlus, currently version 16 (X6), and it has become a main part of my arsenal of applications when publishing documents either electronically or printed.

The features this version brings include the .ePub format, which is something I wanted to play with and see if my musings would be published and improved pdf support, which has always been good. I even use it for mocking up designs.

There is one BIG negative though! I have had several years of trouble free customer service from Serif, upgrading every couple of versions using their cheaper upgrade route, but from version 12 (X2) something happened to disturb myself and all the people I have recommended use this product, that is the Serif sales team.

I have obviously registered this product in the past only to have phone call after phone call pushing me to upgrade, buy more products Serif sell, which are great products, but on several occasions I have had to cut off the sales caller as they will not take no for an answer when I tell them I do not want to upgrade this time or buy something I do not need.

Sorry for the rant, I am glad Amazon sell this product, because it is really excellent, but the pushy sales team at Serif have pushed me to the point where I will never deal with them direct again. So far no phone calls after buying and registering this version from the Serif sales team, finger crossed I have finally got rid of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for all that's on offer and Serif's DTP program is serious about colour printing as well, 10 Feb 2012
By 
Keith_Joseph (West Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
PagePlus X6 is a DeskTop Publishing program for producing things like brochures and magazines/newsletters, posters and flyers, menus and invitation/business cards, and business stationary. Serif PagePlus X6 is geared up for both paper printing and producing PC file output for eBooks [Kindle/iPad], pdf, eMagazines/eBrochures, and HTML web-pages. It can also create pdf questionaire forms for collecting customer information or surveys.

The original version of UK based Serif's PagePlus was released in 1991, the first commercial DTP package for Windows selling for under £100. Now Serif have over 6 million customers and their software is popular with voluntary and low-income organisations, and only the lack of Apple Mac support is cited as preventing it gaining wider acceptance within professional circles. Main competitors for PagePlus X6 are QuarkXPress, Adobe Indesign, and Microsoft's Publisher 2010. Serif's key advantage over these is that it is almost as powerful as Indesign/QuarkExpress, while being far easier to use and 10 times cheaper to buy. Although revamped Microsoft Publisher 2010 is as cheap, easier to use, and classier than PagePlus X6, Publisher 2010 lacks PagePlus's complete integrated package of a powerful photo-editor, graphics creation tools, PDF editor, and logo creator, all of which will probably be required by those serious about graphic design. To help get new users started, Serif offer on-line videos & FAQ, pdf and optional printed manuals, in-program help and guided assistance, local UK customer support and on-line community forums.

The hundreds of supplied design templates and logos are really just to get you started though, so to produce excellent professional output you will also have to get to grips with many of PagePlus X6's tools. So there is a learning curve and you need some creative flair to get superb results - although for creativity you can get a lot of inspiration from the wealth of professional output already on the web. The key skill is to get used to working with multiple layers and using tools like the photo-editor to add effects, overlay cut-out graphics and photo objects, and the logo designer to create your brand identifying emblems.

For PagePlus X5 upgraders the new additions include the ability to produce eBooks in standard EPUB and Mobi formats for the likes of the Kindle, smartphones, iPad and other tablet eBook readers. Plus you can now `Asset manage' your resources into organised collections using the Asset Tab, and PagePlus has generally had a revamp with updated workspace and tools, like better dictionary autocorrect, improved `Index/Table-of-Contents' tools, and enhanced pdf output and template editing. Plus there are new graphics tools, a Preflight Checker to check all your settings like fonts/image resolution are OK, and there's the addition of more Pantone colours for accurate colour printing. Another factor convincing me to upgrading is the likely improved stability and speed with my new Windows 7 64-bit quad core workstation (although admittedly even PagePlus X4 runs fine for me on this PC).

All the old PagePlus tools are there as well, offering everything from master page layouts to transparency, and glass & metal effects to get you from a template or pdf, through the design, effects & editing studio and off to the printer or the web. There's automated design assistants to help `keep things neat', and there's a duplexing wizard to help you print booklets and brochures correctly in-house, or you can export the project to pdf and web or get it off to professional printers for top quality results. There's press-ready PDF output presets, PDF/X compliance for commercial presses and print houses, RGB, CMYK and Pantone® colour support and ICC colour management. The pdf editor is powerful and it's very useful if you don't have the original document that created the pdf. PagePlus X6 also has support for importing text from Word 2010 and OpenOffice, and it's powerful composition engine offers dynamic-guide alignment, with support for OpenType fonts such as swashes, ornaments and intelligent character pairs.

The install program comes in a tidy little thin DVD case, with all the PagePlus `resources' [templates, graphics etc] now installed with the main program rather than a separate CD. When required the software updates itself over the internet. System requirements are a minimal Pentium class processor, 512Mb system Ram, 1024x768 display [i.e. not for 1024x600 netbooks - although unlocking and sliding the Windows taskbar out of the way might help], 2.05 Gb hard drive space, and Windows 7/Vista [32/64-bit] or XP [32-bit only]. However the more powerful the PC, the more responsive the program is to use. The addition of a colour printer, twain compatible scanner/camera, internet access and possibly an A5 Wacom Pen input tablet would also be very useful. Some have found Serif's nag screen and telephone registration irksome, although you can opt out of subsequent telephone sales calls, plus you can register on-line, or keep clicking the nag screen and never register. But still another 4.5* for PagePlus X6, with the many updated tweaks and features, for me it's worth the upgrade price over X5 now that I have moved to Windows 7 64-bit. Plus usefully the Serif licences allow program installs on both your work PC and a laptop or home PC. Serif also produce their highly rated PhotoPlus, WebPlus, MoviePlus and DrawPlus creative design packages. Serif prices generally fall over the year, particularly when the arrival of the next version in imminent in the autumn, and often it's cheaper buying PagePlus from resellers such as Amazon rather than direct from Serif (but check on the day).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant,intuitive DTP software for most people's needs, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I had never tried Serif's products before but some positive reviews, and an affordable price tag, brought me to download their starter version of PagePlus . I then purchased PagePlus X6 after just a week of using the starter version. I come from several years of working experience with an old version of Adobe Indesign which for my needs is too complicated and certainly too expensive.

I am very satisfied with the product, having created a ready for print booklet after just one day of use. PagePlus comes loaded with lots of examples and templates, extra fonts that embed correctly in pdfs, and has enough photo-retouching and vector-drawing tools to suit the needs of any small business, self publisher or professional user. The PDF manual that comes with the software is well organized and clearly written.

I registered the software with a phone call (this seems to upset some users but I think it is a nice way to create customer awareness, and the fact that they offered other products at a much lower price than listed online certainly helped).

One area where Serif shines is the level of training material -- you can find books, free PDF guides, videos and a dedicated forum on their site. Info is easy to locate.

Is there room for improvement? As the software is now, it perfectly fits my needs. There may be some advanced typography options still missing (the possibility to align text to baseline grid for example, and an intuitive, one-click way to turn alpha channels into wrapping outlines ) but frankly this would be nit-picking. PagePlus is value for money, well-designed software with an easy to grasp interface and tons of stuff. If you design brochures, leaflets, business cards, PDF manuals -- look no further than PagePlus X6 and don't waste your money on more expensive applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Messy but produces results, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
If you are a first time user this package takes getting used to. I have used it only for newsletters - I'm sure it will do a lot more. If I was making a decision to buy now, I would probably try Microsoft Publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DTP Package, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Please note that I purchased this direct from Serif as an upgrade package and received the CD and printed manual, please check what you are buying as there are a variety of packages. Also Serif have changed their upgrade policy, at one time you could get an upgrade if you had purchased any previous version, their policy now is to only give an upgrade price if you have bought the previous version. However if you want an upgrade price talk to them as the policy seems to be "adaptable".
One of the things I like about Serif software and I have been buying them since the first version is the printed manual, although online support is good I do not think there is any substitute for looking through a manual.
It is a very comprehensive DTP package and there is very little that it will not do, I don't always get the latest version but I got this for its support for ebook publishing as it has both ePub and .mobi (Kindle) versions, although for Kindle you have to download and install the "KindleGen" programme for it to work.
I also often use this to edit PDF files as it will open PDF files and allow modification and publishing (So long as if they are password protected you have the password) It is a far cheaper option than "Acrobat" and works as well if not better.
There are a number of new features in this version but there may not be enough to upgrade unless you do ebook publishing.
Other New Features some of which are quite specialist include-
* A different slightly uncluttered design page which hides items until you want them, I found this quite difficult to get used to.
* Multiple Table of Contents
* New indexing features
* Business user details per publication, this allows the easy creation of similar documents for different clients.
* Multiple user dictionaries, this allows different dictionaries to be applied to different publications.
* Update for PDF forms, for a number of versions PagePlus has provided for interactive forms which allow data to be sent over the internet or email. There are a number of enhancements for the buttons that allow them to change colours etc on mouse click or rollover. Although not a new feature the ability to have free use of the Serif servers to enable PDF forms to send data is for me a reason to buy PagePlus.
* Allow access to streamed media from the Internet.
* Improved Pantone support.
* HTML Publishing.
* eBook Publishing.
The differences between DTP and Website publishing are becoming blurred and by using the HTML publishing and pdf forms it would be possible to produce professional looking but basic web site. If you want to produce web sites WebPlus X6 is a better bet.
It is impossible to describe all of the features in the space allowed but I doubt if there is anything that you would want a DTP programme to do that this can't.
SUMMARY: An excellent DTP programme with the added advantage of eBook publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still poorly designed, 22 Jan 2013
By 
Charles Burton (Farnham, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
Used versions up to X4 and tried version up to X6 on a colleague's Computer

It is plain for all to see that by design Page Plus X6 is still cluttered and hard to use in comparison to any other Desktop Publishing package, the most important points are as follows.
1. no easy way to hide or retrieve the countless menus, majority of the competition are either automatically hidden or are visible on a on demand/ common use policy
2. You have to register with serif (as with others), but YOU get 'over zealous' marketing calls / communication (ALL FORMS) - virtually every week of the year - that why I stopped at the X4 version and took 2 years for them to stop COMMUNICATING thereafter. Had to change all my email accounts and remove all my online contact details - to make them get the message.
3. Even trying a colleagues version of X6 - table creation and CUSTOMISED HEADERS ETC .. still a nightmare -
4. Open type fonts (or any fonts other Microsoft's own)on any reputable printer - very, very poor - compared with any competitor including the freely available scribus. (open source)

Well worth going for any of the competition if new to Desktop Publishing. You will find much easier and more professional than this creation . I.e. Microsoft, Adobe, Quark and if money tight the free open source version Scribus (New version just out(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great application and very easy to use, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I use this DTP application to produce invoices, business cards and other stationary. It's very easy to use and, for someone who's not that proficient with DTP, It's actually a breeze! Heads up, visit Serif's website now and you can get this version for under £20, as the next version is now out ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Software, 13 Feb 2014
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I've just given up with QuarkXpress 10. I was trying to build a single A3 page with 12 high res images on it. Quark was running so slow it seized my computer. Anyway it appears many Quark users are experiencing the same problem. So I installed this version of Page Plus and the results were breathtaking. This program is so fast and packed with features. I had previously used the X3 version and found that to be excellent, but then went over to Quark from version 8. I'm not sure how my projects will look in print as I've yet to send anything from PP to the printers but I'm amazed at how good this software is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Serif X6, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
The usual Serif quality, takes some time to get to grips with all the features, but the built in tutorials are a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, 19 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PagePlus X6 (PC) (DVD-ROM)
I bought this for someone else as a present. I can tell you that they have found it very useful in their business. They have created professional quality flyers and catalogues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PagePlus X6 (PC)
PagePlus X6 (PC) by Serif (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Used & New from: £34.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews