Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!
Another great read by Tony Park featuring two of the more poignant incident's of Rhodesia/Zimbabwe's history - the Viscount disasters and the farm invasions. Nice to see, too, characters Paul and Pip from African Sky make a return. Definitely his best book yet!
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by C. Richardson

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Epic about Africa, but too long
The story starts in Rhodesia in 1959 and ends in Zimbabwe in 2011. The plot concerns the interrelation of three families - one black and two white - who become intimately involved with each other during the political turmoil and warfare that engulfed the region during that half century. The author ties it all together using an underlying story about the effect that...
Published on 14 Aug 2012 by noheadjeff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Epic about Africa, but too long, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Dawn (Kindle Edition)
The story starts in Rhodesia in 1959 and ends in Zimbabwe in 2011. The plot concerns the interrelation of three families - one black and two white - who become intimately involved with each other during the political turmoil and warfare that engulfed the region during that half century. The author ties it all together using an underlying story about the effect that political instability had on the region's population of black rhinos. One of the main characters is a rhino conservationist.

Because of the extended time-span of the story, African Dawn is something of an epic. Tony Park is a story-teller of sufficient ability to carry off an ambitious project, partly because of his skill in describing his characters thoughts, feelings and memories in such vivid detail. He is also able to portray vivid settings and he makes the African wilderness and the culture of its people come alive in this story. We also have a lot of information about African wildlife.

However, it is precisely his skill that made this book so difficult to read. There were too many `main' characters with so much detail about their individual lives, thoughts and feelings - past and present - that the story lost focus on several occasions. Similarly, the author repeatedly digressed into extensive detail about numerous peripheral matters including politics, minor characters, local issues etc., that the story foundered in places. I ended up speed-reading through much of this detail in order to remain engaged with the main events of the plot.

In summary, I felt that there were too many main characters but no single central character to identify with and too much irrelevant detail that did not contribute to the story line. As a result and because of the story's extended time-frame, I'm afraid that the book was just too long to hold my interest. Not one of Tony Park's best, in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 24 Dec 2011
By 
C. Richardson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: African Dawn (Paperback)
Another great read by Tony Park featuring two of the more poignant incident's of Rhodesia/Zimbabwe's history - the Viscount disasters and the farm invasions. Nice to see, too, characters Paul and Pip from African Sky make a return. Definitely his best book yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book - love it., 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: African Dawn (Paperback)
I have read all of Tony Park's books and I think this one is the best one yet, I just cant put it down. Move over Wilbur Smith!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another brilliant Tony Park thriller, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: African Dawn (Paperback)
Only half way through African Dawn, but it is another exciting TOny Park book, read them all, they are great and to be recommended to all those who love all things African.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Dawn (Kindle Edition)
This book is not one of his better ones, and I've read quite a few now. I think what I found most annoying about this book was the overuse of Rhodesian slang. As a teenager growing up in Rhodesia we did use that slang, but it was not excessive and some conversations in this book really
grated on me when the slang was misused/overused in some parts of the book. Apart from that
though, it's not a bad read. Not Wilbur Smith by a long way, but certainly readable on a cold, miserable UK afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Dawn (Kindle Edition)
Good book enjoyed reading right to the end.
I find Tony Parks books on par with Wilbur Smith's novels.I hope he writes slot moor in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing!, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Dawn (Kindle Edition)
Transporting the reader back through time before bringing the present into play, this book is a real indication of the problems faced by conservationists to protect Africa's pachyderms as well as the difficulties faced by the people of the country. An engrossing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great yarn and accurately researched, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Dawn (Kindle Edition)
I know nearly all of the places the book is set. Beautiful Zimbabwe. Brought back many happy memories of my years there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story about Zimbabwe,past and present, 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: African Dawn (Paperback)
I used to visit Zimbabwe a lot until 2001, I live in Zambia so Harare is about a 5 hour drive away. I hear too many bad things about the Country so no longer have any desire to visit. The story line of this book is excellent and I believe conveys a great deal about the problems in Zimbabwe today without going too deeply into the politics. I have now read all but two of Tony Park's books but I think I have enjoyed this one the most. Tony has been compared to Wilbur Smith, personally I think he is far better in so far that he does not have the fantasy element that is common in so many of Wilbur's books.

The character Emmerson reminds me so much of a Zimbabwean I worked with in the 1970's who returned to Zimbabwe in the 1980's and became an MP in Mugabe's government, maybe Tony has based Emmerson on him!

I enjoyed this book, and have no hesitation in recommending it. The only criticism I possibly have is that some of the terminology used may not be familiar to readers who live outside of Africa
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: African Dawn (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy Tony's style of writting and having lived in that part of Africa find all his books exciting to the very last page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

African Dawn
African Dawn by Tony Park
3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews