Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (96)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Newsroom
Every so often American TV comes up with an absolute stunner - 2012 has "The Newsroom" currently showing on Sky Atlantic. Created and written by Aaron Sorkin of West Wing fame, The Newsroom is set in the fictional Atlantis Cable News station. With Jeff Daniels playing Will McAvoy,anchor and managing editor of ACN's Newsnight programme, Emily Mortimer as Mackenzie McHale,...
Published on 7 Sep 2012 by Gill

versus
67 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simultaneously both good and bad
I think my view of "The Newsroom" is chequered by having already watched "The West Wing", which is one of my all-time favourite TV shows. If you are in that position with me, be prepared to both love and loathe "The Newsroom".

First of all, "The West Wing" was my first real introduction to Aaron Sorkin's work. Therefore, at the time his manner of writing was...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. T. F. Norton


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Newsroom, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Gill (Bangor, NI) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Every so often American TV comes up with an absolute stunner - 2012 has "The Newsroom" currently showing on Sky Atlantic. Created and written by Aaron Sorkin of West Wing fame, The Newsroom is set in the fictional Atlantis Cable News station. With Jeff Daniels playing Will McAvoy,anchor and managing editor of ACN's Newsnight programme, Emily Mortimer as Mackenzie McHale, his Executive Producer, and a very strong ensemble cast,the viewer sees the behind the scenes events prior to and after each evening broadcast. Each episode has been set around a major event in recent history e.g. Deepwater Horizon oil spill or the killing of Osama Bin Laden, and is intertwined with the personal stories, backgrounds and viewpoints of the Newsnight team.
Aaron Sorkin has created a first class drama with excellent scripts which are superbly delivered - Will McAvoy's monologue in the first episode gives an insight into the strength of writing and performance which The Newsroom, and Will in particular, showcase week in and week out. Each individual is extremely competent at their job and there is a strong team ethos with thought provoking analysis, highs and lows, humour and integrity. Problems and politics with the owners of the station, ably led by Jane Fonda, bubble along in the background and add to the events and day to day pressures.
I would strongly recommend The Newsroom and am delighted to note that it has been picked up for a second season, if I'd more than 5* available to award I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the West Wing. Very Good but I wanted it to be Excellent!, 21 April 2014
By 
Alan Jones (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 (DVD)
The problem Aaron Sorkin has is that anything he does will be compared to the great West Wing. There are many times when the Newsroom succeeds in attaining the same high level of biting satire, the same depth of empathy and compassion, drawing the viewer in to engage fully with the characters.

When the screenplay deals with political issues the writing is vital and vibrant. However, when dealing with personal issues the writing is sometimes lame and incredulous. The mixture of serious and slapstick is at times embarrassing. I prefer my humour to be subtle, so I found the 'stand up and shout at each other' humour exhibited by Will and MacKenzie incongruous to their supposed gravitas, or perhaps that is the point. The acting is of a high standard throughout the series and the characters sympathetically drawn. I will watch the second series hoping the writing attains the 'gold standard' achieved by the West Wing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Make room for this show, 7 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. N. J. Todman "mr_todtastic" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The newsroom is everything fans of the West Wing have been waiting for. Sorkin is back to his very best. The characters are quirky, lovable, and entwined. The dialogue is joyfully over elaborate. The plots deal with not only real issues in the news but with the values underlying the production of it. Like the West Wing, it is another window on the concerns of liberal America and the tensions which threaten to tear the Union apart. Sorkin was criticised by some in the media that this isn't a very realistic portrayal of life in a newsroom. His response was to say, "Who cares? This is meant to be entertainment". And as that, it is a five star show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best series I've watched in a long time..., 13 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It is rare nowadays that I manage to make it through a series - whether from the UK or the US - I usually get bored by second or third episode. However, The Newsroom is different!

From the very first scene showing Will McAvoy's very public breakdown to the last scene of the last episode, I was gripped by the series. I can't wait for the DVD to come out and am rather surprised that wasn't available for release the day after the last episode. I am so looking forward to watching it all again.

This will be in my grubby mitts as soon as it's out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AS EVER WITH SORKIN, MUCH TO PROVOKE THOUGHT, 28 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Obliged to take time off after an on-screen tirade, "Newsnight" anchorman Will McAvoy returns to find the programme revamped, executive producer now Mackenzie McHale, with whom he has a troubled history. Sparks will fly. Any chance of peaceful co-existence, or will one have to go?

Creator Aaron Sorkin always has something of value to say, and says it at length - his characters highly articulate, his casts with more than usual to learn. Here he campaigns for responsible newscasting - far removed from current trends. Chasing after ratings means so much is now trivialized with emphasis on rumours, speculation, human interest stories and an obsession with "celebrities". Also being specifically (and devastatingly) targeted are America's far right politicians - worst perpetrators named and lies documented.

Ten episodes, mainly around sixty minutes. They are set in 2010/11, which means actual news stories are featured. This is where the show is at its strongest. Heated differences (of which there are many) are cast aside when a major news story breaks - all rushing to contact reliable sources, check and doublecheck the information coming in, everything to be fashioned - with graphics - for hour long coverage which genuinely informs.

At such times, with adrenaline palpably flowing, the show is superb - especially when the newsroom set is so authentic. Some viewers may be less happy with the sundry romantic entanglements and occasional almost slapstick humour. Probably in a minority of one, I had problems with the portrayal of Mackenzie, unable to shake off the feeling here was an actress giving a performance. Others convince, especially Jeff Daniels as Will and Sam Waterston as his news division boss, their scenes together a particular pleasure.

Bonuses include commentaries, Sorkin's interesting "Inside the Episodes", "The Rundown" where creators and cast entertainingly look back on the season and select their favourite moments.

Overall there is much to admire and to think about. Sorkin, as in "The West Wing", credits most viewers with intelligence, capable of the extra effort needed if they are to keep up.

(The ultimate irony? Faced with the choice of an in-depth news bulletin and the type Sorkin so regrets, which is the one most of us are likely to choose?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 84 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simultaneously both good and bad, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. T. F. Norton (Maidstone, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I think my view of "The Newsroom" is chequered by having already watched "The West Wing", which is one of my all-time favourite TV shows. If you are in that position with me, be prepared to both love and loathe "The Newsroom".

First of all, "The West Wing" was my first real introduction to Aaron Sorkin's work. Therefore, at the time his manner of writing was fresh and new to me. "The Newsroom" suffers the misfortune of having a predecessor to be compared with. It is instantly recognisable as a Sorkin piece:

* Should I repeat a statement to make it seem more important? Should I repeat a statement to make it seem more important?

* The main protagonist has father issues, a la Jed Bartlet. He's also very intelligent and had a brilliant career as a lawyer prior to his being an anchorman, a la Jed Bartlet. Oh and he defends his staff to the bitter end as if they were his family, a la Jed Bartlet.

* You have not one but three versions of the Josh/Donna relationship occurring concurrently. And two of them feel like very contrived situations. If you like being endlessly spun a yarn, then you're in the clear.

* The Josh Lyman foot-in-mouth moments are duplicated here aplenty.

There are many other examples I could list, but you get the idea. If anything, "The Newsroom" exposes Sorkin as a bit of a (brilliant) one-trick pony. This is the same formula, with the same heart, humour and passion as its older brother. A Sork-com, if you will.

Politically, if you're right-leaning you'll probably disapprove of the left-ish tendencies on offer. On the other hand, if you're left-leaning (and I am), you may get tired with being preached to, *incessently*. TWW occassionally got on its high horse, but "The Newsroom" suffers this problem on a much larger scale. This is a shame because the fundamentals of what was being said are perfectly valid. But I've never felt so spoon-fed, and this is quite ironic given the whole point of the show is to depict a news broadcast that doesn't dress up current affairs in over-the-top language shoved down your throat. Sorkin tries to address separating TWW from this by constantly dropping in "I'm a Republican" quotes from Will McAvoy (the main character), as if saying those words makes it true. In true Arnold Vinick style, McAvoy is Sorkin's dream Republican, which is a Democrat who is just a bit more fiscally sensible.

All of this makes "The Newsroom" sound really very bad. Maybe I should redress this issue. It is a long way from bad. I certainly got enough out of it to watch all 10 episodes (and I'll probably pick up season 2 when it is broadcast). The writing is quite sharp, the actors do an excellent job with the material they're given, and I applaud the spirit of the show, if perhaps not the result. I think if I had never watched TWW previously, I wouldn't have one of the greatest TV shows to beat "The Newsroom" over the head with. This is a poor man's version, and there's no escaping that. On the other hand, if you have never seen either you'll probably love the show in the same way I loved TWW when I first saw that.

Overall, a watchable if slightly disappointing show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic series, extremely well written and well acted, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic series, extremely well written and well acted. Fast dialogue and thought provoking themes - what you'd expect from the pen of Aaron Sorkin (writer of the West Wing)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty discs and no return, 1 Nov 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Managed to view Disc 1 and it was excellent. However Discs 2 & 3 had major manufacturing defects--the playing side of the DVD had swirls and missing coating, and were completely unplayable. The seller (cocoboy) would not accept a return as it was past the 30 days period (we had bought a bunch of DVDs to watch over the summer) despite the obvious defects. Strongly suggest you inspect your discs as these manufacturing defects may affect numerous pressings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully scripted and containing characters that you warm to relatively ..., 24 Oct 2014
By 
Glen (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The age of "news as truth" seems to be over, except at Sorkin's Newsroom. Wonderfully scripted and containing characters that you warm to relatively quickly, contemporary issues are dealt with through a fictional newsroom daringly committed to informing the public of what really matters regardless of the ratings. Best Sorkin series since the West Wing. Pity it is only 10 episodes a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... as I did with other series such as Breaking Bad, Broadwalk Empire and House of Cards etc and ..., 18 July 2014
By 
Frank Roberts "Hobo" (Bournemouth England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I heard about this series from the reviews I read on Amazon so I thought I'd give it a try as I did with other series such as Breaking Bad, Broadwalk Empire and House of Cards etc and was pleasantly surprised with this gripping story of a TV newsroom staff on the job and in their personal lives . I will eventually get the second series to see how things develope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
The Newsroom - Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Jeff Daniels (DVD - 2013)
£12.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews