Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars197
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Tough and headstrong cop, Rizzoli (played by Angie Harmon), and brilliant medical examiner, Isles (Sasha Alexander), form a great team when it comes to solving crimes, and despite their obvious differences - Rizzoli comes from a large cop family, has 2 brothers and doesn't much care for girly things whereas Isles is the cultured, if at times socially inept, woman of the world who wouldn't be caught dead in flats - they also find themselves becoming great friends off duty.

The crime stories as such are not particularly gripping, but the chemistry between the two main characters is sizzling and there is great humour throughout the series - both in the dialogue and just watching Rizzoli's facial expressions when once again Maura Isles has made one of her more outlandish statements or provided one of her unwanted and seemingly endless facts.

Very much worth a view!
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
Never have a pairing of female leads been more suited since the days of Cagney & Lacey. The show has a great character dynamic, and the two leads have an on screen chemistry that cannot be beaten. It doesn't take itself too seriously and will satisfy anyone looking to be enteratined.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Nice DVD if you enjoy a detective series that doesn't take itself too seriously. The 'friendly banter' between the two lead characters works well and there is also an excellent supporting cast. The series is very loosely based on the Tess Gerittsen novels, however for the purpose of entertainment, it makes the relationship between two main characters more 'fun' than the books. All in all I think the series works well and I'd defiantly recommend it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
We hadn't seen any of this series on t.v. so hoped that it would be ok for three generations to watch at Easter. Six of us, aged from fifteen to sixty-seven, enjoyed all the episodes over four nights and thoroughly enjoyed them. The plots are nothing to write home about but the relationship between the two women is what keeps one watching.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There are now quite a few series involving medical examiners and yes, this is another one. Each has an interesting and different take and this is no different.
In this one, the ME, super intelligent Maura Isles (Shasha Alexander) and tough Boston cop Jane Rizzoli (Angie Harmon) partner up to fight crime.
The story lines are good, but sometimes don't hold up to too much scrutiny. For example, in one episode Rizzoli was being hunted by psychopath from her past. Every body in the police dept. knows this, and yet she goes home without an escort...predictably she is abducted by her pursuer.
Despite these short comings, the chemistry between the two leads and the other major cast (Rizzoli's partner and former partner) makes up for any script short comings. And the show doesn't take itself too seriously either. There is a great deal of humour along with the suspense.
All in all, a very good show and worth watching if you like this genre of entertainment.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 February 2012
I was also a bit skeptical about this show after reading the books 1st, I put off watching it for ages but so glad I eventually gave in. The show is just awesome. I love the chemistry between all the characters, esp Rizzoli & Isles though. They just make a great team.
There is comedy in the show to which seeps in just nicely. Rizzoli's mum is another of my fave characters. Once I started watching I couldnt stop. Season 2 so far is excellent as well. Really hope its returning for a season 3! The cliffhanger at the end of this season was epic. I was on the edge of my seat.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I bought this for my daughter who really liked Sasha Alexander in NCIS and basically stopped watching after her character was terminated. This is a completely different series, two good female leads, good dialogue and an interesting positive take on female friendship. Of course there are all the usual cliche's of the genre but the overall package is entertaining and not massively offensive or patronising. Series One includes 10 episodes over 3 discs and two special features. Episodes are: See One, Do One, Teach One; Boston Strangler Redux; Sympathy for the Devil; She Works Hard for the Money; Money for Nothing; I Kissed a Girl; Born to Run; I'm Your Boogie Man; The Beast in Me; When the Gun Goes Bang,Bang. Special Features - Rizzoli & Isles: Bringing the Characters to Life; Rizzoli & Isles: Chicks in a Bottle; Unaired Scenes; Gag Reel.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This is an amazing tv show as it shows both sides to the law enforcements and perfect for anyone whose a fan of other crime dramas, well worth buying 100% perfect to add to anyone's crime drama collection
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
I watched this tv series and from the first episode I fell in love. Its brilliant to see two strong and clever women leading a cop program without falling back on clichéd behavioural types or over dramatizing the friendship between them. You get to watch two brilliant women who are clever and intelligent in two different ways solving crimes and seeing the friendship between them in a believable and realistic way. The friendship between the two of them makes the program even better while the storylines are simply superb. Brilliant casting and acting throughout the show, from the main characters to background characters, each episode is fantastic. Has simply side splitting humour in just the right places while you are on the edge of your seats with the drama.

Would definitely recommend watching this series to anyone, you will just fall in love with it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
I am a fan of the Tess Gerritsen books that this series is based upon, so was unsure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised and felt that I had found a little-known gem - watched the season episodes back-to-back!
The characters are likeable and the storylines gripping and easy to follow (very easy viewing!)
Have preordered the next season!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)