Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brawn, humour and brains - oh and subtext - lots of subtext!
Tough and headstrong cop, Rizzoli (played by Angie Harmon), and brilliant medical examiner, Isles (Sasha Alexander), form a great team when it comes to solving crimes, and despite their obvious differences - Rizzoli comes from a large cop family, has 2 brothers and doesn't much care for girly things whereas Isles is the cultured, if at times socially inept, woman of the...
Published on 11 May 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like the books
If you read the books and want to watch this thinking its ANYTHING like the books... your horribly mistaken. For a start the charecters physical description is complete different to that of the books.. the most obvious being Isles is supposed to have black hair, bangs and green eyes. And if the charecters physical description is off... you can only imagine how different...
Published on 10 Sep 2011 by JRedah


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brawn, humour and brains - oh and subtext - lots of subtext!, 11 May 2012
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Tough and headstrong cop, Rizzoli (played by Angie Harmon), and brilliant medical examiner, Isles (Sasha Alexander), form a great team when it comes to solving crimes, and despite their obvious differences - Rizzoli comes from a large cop family, has 2 brothers and doesn't much care for girly things whereas Isles is the cultured, if at times socially inept, woman of the world who wouldn't be caught dead in flats - they also find themselves becoming great friends off duty.

The crime stories as such are not particularly gripping, but the chemistry between the two main characters is sizzling and there is great humour throughout the series - both in the dialogue and just watching Rizzoli's facial expressions when once again Maura Isles has made one of her more outlandish statements or provided one of her unwanted and seemingly endless facts.

Very much worth a view!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good series, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There are now quite a few series involving medical examiners and yes, this is another one. Each has an interesting and different take and this is no different.
In this one, the ME, super intelligent Maura Isles (Shasha Alexander) and tough Boston cop Jane Rizzoli (Angie Harmon) partner up to fight crime.
The story lines are good, but sometimes don't hold up to too much scrutiny. For example, in one episode Rizzoli was being hunted by psychopath from her past. Every body in the police dept. knows this, and yet she goes home without an escort...predictably she is abducted by her pursuer.
Despite these short comings, the chemistry between the two leads and the other major cast (Rizzoli's partner and former partner) makes up for any script short comings. And the show doesn't take itself too seriously either. There is a great deal of humour along with the suspense.
All in all, a very good show and worth watching if you like this genre of entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky cop show with a difference!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Never have a pairing of female leads been more suited since the days of Cagney & Lacey. The show has a great character dynamic, and the two leads have an on screen chemistry that cannot be beaten. It doesn't take itself too seriously and will satisfy anyone looking to be enteratined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We hadn't seen any of this series on t.v. so hoped that it would be ok for three generations to watch at Easter. Six of us, aged from fifteen to sixty-seven, enjoyed all the episodes over four nights and thoroughly enjoyed them. The plots are nothing to write home about but the relationship between the two women is what keeps one watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brawn, humour and brains - oh and subtext - lots of subtext!, 17 Aug 2011
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tough and headstrong cop, Rizzoli (played by Angie Harmon), and brilliant medical examiner, Isles (Sasha Alexander), form a great team when it comes to solving crimes, and despite their obvious differences - Rizzoli comes from a large cop family, has 2 brothers and doesn't much care for girly things whereas Isles is the cultured, if at times socially inept, woman of the world who wouldn't be caught dead in flats - they also find themselves becoming great friends off duty.

The crime stories as such are not particularly gripping, but the chemistry between the two main characters is sizzling and there is great humour throughout the series - both in the dialogue and just watching Rizzoli's facial expressions when once again Maura Isles has made one of her more outlandish statements or provided one of her unwanted and seemingly endless facts.

Very much worth a view!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent TV series., 3 Feb 2012
By 
Mumof2Girls (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was also a bit skeptical about this show after reading the books 1st, I put off watching it for ages but so glad I eventually gave in. The show is just awesome. I love the chemistry between all the characters, esp Rizzoli & Isles though. They just make a great team.
There is comedy in the show to which seeps in just nicely. Rizzoli's mum is another of my fave characters. Once I started watching I couldnt stop. Season 2 so far is excellent as well. Really hope its returning for a season 3! The cliffhanger at the end of this season was epic. I was on the edge of my seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing tv show as it shows both sides to the law enforcements and perfect for anyone whose a fan of other crime dramas, well worth buying 100% perfect to add to anyone's crime drama collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rizzoli and Isles Season 1, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Nice DVD if you enjoy a detective series that doesn't take itself too seriously. The 'friendly banter' between the two lead characters works well and there is also an excellent supporting cast. The series is very loosely based on the Tess Gerittsen novels, however for the purpose of entertainment, it makes the relationship between two main characters more 'fun' than the books. All in all I think the series works well and I'd defiantly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rizzoli and Lsles BRILL, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it, good story line and funny, cant wait to get season3. The problem is as soon as I get it, I want to watch all of it, cant turn it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant show, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a great fan of the books by Tess Geritson and I love this series as well. The box set arrived arrived ahead of the estimated delivery date and was just what I ordered thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD]
Rizzoli and Isles - Season 1 [DVD] by Angie Harmon (DVD - 2012)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews