Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding- a true classic!
This film is one of my favourite films. It is one of those few films that I can watch over and over and over again

It is funny, beautiful, moving, insightful and thought provoking without being tacky, cheesy and preaching to the viewer. Also, Pleasantville is full of classic moments with an outstanding cast.

I would strongly recommend this film to...
Published on 23 July 2006 by S. Nawrat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars pleasant little film
i thought the use of colour as residents came to terms with and embraced there new lifestyle was very well done. all the actors made their contributions. I wasnt sure what to expect but was pleasantly supprised especially as the colour came in. I will watch this film again.
Published 11 months ago by J. Schofield


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding- a true classic!, 23 July 2006
By 
S. Nawrat (near london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is one of my favourite films. It is one of those few films that I can watch over and over and over again

It is funny, beautiful, moving, insightful and thought provoking without being tacky, cheesy and preaching to the viewer. Also, Pleasantville is full of classic moments with an outstanding cast.

I would strongly recommend this film to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swell, 14 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film. The black and white world of Pleasantville slowly becoming coloured is a simple but very effective idea that is here EXTREMELY well executed. The script, direction and acting easily stand out over the spectacular effects-trickery. A tiny disappointment is that the 'The Art of Pleasantville' documentary is pretty poorly produced, filmed for some reason on a shaky camcorder with far too much time devoted to an interview in which the guy wanders about his studio for ages in search of his 'special chair'. I'm not sure why this was considered worthy to include on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film - with morals!!, 23 Nov 2007
By 
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A brilliant film. Its a shame that a previous review thought that the characters changing from black and white to colour meant that this was advocating sexual promiscuity. In my opinion, when characters changed to colour it meant they had opened their eyes, experienced something new, widened their vision - if it was about sexual promiscuity, why wasnt Reese Witherspoons character MaryJane in colour right from the start?!! She only changes to colour when she's read - and enjoyed - a book. Thought it was absolutely beautiful, really enjoyed it, not a bad word to say. Fab fab fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make 'em like this anymore!, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
I expected a lot from 'Pleasantville', with no less than ten excellent comments from newspapers and magazines on its cover, yet I was also somewhat wary. After all, I had watched several movies with high expectations due to Oscars, reviews etc. and been subsequently disappointed. However, on this occasion, I was not.
Pleasantville belongs to an old genre of movies - dazzling in every way. It was original, imaginative, clever, intelligent, funny and witty with stunning visual effects, great costumes and set designs - in fact, overall, it was just brilliant.
The story revolves around two modern-day teenage siblings, played expertly by Tobey Maguire and Reese Witherspoon (who is showing great potential to be more than a teenage star). Whilst the two are fighting over what to watch on the television, they find themselves transported to the world of Maguire's favourite programme - Pleasantville.
Pleasantville, a black and white 50s series, is a world where everything is just, well, pleasant - there has never been any hatred, aggression or tears, any passionate kisses, love or sex, any flat tyres, works of art, red roses or rain. However, this all rapidly changes as Maguire and Witherspoon, in the guise of the two of the show's most popular characters - Bud and Mary-Sue - begin to spread chaos throughout the perfect town.
As they introduce things such as double beds and baths to the show, glorious Technicolor begins to creep into the monochrome world of Pleasantville.
This film is consistently funny, the funniest scenes being where the two teenagers know more than the adults - the scene in which Witherspoon teaches her mother (played excellently by Joan Allen) the facts of life, in particular, sticks in mind.
This film is also very clever and there is a definite play on racism, with signs saying 'NO COLOUREDS' appearing in shop windows, referring to the Technicoloured individuals in Pleasantville, but the term 'coloured' is definitely double-edged here.
The whole cast is superb and it is impossible to pick out an individual from the finely-tuned cast who particularly stands out, although, as usual, the versatile Reese Witherspoon gives a fantastic performance.
The subtle, yet visually stunning and magical special effects do not go amiss and teamed with the marvellous cast, costumes, set and hugely original storyline make this a fabulous movie, which deserved far more recognition than it received.
Pleasantville was brilliant in all aspects. Despite my expectations, my eyes remained glued to the screen for the two-hour duration of the film. This movie is extremely good, clean fun - they certainly don't make 'em like this anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 21 May 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
I saw this last year and I have to say it is probably my favourite film ever. The actors are the ideal people for the film and all perform brilliantly. This movie is pure fantasy and is does what a good movie should do - take you away from real-life for 2 hours and make you forget everything. This is the first film I saw with Tobey Maguire in, and he shows how good an actor he is. Other actors include Reese Witherspoon, Jeff Daniels, and a couple of other famous faces you've seen in other things (such as Riley from Buffy). The effects are fantastic, especially when half the screen is colour and the other half is black & white.
This is a fairytale movie in which none of the things you see will happen for real, and that is how it should be. An excellent movie that should get a lot more recognition and is a class apart from a lot of recent films.
Deserves 5 stars, no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful but thought provoking, 1 Oct 2004
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A modern day brother and sister, David and Jennifer argue over what to watch on T.V. He wants to watch his favourite show 'Pleasantville'(a black and white show set in the 1950's); she wants to watch a music show. Their argument leads to the remote control being broken at which point a mysterious repairman leaves them a new one which transports the pair to the idyllic Pleasantville. Finding themselves trapped in this monochrome world they try to fit in whilst finding a way back to reality.
The people of Pleasantville have never experienced art, rain, colour, or anything less than perfection and have no awareness of a world or life outside of their town. The arrival of the two teenagers sparks a change and gradually colour and reality start encroaching on this little town. At this point we can see the uglier side of reality developing as some of the townspeople turn against the 'coloureds' and fight against any change in their existence.
This is a wonderful film to watch. It has its magical, whimsical side whilst also managing to address the issue of prejudice. Tobey Maguire and Reese Witherspoon deliver great performances as the geeky brother and sparky sister and are a perfect foil for each other. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and clever film, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Loved it. This film moves from black and white into colour as the story tackles racism,difference and personal empowerment in a magical way....Recommend it highly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great again, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is a gem ! I first saw it in sociology in the study of culture , and missed the second half as I was not in class . I love it and my soc analysis has been upgraded since then .The teens are transported into a 50S Sitcom with no hate , sex and art and their presence gradually alters the shows culture , genius escapism and questioning of how reality is formed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect film, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I love this and I couldn't find it cheaper online anywhere, it's hardly ever on TV and its always been one of those films that I enjoy every time I watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly underrated!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pleasantville [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
When people ask me to name some underrated films, this always comes to mind. Even though it's rather early on in both Maguire and Witherspoon's careers, they are absolutely fantastic. Macy is absolutely superb and the rest of the cast are all good as well. The story is powerful. At the start of the film it could of gone either of two ways. A simple I got stuck in the TV/different world film or something much deeper, and to my delight it took the deeper path. The morals in this story are brilliant - be free and be happy is a lesson everyone needs to remember. I thoroughly enjoyed the return to colour, as a metaphor and as a photographic tool. It really made the film stand out as a true gem.

I highly recommend this film to anyone and I implore you to give it a chance even if you find the basic premise a little far fetched. The second half of the film is fantastic and well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pleasantville [DVD] [1998]
Pleasantville [DVD] [1998] by Gary Ross (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews