Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Performances, and a poignant life story
This tells the story of Malcolm X, one of America's foremost figures in the black civil rights movement. The lead role is played beautifully by Denzel Washington, in the kind of charismatic perfomance we have come to expect from him.

Malcolm X is surely one of the most fascinating men in the history of free speech. Going from his boyhood in a racially...
Published on 19 Feb 2008 by Elizabeth Gershwin

versus
24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but I strongly recommend the book.
The combination of one of the greatest figures from the 20th century, a fine director in Spike Lee and an Oscar nominated performance from Denzel Washington should have resulted in a far better film than this. Don't get me wrong this is a good film but the book it is adapted from, 'The Autobiography of Malcolm X' written with Alex Haley is one of the greatest books I have...
Published on 30 Nov 2001 by Mr Timothy David Watson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Performances, and a poignant life story, 19 Feb 2008
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
This tells the story of Malcolm X, one of America's foremost figures in the black civil rights movement. The lead role is played beautifully by Denzel Washington, in the kind of charismatic perfomance we have come to expect from him.

Malcolm X is surely one of the most fascinating men in the history of free speech. Going from his boyhood in a racially predjudiced America to his adulthood, involved in crime, and then a stretch in prison, Malcolm is affected greatly by the racism he sees all around him, and then in prison, he becomes even more affected by the teachings of Elijah Mohammed, a Muslim scholar who spreads the teachings of Islam.

Through this, Malcolm becomes involved heavily in making speeches about the racism that black people in America have to endure. It is through one of these speeches that Malcolm meets his future wife, a young Muslim woman played superbly by Angela Bassett.

The speeches of Malcolm are so perfectly true and cutting that they infuriated many. Unfortunately the truth always hurts, and although I disagree with some of his terminolgy, such as 'devils', the points he was making were always incredibly relevant and near the bone. Hence he made many enemies.

Perhaps the greatest irony of all is that a man so often accused of condoning or inciting violence actually never led by the example of being violent, yet tragically died in a violent way. This makes Malcolm's story a very sad one, and his wise words will echo throughout history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitles - Blu-ray, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Information about subtitles is far too often lacking in the product details on Amazon. This Blu-ray disc comes with the following subtitles: English, Brazilian Portuguese, Danish, French, Finnish, Latin Spanish, Norwegian and Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We Wuz Robbed....., 13 May 2005
By 
Derrick Johnson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
which was how Spike Lee was quoted after Denzel didn't win the Oscar for best Actor of that year. I agree, and when you consider that Denzel did win a Oscar for Training Day. you have to wonder what denotes a great performance. This is a MUST-SEE film for people who a)Think that all Malcolm X represented was violence, a history of drug Dealing, ex-con b) That think that people can't change and c) the power of education. It is a long film, but didn't feel that way to me(I saw it twice at the cinema, and was moved to tears on both ocassions) Spike's Best film to date, which so far he has not surpassed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, of a great, but misunderstood, man., 2 Sep 2012
By 
T. S. C. (Somewhere in NW England.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
I watched this film years ago, and felt moved by it. I recently bought it on Amazon and just watched it last night. First off, I might say that the film is a long one but needs to be, in the same way Richard Attenborough's 'Gandhi' is long and David Lean's 'Lawrence of Arabia' is long; it needed to be long to convey this highly interesting man's life and all the complexities and even contradictions of Malcolm X's life. Why should a white working class person from England really be interested in a black working class guy from America anyway? Well, why not? Malcolm X the film stands comparison with the two films I just mentioned because Malcolm X is an important person in the history of civil rights in America and perhaps the whole world.

Malcolm, in his life, went from being a tough thug and former jailbird, into a civil rights leader for his people, with an extremely sharp brain and some of the most uncompromising and electrifying speeches you've ever heard. It's been said that Martin Luther King was a man of peace and Malcolm was a man of war, but I feel that both men were two sides of the same coin, and when it really boils down to it, were 'fighting' for the same thing, which was emancipation for black people in America, all kinds of emancipation, certainly economic emancipation.

There is a kind of feeling that comes to me from the time of Malcolm X; America was changing and all kinds of people, not just black people, were beginning to feel that they deserved a bigger slice of the pie and demanding fairness and equality and perhaps most importantly economic justice so that it wasn't just white middle and upper class people who could live well and prosper but everybody. The same things were probably happening in Britain but on a more understated level. For me quite simply, when black people and other ethnic minorities stand up for their rights and their social justice, it can also be about ALL people who are oppressed, in one way or the other, fighting for their rights. In America, it was much about racism and probably still is, in Britain, although I won't tell you there isn't racism here because there is, it can also be about class. In Britain, like many other countries, certain white people are allowed to prosper, perhaps because they have been to private schools and they talk with the 'right' accent and know the 'right' people and are connected or have influence in one way or the other; if you aren't part of this clique you are meant to accept it and fight for the crumbs of the rich man's table. Malcolm X teaches me that we all have dignity and we all have the right to challenge oppression wherever we find it, and especially in our own lives.

So, the movie. A really good film, notwithstanding its length, and one that I could watch again and again. Denzel Washington is absolutely convincing as Malcolm X and is as usual enormously charismatic in the role. The film goes from Malcolm's early life to the very end, where he is assassinated whilst giving a speech. It is a sad end of an amazing life. As the film, and Malcolm's life progresses, there is the feeling that Malcolm is shedding his skin; he sheds the skin of his life of crime to re-educate himself in prison and then becomes an apostle of the honourable Elijah Muhammad; he sheds his skin again after feeling badly let down by Muhammad, and becomes a free spirit. He goes to Mecca and finds that all kinds of people, of all different colours including white, are all worshipping together. I feel this made a strong impact on him and he began to see all humanity, not just black people, as worthy of concern, love and consideration.

In the racial climate of America in those times, it could be easy to understand that someone black would despise white people and the mainstream white culture of America; it is then good to say that Malcolm X at the end of his life changed his perspective and had the courage of his doubts and convictions and began to see the bigger picture. He was a great man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but I strongly recommend the book., 30 Nov 2001
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
The combination of one of the greatest figures from the 20th century, a fine director in Spike Lee and an Oscar nominated performance from Denzel Washington should have resulted in a far better film than this. Don't get me wrong this is a good film but the book it is adapted from, 'The Autobiography of Malcolm X' written with Alex Haley is one of the greatest books I have ever read. At over three hours it is true that this is a long film but it does still skip over a lot of Malcolm's earlier life and the conversion he goes through on his pilgrimage. So I recommend the film for Washington's performance if nothing else but with the book you get a far greater insight into the life of Malcolm X. Just to add I think a real opportunity has been missed with the DVD release. The inclusion of a theatrical trailer aside there are no extra features. Director's commentary, Malcolm X footage and interviews could have really made this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't have watched this.., 22 Oct 2007
By 
Mr Richard Varley (Uxbridge, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
...but a friend leant it to me and I found I had to watch it twice. I didn't know a great deal about Malcolm X, and found this film awesome and inspiring. Spike Lee directs his greatest film, and Denzel Washington gives one of his greatest performances. It is hard not to root for Malcolm, when you see his background - whatever your viewpoint, and on this level Lee delivers this film's punch. Recommended, but a long film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars X-traordinary...., 31 Oct 2001
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Two of the film's storytelling techniques that function beautifully are the film's opening and closing sequences which tie Malcolm X's life to events in the present using footage of the Rodney King beating at the beginning and closing with schoolchildren in Soweto. Also not to be underestimated is Denzel Washington's brilliant incarnation of Malcolm X and Al Freeman, Jr.'s uncanny portrayal of Elijah Muhammad. Malcolm X is a fiery, intelligent movie that may not appear as challenging or controversial as some of Lee's previous works. But this movie does something different. Though at times it borders on the hagiographic, Malcolm X is remarkably faithful to the essence of the man -- his anger, his sly wit, his perpetual growth. In the course of its lengthy running time, it captures so very much and thus, the movie's pure pedagogical value cannot be underestimated. It's the type of project whose cultural value will, no doubt, increase x-ponentially.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, important story, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Cian Mcintyre "Cian" (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I didn't know much about the man going into this besides the fact that he was part of the civil rights movement and was generally considered to be a bit more violent and radical than the likes of Martin Luther King. I have to say though that I found this movie very interesting. I'm not sure how accurate it is exactly, particularly in his personal life but I can't imagine it went too far from the facts. Great performance from Denzel Washington too.

Picture and sound both seem to be very good on Blu-ray so I'd say get it on the format if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a must see!, 16 Aug 2011
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
For those who are unfamiliar with the real message that Malcolm X struggled so hard to convey, Spike Lee's film puts it in the most simplistic form, yet makes it imperative for your eyes to be glued the television. This film shows us a complete transformation of a man ethically, morally and spiritually, and it is amazing how throughout its entirety you are made to believe that Denzel Washington is Malcolm X. This has got to be Washington's finest ever performance with a catalog of awards being handed to him as testimony. A great film to add to any collection as it is one of those that can be watched over and over again. Simply a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling black historical epic!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Malcolm X [DVD] [1992] (DVD)
Powerfull and convincing! Malcolm X said,"A man who stands for nothing, will fall for anything" - try and contradict that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Malcolm X [DVD] [1992]
Malcolm X [DVD] [1992] by Spike Lee (DVD - 2012)
3.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews