Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film ...
On the surface this is another coming-out story where the young guy has to deal with the homophobia of family members ... but the story is told with refreshing insights and good acting by all the participants. The object of Sasha's first love which leads to his "coming out" may not be worthy of such devotion but he's sexy as hell and (no plot spoliers I think) ... Sasha...
Published on 12 Feb. 2012 by Happy Ending Seeker

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
A bit disappointed.
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Chungwen Wu


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film ..., 12 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
On the surface this is another coming-out story where the young guy has to deal with the homophobia of family members ... but the story is told with refreshing insights and good acting by all the participants. The object of Sasha's first love which leads to his "coming out" may not be worthy of such devotion but he's sexy as hell and (no plot spoliers I think) ... Sasha survives the experience well enough. What really makes this special is the dynamics between all of Sasha's family and the shared bond/curse of being immigrants in a foreign country. The mother, father, brother are all fully-rounded characters and well-realised by their respective actors. There's comedy and tragedy and a huge dollop of realism that made watching this story unfold areal pleasure.
Only criticism is the sub-titles were often hard to read as they were displayed on a very light background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An all embracing film. Very watchable., 11 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this one. Very well acted with a very sound script. It's more than a simple coming out story. Way more. It embraces the whole family of Balkan immigrants who fail to integrate after 20 years in Germany. The two boys have integrated of course which makes this worse for the ogre of a father who really cannot understand the attitude of his sons. You really feel for the Chinese violinist who is waiting to be asked to be Sasha's official girlfriend and there is a very tender scene by the river when her world collapses. The film is heavily cultured because classical music is the background to the film and we learn very late into the film that the mother (who lives for Sasha) obviously had a promising career in music but gave it up to `improve' her life. I suggest you watch the deleted scenes especially about the gun and the dopey uncle as it gives a better understanding of the final scenes in the bar. Well worth watching. If more of such films can be produced they would act as a much needed counter balance to US run of the mill gay themed films with far too much Hollywood gloss to be wholesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 Feb. 2012
By 
Caspar Aremi "aremi.me.uk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
This film is stunning - it has been shot beautifully, the scenes all look amazing, the music is perfect, and the actors are top rate. Much better than the majority of LGBT films. A worthy winner of Best Feature at the Iris Prize festival in 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic German Film of Coming Out and Growing Up, 16 May 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story of Sasha (Sascha Kekez) who is living in Germany having left Montenegro. His mother has pushed him to become a virtuoso of the piano and has worked extra hard for his private piano lessons. His father still has both feet placed in the macho centric society of Montenegro and would rather see his son exceeding at something more manly, like swimming or street fighting. Still Sasha's piano lessons are not wasted money as far as he is concerned as he not only gets to `tinkle the ivories' but also to indulge his crush on his piano teacher - self centred gay man about town Gebhard Weber ( Tim Bergmann).

Sasha also has a best friend in Chinese, voiln playing Jiao, although she rather fancies him and has been bemused by his reticence in coming on to her. All is soon revealed when Herr Weber decides he is leaving town for ever and a grief stricken Sasha tells her everything. Sashas' Dad thinks Jiao is also the girlfriend of Sasha but things take an awkward turn when his brother Boki takes a liking for Jiao and she don't say no.

This is just a beautiful film, when I read the synopsis I thought it was going to be one of those films that tries to be a bit arty in the deconstruct of modern relationships versus old country ways, and in many ways it is, but it is the way in which this is done that makes this so special.

Writer and director Dennis Todorovic has got the balance right on absolutely every single level. There is humour, understanding and sympathy for all the characters, and that is very rare indeed, Even though the story is about Sasha we get to feel how all of the people involved have a part to play and how acceptance can be painful for both sides when faced with a son coming out. It can be hard for so called modern parents, but coming from a more conservative background makes it infinitesimally harder. I mean his father won't even tolerate Boki having a tattoo, on his arm much less another bloke.

Not really a bedroom film, but there is a lot of passion, most of it pent up though. There is not a single bad performance and this is up there with my favourite German gay film, `Summer Storm'Summer Storm [DVD], it really is that good. It is in German and Montenegrin (sorry not sure what actual language that is) and with good sub titles, this is one I have rented and have now ordered it to own as it is one I want to share with friends and would love to see again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, 3 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
A good movie, I certainly recommend it for those who like foreign movies and wanna read English subtitles lol ... but really it's a great movie with a great plot and awesome story!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not the end of the world if your son is gay..., 3 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
This is what the director of this excellent German film says in the extras.
"Sasha" is an out-coming story told from the perspective of young immigrant from Montenegro (former Yougoslavia) who lives with his family in Cologne, Germany. We observe the clash of two different cultures, two different worlds. On one side there is the generation of young immigrants, who managed to adopt the western standards, on the other, their parents (the best friend of Sasha comes from China), whose mentality and beliefs remain untouched by the German (western) culture. Until...
I am happy I bought this dvd, because I really enjoyed the film. Acting is really good (Sasha Kekez is constantly luring the viewers' attention). We can see again Tim Bergmann as a gay musician/teacher (don't miss his performance in very entertaining "Regular guys").
There are some extras on the dvd (deleted scenes and behind the scenes). I wish that the extended jail scene was included in the final version of the film. But it's just my personal opinion:)
Higly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh story on coming out, 14 Jan. 2013
By 
Big Band Leader (BROCKTON, MA, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
Sasha is a teen age classical pianist, with a crush on his piano teacher
nicely played by Tim Bergmann (some of us recall his performance
in the film "Regular Guys") Coming out is not easy for Sasha, living
with his immigrant parents. I am not going to say much more
for fear of "spoilers". You need to see this. Pardon me while I
watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Across the cultural barriers, 1 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent film which shows the difficulties of immigrants from a socially conservative background adapting to the more liberal mores of western society. It emphasises in particular the special difficulties of the children who have grown up in the west but are still strongly influenced by their parents' cultural background. While set in Germany, and featuring an ex-Yugoslavian family, it could equally have been set in the UK, focussing on an India, Pakistani or Bangladeshi family. (I imagine that the storyline would not work as well with a Polish family as it is predominantly young Poles who have come to the UK in recent years.)

I agree with another commentator who complained about the difficulties of reading some of the sub-titles, which is why I only score the DVD with four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Family is Normal!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
I am not into classical music, and I was a little worried this film would contain rather too much. But, no need to worry, for piano student Sasha is more interested in his sexy piano tutor than all those dusty, old composers. And Sasha is very sexy. But, what a family! Mad is too vapid a word. Insane might be better! The story contains much of social commentary without going overboard, and it brings a Balkan-German dimension to our viewing which is enlightening to islanders such as oneself. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great coming out tale and so much more., 29 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sasha [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this film. The actors are wonderful - particularly the actress Zeljka Preksavec who plays Sasha's mother.
Tim Bergmann also played a gay man (with similar comfort) in 1996's "Echte Kerle" (Regular Guys).

This is not just a coming out, or gay themed film. It has many themes: Cultural assimilation, false expectation, bitterness and regret.

But all of this is presented in a clever and fun story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sasha [DVD]
Sasha [DVD] by Dennis Todorovic (DVD - 2012)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews