Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, heavy, secure and orange!
There's not much more I can say about this lock really. It is big and heavy and hopefully will keep your bike safe from thieves.

That said, if a bike thief really, really wants your bike and is packing the right tools, they'll have your bike, regardless of whatever lock you put on it. The purpose of a lock like this is to hopefully make them decide that your...
Published 8 months ago by Charles Fraser-Hopewell

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product, heavy and the thieves warranty is only for a year in UK
Good product, heavy and the thieves warranty is only for a year in UK ..if you are in CANADA/USA Kryptonite provides you 3 years thieves proof...pity!
Published 7 months ago by Valeria


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big, heavy, secure and orange!, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
There's not much more I can say about this lock really. It is big and heavy and hopefully will keep your bike safe from thieves.

That said, if a bike thief really, really wants your bike and is packing the right tools, they'll have your bike, regardless of whatever lock you put on it. The purpose of a lock like this is to hopefully make them decide that your bike looks like too much effort to steal and therefore look at another, less well protected bike instead!

I'd seen a lot of negative comments about the storage mounting that is supplied with this lock, so I expected it to be useless. After reading the fitting instructions, which are dire, for about 10 minutes and scratching my head, I did a quick online search and came across a video on Kryptonite's YouTube channel that shows how to correctly fit the mounting bracket. If you follow the instructions in this video, you will be able to use the mounting without any issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great lock, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Richard Hanney (Bournemouth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
This bike lock is very heavy and in the world of bike locks that's a good thing. Apparently it's resistant to the type of theft where they twist the bike to break the lock and judging by the thickness of the metal, I wouldn't rate anyone's chances on being able to cut the lock.

The downside, and it's relatively big, is that the thing that comes with it to attach to your bike is beyond useless. No matter how well you attach it, no matter how well you tighten it, it will ALWAYS come loose. I thought the other reviewers just didn't do it right, I was wrong - it is by far the worst thing I have ever seen. I would have rather they didn't include it if it was going to be this useless!

Summarise - Lock: Great. Attachment: Rubbish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kryptonite lock - Small, lightweight - Hopefully secure!, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
With my bottle holder in place this lock does not fit (with the fixing provided) into the centre of my bike, but this is due to the frame of my bike, no U lock would fit....it does say in the instructions that I can fix it to the rear of the saddle over the back wheel but I don't want to do this and the lock was mainly intended for use at home.
Went for a ride recently that required taking the lock and was surprised how light it was so I put in a small ruck sack and didn't notice it weight.
It feels sturdy and I like the illuminated key, it comes with Kryptonite key replacement service and 1 year bike cover.....but fingers crossed I will never need it.
I would recommend this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SOLID!, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
It's been a few months now and I still have my bike in London. I'd say it's done its job. Weighs an absolute ton though. Looks extremely sturdy and combined with the bright orange and brand name I think it's also a great deterrent because it doesn't look cheap and flimsy. With the bracket it only JUST fits in the frame. Unlike others I was able to attach the bracket without it ever coming loose or falling off or anything. the lock does wobble when attached to the bracket a little but a bit of noise helps stop people on their phones from stepping out in front of you.

Bike cover and key replacement service are also a big plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great lock and sturdy design, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
Solid lock and great to get three keys, particularly one which has an LED light! Quite heavy but that's expected for a chunky lock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lock but not long enough for a Brompton or folder, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
Bought this for my M3L Brompton, sold it to my friend and bought the longer version. This won't make it through the wheels and frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
This piece of kit is heavy and inspires confidence. Obviously a professional thief will overcome it somehow but it will certainly slow them down. It definitely is a visual detterent to the opportunistic thief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good solid lock - just want you want, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
Have bought 2 of these for my bikes and very impressed by the quality. Thankfully, no ones tried testing it out (to my knowledge!) but with a gold secure rating, I have faith that it'll be up to the task! Comes with 3 keys (one with a light) and either life time warranty of the lock or 1 year warranty on your bike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
Great product to protect my mobility scooter when I park it outside a shop. It is strong and durable. Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seriously big Brute of a D-Lock!, 9 Sep 2013
This review is from: Kryptonite Evolution Series 4 U-lock with FlexFrame bracket (Sports)
Kryptonite Evolution series 4 D-Lock!

First impressions were how heavy the lock is and upon opening the package I thought what a beast of a lock, its 14mm shackle is thick and very heavy and strong, the bottom part of the lock is a brute and is covered in lovely orange and black rubber..

No way is a thief going to get through this without a serious fight, most thieves when they see this will just walk away and pick an easier target and on that score its job done!

Comes with 3 keys one of which is a car size key with a blue LED torch built into it, which as actually quite powerful

Checked the guarantee and paperwork and it says lifetime guarantee in English but in German says only 10 year guarantee, so maybe they have different regs in Germany to the rest of the world.
Kryptonite does cover your bike for insurance purposes to 1000 in the UK but there are terms and conditions one of which you have to send the lock to them if your bike is stolen which could pose a slight problem if the thief cycles off with it to stop alerting passers by..

Its Sold Secure Gold so chances are your bike will always be there when you get back, especially if you practice safe locking and use a chain to secure the front wheel and frame of your cycle as well as this D-Lock on the rear and frame

The Key safe program does only appear to be for USA and Canada residents, so looks like us UK residents have the bad end of the stick on that one... (Kryptonite need to sort this out!)

Very happy to have upgraded to this D-lock from my first Kryptonite series 2 which after 2 years is still a seriously good lock that has kept my bike safe in all that time

Seriously highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews