Customer Reviews


160 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


115 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes and ears!
If you're considering buying this DVD, the chances are that you are already familiar with this fabulous film and don't need a synopsis. However, for those who aren't: This Lerner & Loewe musical is based on Shaw's Pygmalion and is the story of Eliza, a common flower girl, who, wanting more out of life, enlists the services of a professor of phonetics to train her to talk...
Published on 21 April 2004 by Chrestomanci

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... bought this expecting the picture quality to be far superior to the dvd version
I bought this expecting the picture quality to be far superior to the dvd version, but unfortunately it is not.
formost of the time picture quality was no better than the dvd one and for app. the last 30/40 minutes there is a
pronounced orange colour caste down the right hand side of the picture area
Published 1 month ago by george miller


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

115 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast for the eyes and ears!, 21 April 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
If you're considering buying this DVD, the chances are that you are already familiar with this fabulous film and don't need a synopsis. However, for those who aren't: This Lerner & Loewe musical is based on Shaw's Pygmalion and is the story of Eliza, a common flower girl, who, wanting more out of life, enlists the services of a professor of phonetics to train her to talk like a lady. Professor Higgins takes up the challenge, planning to pass her off as a duchess at an embassy ball. But the results are not as either anticipates ...
Now for the important bit: As I said, you're probably already familiar with the film, having seen it on countless bank holiday TV broadcasts. So, why buy the DVD? The answer is simple: Firstly, it has been restored to full-colour wide-screen splendour ... and the difference compared to standard terrestrial broadcast is significant. If you have an interest in set/stage design, the full view of the marvellous interiors is breath-taking; Higgins' library, Mrs Higgins' stunning white Macintosh-style conservatory and breakfast room, and if costumes are your passion, the Cecil Beaton dresses in the ascot scene are dazzling. All need to be seen in full restored wide-screen splendour to be fully appreciated.
Secondly, the extras make this DVD well worth having. The documentary is slightly dated, but well worth seeing; the commentaries are a little dry but interesting enough; but the rare opportunity to see Audrey Hepburn singing her own songs makes this DVD a must-have. It's common knowledge that Audrey Hepburn's voice was dubbed by Marni Nixon, but if you've ever wondered why, this DVD allows you to judge for yourself whether the decision was right or not. Although some vocal weaknesses are evident, her lively rendition of 'Wouldn't it be Loverly' is delightful ... and I'm personally glad that these recordings have not been lost, but are available for all to enjoy.
Buy this DVD now and sing along to your heart's content!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every minute, 17 Dec 2006
This DVD sat on my shelf a long time waiting to be watched - I never had the inclination to sit through 165 minutes (2 hours 45 mins!) of a musical I had seen rather too often at Christmas when younger. Well, I eventually did, and am I glad I did! The careful restoration of the original Panavision 70mm film has paid dividends in the quality of what you see on screen - a lavish, colourful, stunning musical which bears very little resemblance (thankfully) to the grainy faded TV screening I remember from years ago.

The sound quality is also fantastic (the .1 of the 5.1 Digital even gets used once), and for those who wish, you can even listen in the 'Extras' to Audrey Hepburn singing two of the numbers herself, rather than the dubbed voice used in the film proper.

A 55 minute documentary on the making of My Fair Lady (and the painstaking restoration of the nearly-lost-for-ever film) makes for interesting viewing.

All in all, well worth every minute spent watching, and certainly deserving of a place on the DVD shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great extras and a wonderful film, 31 May 2005
By 
Mr. RCS Young "rcsy" (Camberley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let's face it you're buying this film because you have already seen it and like so many others you love it to bits.
The reason to specifically buy this version of the film are entirely based around the extras. Audrey Hepburn's vocal track and the documentary of the making of My Fair Lady (fronted by Jeremy Brett who played Freddy) are the highlights for me. For those with the home TV equipment to allow them to view it properly the restored picture and sound are a delight.
For those that aren't interested in what went in to making this film, save some money and get the basic version for £6-7.00. But for me this is more than worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Luvvvverly, 19 Mar 2003
This review is from: My Fair Lady [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
I was always slightly suspicious of people who enjoyed musicals.
My ambivalence, however, was thrown off within minutes - "Oh wouldn't it be luvverly?" - the story's glorious opener that hurls you into the funny-ridiculous world inhabited by chimney sweeps, costermongers and gents in top hat and tails, prancing around Covent Garden. Thereafter, a medley of toe-tapping classics are infused into the story. This may explain why many people at work are now no longer talking to me, having upset them with incessant humming...
Rex Harrison is excellent playing the domineering (if not rancorous) Professor Higgins whose will and blinding ego drive him to turn a street urchin into a lady using elocution as the key hallmark of social climbing. Audrey Hepburn glows as Eliza. Forever will she remain the benchmark for beauty and grace. Here she gives a wonderful performance and, though most of her singing scenes have been dubbed, commands her time on scene using her stature and honey voice.
A film you should watch if you need a change of pace and atmosphere to contemporary pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Fair Lady [1964] [Blu-ray] [US Import, 1 Feb 2013
My Fair Lady [1964] [Blu-ray] [US Import] HEPBURN AND HARRISON SHINE IN THIS STUNNING OSCAR® WINNING MUSICAL!

AUDREY HEPBURN has never been more "lovely" than in this breath-taking musical extravaganza that won 8 Academy Awards® in 1964, including Best Picture*.

For the first time on Blu-ray, this beloved adaption of the Broadway stage hit. Starring AUDREY HEPBURN as a sassy working-class London street vendor flower girl, whom an arrogant professor REX HARRISON attempts to turn AUDREY HEPBURN into a sophisticated lady through proper schooling. But, when the humble flower girl blossoms into the toast of London's elite, her teacher may have a lesson or two to learn himself. Performance, style and sweet spirit have made My Fair lady a timeless classic.

*Best Picture, Rex Harrison Best Actor in a Leading Role. Best Director: George Cukor. Best Art Direction-set Decoration, Best Costume Design, Colour, Best Music, Scoring of Music and Adaption or Treatment; Best Sound.

Cast: Audrey Hepburn, Rex Harrison, Stanley Holloway, Wilfrid Hyde-White, Gladys Cooper, Jeremy Brett, Theodore Bikel, Mona Washbourne, Isobel Elsom, John Holland and Queenie Leonard

Director: George Cukor

Producer: Jack Warner

Screenplay: Alan Jay Lerner and George Bernard Shaw

Composer: Frederick Loewe [music] and Alan Jay Lerner [lyrics]

Cinematography: Harry Stradling

Resolution: 1080p [Technicolor]

Aspect Ratio: 2.38:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: English SDH, Japanese, French, Dutch, Danish, Swedish, Finnish, Norwegian, German, Italian, Castilian, Brazilian and Portuguese

Running Time: 172 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Paramount Pictures

Andrew's Blu-ray Review - Alan Jay Lerner and Frederick Loewe wrote a handful of memorable musicals, but 'My Fair Lady' remains undeniably their crowning achievement, and stands, along with 'Oklahoma!,' 'South Pacific,' and 'West Side Story,' as one of the most revered, revived, and quintessentially classic theatrical shows in history. Though most people remember the movie version of 'My Fair Lady' for its melodic score, captivating performances, witty script, and colourful sets and costumes, few realize George Cukor's Oscar-winning adaptation also stands as an awe-inspiring success story in the field of film preservation and restoration. Faded, scratched, and almost crumbling after years of neglect, 'My Fair Lady' presented a monumental challenge for Robert A. Harris and James C. Katz, who in the early 1990s undertook the arduous task of revitalizing the picture. Film fans will forever appreciate their efforts (I still remember my open-jawed reaction when I first viewed the 2004 DVD), but unfortunately the Blu-ray rendering of 'My Fair Lady' doesn't do their work justice. More on that in our video review section below, but even a subpar transfer can't completely diminish the impeccable style, sophistication, and sheer delight of this beloved musical, which took home eight Academy Awards, including Best Picture.

George Bernard Shaw's scintillating tale of how Henry Higgins, an egotistical elocution expert, turns Eliza, a flower-peddling guttersnipe, into the epitome of grace and refinement in old London is well-known, and although many scoffed at the idea of wrapping songs and dances around Shaw's refined prose, most sceptics ate their words when 'My Fair Lady' premiered on Broadway in 1956. Studio chief Jack L. Warner quickly joined the chorus of admirers and paid the then astronomical sum of $5 million for the screen rights. Rex Harrison, who originated Higgins on the stage, quickly signed on to reprise his role, but Warner believed his co-star, Julie Andrews, who at that time had yet to make a feature film, lacked the national renown to draw large enough crowds to make what surely would be a pricey film successful. Much to Andrews' disappointment, Audrey Hepburn would play Eliza. (Andrews, however, eventually got her revenge, winning the Best Actress Academy Award for her debut role in 'Mary Poppins' the very same year. Hepburn, surprisingly, wasn't even nominated.)

Much has been written about the controversial hiring of Audrey Hepburn, a non-singing actress, for such a major musical. And although professional Marni Nixon (who was also the voice double for Deborah Kerr in 'The King and I' and Natalie Wood in 'West Side Story') eventually would be hired to record 95 percent of her vocals, Audrey Hepburn still turns in a spirited, passionate performance worthy of Oscar recognition. More dimensional than Higgins, Eliza brims with complexities, and Audrey Hepburn boldly depicts her inner struggles, yet shades her portrayal with a fragility and tenderness that is, at times, heart-breaking. As is mentioned on the disc's commentary track, Julie Andrews' cockney accent might have beset problems with Audrey Hepburn cockney accent, but nobody can play a princess like Audrey Hepburn, whom many still regard as Hollywood's most regal and glamorous star.

Rex Harrison, of course, so embodies Higgins, it's tough to tell where the character ends and the actor begin. Relishing every nasty putdown and thunderous rant, Harrison romps through the film with an infectious energy and debonair style that make us somehow forget his character's cruel and exasperating nature. Like Eliza, we wind up embracing Higgins' faults and (almost) forgiving his shameless sexism. When he ultimately confesses 'I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face,' the admission resonates like shockwaves from an earthquake, and we think maybe he's not such a hopeless case after all.

'My Fair Lady,' however, is so much more than Hepburn and Harrison. Cukor directs the feature in a Minnelli style fashion, with meticulous attention to colour, set decoration, and costumes. (The eye-popping gowns and outrageous hats by Cecil Beaton adorn not just Hepburn but even the most insignificant extras, lending the production its inimitable sense of style and class.) Always a champion of actors, Cukor also extracts excellent portrayals from such seasoned veterans as Stanley Holloway, Gladys Cooper, Wilfrid Hyde-White, and Theodore Bikel. Pacing can drag at times -- an extraneous subplot involving Eliza's father easily could have been excised if it didn't include two of Lerner and Loewe's best tunes -- but, on the whole, he keeps things moving while maintaining a frothy, ethereal feel that perfectly complements the material. This is big-budget moviemaking at its opulent best, and every penny is well spent.

Finally, what would 'My Fair Lady' be without its music score? 'Wouldn't It Be Loverly?,' 'I Could Have Danced All Night,' 'On the Street Where You Live,' 'Get Me to the Church on Time,' 'Show Me,' 'Just You Wait,' 'With A Little Bit of Luck' -- so many immortal songs in one show, and almost all advance the plot or delineate vital character traits. It doesn't matter a whit who sings them; they're part of our musical heritage, just as 'My Fair Lady' remains one of the last great musical achievements of 20th Century cinema.

Blu-ray Video Quality - The home video rights to 'My Fair Lady' have ping-ponged between Warner, Paramount, and Fox for the past couple of decades. As of now, Paramount owns the rights, but the video transfer on this Blu-ray release seems like it's merely an up-converted version of Warner's high-quality 2004 DVD transfer, with no additional re-mastering to remove the numerous instances of white speckling that litter the print. Those marks weren't visible on the DVD, and they're relatively faint here, but the enhanced resolution of Blu-ray makes them noticeable enough to merit mention and rankled fans of this visually sumptuous film. (Would Warner have put out such a treasured title in 1080p without meticulously removing any imperfections that would mar its distinctive look? I think not.) Such cavalier treatment of such a classic motion picture dampens enthusiasm for this release, even though the transfer improves upon the inferior DVD in many ways.

'My Fair Lady' sports more clarity and vibrancy than ever before, but the difference isn't nearly as pronounced as it should have been. The overture and title sequences, which feature still close-ups of various types of flowers, don't pop like I expected they would, and the images look only marginally better than those on the DVD. Once the story begins, however, the quality boost becomes more apparent. Costumes exude more lushness, fabrics - from chiffon, lace, and feathers to satin and furs - exhibit a higher degree of texture, background elements are easier to discern (the intricate wallpaper patterns in Higgins' home are strikingly sharp), and there's more depth to the picture. The blacks, whites, and grays that dominate the horseracing scene at Ascot stand out well, as does Eliza's peach outfit during the 'Show Me' number. A bit of grain is present, but only enough to temper the image, and close-ups, though sparingly employed, render fine facial details well.

Yet despite these positive attributes, there's an underlying drabness that saps vitality from the picture. Contrast remains maddeningly muted throughout most of the movie, lending many scenes a strange anaemic quality, and there's a haziness that often shrouds the left and right edges of the screen, almost as if a thin layer of gauze was applied. Factor in the smattering of faint marks, and there are just too many distracting issues occupying our eyes and taking us out of the story.

Because this appears to be the same transfer as the 2004 DVD, no edge enhancement or noise reduction seem to have been applied, and no banding, halos, or pixilation afflict the image. A little more care and this could have been a spectacular transfer that really would have wowed the fans of this genre. Instead, we have a decent effort that's certainly watchable, but a level or two below what this beloved film deserves. And that's a shame.

Blu-ray Audio Quality - The 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio track replaces the Dolby Digital 5.1 audio that graced the DVD, and the enhanced fidelity considerably perks up the film. Tones are bright and full, and though surround activity is largely limited to the musical numbers, there's some pronounced stereo separation up front that nicely widens the sound field. Dialogue is always clear, well prioritised, and easy to understand, and the instrumentals boast a wide dynamic range. The songs integrate well into the mix, with no drastic level shifts, and the distinct vocal timbres of the leads come through with gusto.

The track's main stumbling block occurs during the Ascot horserace sequence, one of the film's high points. Twice, a pack of thoroughbreds gallop by giving the subwoofer its only test. Unfortunately, it fails miserably. What should be a weighty, room-shaking event is marred by horrific distortion and ear-splitting breakup that ruin the scene's effect, and diminish the impact of Eliza's famous cheer of encouragement to one of the horses. Once again, 'My Fair Lady' generally sounds quite good, but it's tough to quash the nagging thought that the audio could have been a bit better. When compared to the 7.1 DTS-HD track that graces the 'West Side Story' disc, this one pales, and once again, that's a shame.

Blu-ray Special features and Extras:

Audio Commentary: This is an interesting but strangely dry commentary track by art director Gene Allen, restorers Robert A. Harris and James C. Katz, and vocalist Marni Nixon (whose remarks were recorded separately and edited in). The bulk of the remarks concentrate on the restoration, and the painstaking, expensive process of bringing the film back from the cinematic equivalent of the dead. The politics of film preservation is also discussed, as well as the differences between the old and new Hollywood's. Tucked into these topics are bits of trivia more conventional movie buffs will enjoy, such as the challenges posed by Harrison's primitive wireless microphone, and how Allen went all the way to London to choose wallpaper for the sets. Nixon appears only sporadically and talks about the audition process and how she was "sworn to secrecy" once she was selected to dub Hepburn's vocals. She also addresses the difficulties of matching Hepburn's vocal tones and Cockney accent in the songs, and points out the instances where Hepburn's own voice was used in the film. Despite some good exchanges, the tech-heavy track rarely captivates, and will only appeal to the film's fiercest fans.

Documentary: "More Loverly Than Ever: 'My Fair Lady' Then and Now" [58:00] This marvellous documentary chronicles the musical's evolution, transition from stage to screen, and meticulous restoration. Originally included on the film's 1994 VHS release and narrated by co-star Jeremy Brett, the in-depth examination seamlessly shifts between the history of the musical, production anecdotes, and the complicated technical process of rejuvenating 'My Fair Lady.' Before-and-after examples show the film's previous wretched state and wondrous makeover, proving once again the vital, urgent nature of film preservation and restoration. The documentary drops in plenty of interesting titbits, such as Rex Harrison's refusal to lip-sync to a recorded vocal track (he sang live instead), and how Audrey Hepburn performed to her own (ultimately unused) vocals, creating quite a dubbing challenge for Marni Nixon. We also learn about a breakdown of relations between director George Cukor and designer Cecil Beaton, and hear Julie Andrews' views on losing the role she created on Broadway.

Vintage Behind-the-Scenes Footage: "1963 Production Kick-off Dinner" [23:00] After some silent clips of the dinner itself, interviews with Hepburn, Harrison, and studio chief Jack Warner follow, as well as excerpts from a press conference. A radiant Hepburn discusses how she trusts her artistic instincts when choosing a role, while Harrison charmingly (if testily) defends what the interviewer cites as his "difficult behaviour" on the set of the then-forthcoming 'Cleopatra.' Both actors (as well as Warner) talk about the differences between making movies in Europe and Hollywood (a hot-button issue at the time), and how finances and schedules are easier to monitor and control in California. Some of the black-and-white footage is a bit scratchy and rough, some is out of sync at times, but it's a great historical document of a transitional period in Hollywood's history.

Vintage Audio: "George Cukor Directs Baroness Bina Rothschild" [3:00] A number of colour stills of Cukor directing various portions of the film run simultaneously with an audio clip of him working with Rothschild on the delivery of a single line. The rare excerpt provides a taste of Cukor's inimitable style.

Vintage Documentary: "The Fairest Fair Lady" [10:00] This entertaining studio-produced short hypes the film while examining various stages of its production, paying special attention to the extras and their gruelling makeup and costume routine (an entire Warner soundstage was reserved for this assembly-line procedure). Glimpses of the editor, cinematographer, and various members of the technical crew at work are also included.

Vintage Newsreel Footage: "Los Angeles Premiere 10/28/1964" [5:00] Newsreel cameras captured the glitz and glamour of the film's Los Angeles premiere, documenting the arrival of an impressive array of stars, including Rock Hudson, Maureen O'Hara, Angie Dickinson, Frank

Sinatra and Natalie Wood (who came as a couple), Dean Martin, Steve McQueen, Lucille Ball, Fred MacMurray, Donna Reed, and James Stewart.

Vintage Footage: "Rex Harrison Golden Globe Acceptance Speech" [1:00] A pre-recorded thank-you speech by the actor, who was unable to attend the ceremony due to film commitments in Europe.

Vintage Footage: "Academy Awards Ceremony Highlights 4/5/1965" [0: 30] A brief clip of studio chief Jack Warner accepting the Best Picture Oscar at the 37th Annual Academy Awards.

Alternate Audrey Hepburn Vocals [7:00] One of the most intriguing extras on the disc are full-length versions of the musical numbers 'Wouldn't It Be Loverly?' and 'Show Me' with Audrey Hepburn's original vocal tracks inserted. Watching Hepburn perform to her own vocals definitely validates the decision to dub her. While far from "bad," Hepburn's tracks reveal an untrained voice with lots of character, but without the range and power necessary for Lerner and Loewe's score. High notes are quite thin and shaky, while Hepburn's overall style is too similar to Harrison's for comfort.

Show Me Galleries [HD] Divided into five sections, these galleries include nine beautiful colour sketches, 70 black-and-white production stills (mostly costume tests), 52 colour production stills, and 40 documents and publicity artefacts, including clippings, media photos, and album and video covers. In addition, a brief radio interview with Harrison, in which he praises the production and his leading lady, accompanies a one-minute montage of posters and lobby cards from the film.

Interviews: "Comments on a Lady" [2:00] These are interview outtakes with director Martin Scorsese and composer Andrew Lloyd Webber from the "More Loverly Than Ever" documentary. Scorsese discusses film preservation and the establishment of the Film Foundation, while Webber recalls how illness forced Alan Jay Lerner to withdraw from their impending collaboration on 'The Phantom of the Opera' -- one of the great disappointments of Webber's career. Both clips run just over a minute.

Theatrical Trailers [9:00] Previews for both the initial release of 'My Fair Lady' (running five minutes!) and its 1994 restoration are included. Interestingly, the 1994 trailer was actually produced for the film's 1970 reissue and was never altered to mention the subsequent restoration.

Finally, 'My Fair Lady' received a massive makeover in 1994, but she could have been tweaked a bit for her Blu-ray debut. Though the video transfer improves definitely over the inferior DVD release, but some nagging deficiencies keep it from looking as loverly as it surely should in 1080p. The audio is also a step up, but falls short of the perfection Henry Higgins would have demanded. As a film, however, this classic tale of transformation remains a charmer, thanks to impeccable performances, a first-class score, and a production that's as sumptuous as any in Hollywood history. It's just a shame this Best Picture winner and recipient of eight Academy Awards didn't receive a splashier release worthy of its lofty pedigree. 'My Fair Lady' is crying out for a Collector's Edition or at the very least a glossy Limited Edition DigiBook, and deserves transfers that are as meticulous as its hero and as breath-taking as the title character. This Paramount release is fine enough to merit a recommendation, but sadly not a hearty one. Here's hoping someday Warner gets the rights back and produces the kind of ultimate Blu-ray edition befitting this very fair lady. Ever since I saw the original London Stage Production, which starred Dame Julie Andrews, I have loved My Fair Lady, and despite Dame Judy could not be in the film, Audrey Hepburn is a good compromise and of course now it has gone pride of place of my Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller - Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pygmalion, 12 April 2007
This review is from: My Fair Lady [DVD] (DVD)
My sister and myself are studying George Bernard Shaw's superb play Pygmalion for our upcoming English Literature exam and are both enjoying it. We thought we would watch My Fair Lady just out of interest and to see how the play does.The film does not do justice to Shaws view on womens rights, education and class differences but it is not ment to. It does however do justice to Shaws witty dialogue and excellent characters. Audrey Hepburn is superb as Eliza Doolittle, and so is Rex Harrison as the short tempered Henry Higgins(in spite of his awful singing but that also does justice to his character as Higgins is an unfeeling person).Great performances from Stanley Holloway, Wilfred Hyde-White, Jeremy Brett and Gladys Cooper who play their roles well. The songs also do justice to Shaw. Eliza singing Wouldnt It Be Luverly? reflects the ambition she feels, Alfred singing With A Little Bit O Luck shows his carefree amoral nature and Higgins singing I`m Just an Ordinary Man shows his cold nature all of which are evident in the play. The rest of the songs are also brilliant so are the costumes and sets.

This is not a fully accurate adaptation of the play but it is not meant to be; its just a fun, entertaining film.

Favourite songs are Wouldn't It Be Luverly, On The Street Where You Live and Get Me To The Church on Time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... bought this expecting the picture quality to be far superior to the dvd version, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Fair Lady [blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this expecting the picture quality to be far superior to the dvd version, but unfortunately it is not.
formost of the time picture quality was no better than the dvd one and for app. the last 30/40 minutes there is a
pronounced orange colour caste down the right hand side of the picture area
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Loverly, 15 July 2006
In case there's anyone considering purchasing this film who doesn't already have some idea of what it's about: it's about a poor flower-girl ("a prisoner of the gutters, condemned by every syllable she utters ... who should be taken and hung for the cold blooded murder of the English tongue") and how she was lurned to speak proper and behave like a lidy, by a rich gentleman who specialised in linguistics. The songs are clever and funny, the music is wonderful, the costumes are fabulous and the film is pure entertainment from beginning to end. I used to hate it when I was a child, because my mother loved it so much she tormented the whole family by playing he record over and over again. That was a long long time ago and when I came across this DVD it made me think about my mum (sorely missed), so I bought it and, to my astonishment, thoroughly enjoyed it - even Audrey Hepburn's appallingly dreadful imitation of a cockney accent. The music that had me grinding my teeth as a child, had me singing along (just as I remember my mother embarrassingly doing) as an adult. Thank goodness the film restoration boffs managed to rescue this film from oblivion. Modern technology has its uses. The picture quality is as fresh and bright as I remember when the film was new. It's a treasure. I recommend you add it to your horde.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest films ever made anywhere, 7 Jun 2007
"The rain in spain falls mainly on the plain" - so says Audrey Hepburn in this musical as Rex Harrison tries to get her to speak the right way.

Almost everything in My Fair Lady was done the right way and as one of the people who worked on the film said, the only mistake that was made creating it,was that Audrey didn't sing the songs herself - with her imperfect voice the singing by Eliza would have seemed more realistic .A musical that has perhaps only been equalled by The Sound Of Music for its overall quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Musical, 8 April 2003
This review is from: My Fair Lady [DVD] [1965] (DVD)
What can I say? The first time I was shown this film I was blown away. Rex Harrison and Audrey Hepburn are are absolutely perfect together in this charming, sweet musical. Rex Harrison is the misogynistic phonetics teacher who has a bet with a friend to turn the "draggle-tailed guttersnipe" flowergirl Audrey Hepburn into someone who could pass for a duchess at the Embassy Ball.
Watching Eliza's progress as she is taught to be a lady is a continual pleasure, as is watching the relationship between Higgins and his mother.
As always, Audrey's presence takes the breath away. Higgins' invective is clever and inventive, and watching him being slowly won over by the evolving Eliza is a delight to watch, time and time again. With witty songs, sweet comedy and a deeper message, this is a musical with a brain as well as a heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Fair Lady [blu-ray]
My Fair Lady [blu-ray] by George Cukor (Blu-ray)
£11.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews