Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2001
How many of us dream about Egypt and read romantic mystery novels such as Death on the Nile or more recently the excellent books by Elizabeth Peters about Amelia Peabody and her husband Radcliffe Emerson. Well this book is the real thing ! A very detailed travel account by a lady who actually traveled in a "Dahabeeyah" all the way up the Nile in the second half of the 19th century and describes sights and sounds in a way that never fails to stir the reader. The way Amelia Edwards traveled upon the Nile and what she describes are what in essence every true lover of Egypt dreams about. How lucky she was to have the time and the means for such an unforgettable journey and how kind of her to have shared it with us in such a perfect manner.
11 comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
...I have never felt compelled to write a review before, despite reading many excellent works and never having a problem with the Kindle, but I felt I had to warn others before they took this particular version of this work. The author manages to create what I felt was a really evocative picture of her trip up the Nile sometime in the late 1800's and I was frequently lost in that world imagining the antiquities she was describing. However, the formatting was completely poor. Footnotes were randomly inserted into the middle of paragraphs in the same size and font often disrupting the thread of the narrative and making it hard to pick up again. In addition, the reproductions of the drawings were randomly sized and spaced with some pages clearly photocopied into the format and others converted somehow. I was also disappointed to see on the final page that the copy from which they were taken had been removed from a public library!

There may be better formats and the narrative itself may be worth persisting with, but for the formatting alone this deserves zero stars (it got 2 because I was engaged with the narrative). Try out other versions before you invest.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2008
Whilst the original book is worthy of five stars the Trotamunda Press paperback edition published in 2008 is incomplete. The original has 22 chapters and ultimately takes Amelia to Abu Simbel and back to Cairo whereas this edition finishes at Chapter 13 and leaves her stranded at Philae. Neither the publishers information nor the Amazon web page mentions this truncation. A bit of a swizz.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2014
This is classic read for lovers of Egypt and its history - not only does it describe the temples and sites as they once where but also has wonderful insights into the Nile , its people and the flora and fauna of Egypt.

1st read this over 20 years ago while sailing the Nile from Cairo to Aswan - and my hard copy was purchased in Luxor - now this Kindle version will travel with me on the Nile in Jan 2015
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
This review also applies to Part 2

I have been to Egypt three times now and it is fascinating to read Amelia Edwards account of her extended visit along the Nile in 1873. So much is exactly the same as now. The heat and sand are just the same. The power and magnificence of the temples is exactly the same and the Hieroglyphs are still beautiful and eloquent. The persistance of the Egyptian trinket salesman is as tenacious as it was then. Not many donkey owners tout for custom now but that has been replaced by a scrabble of Taxi, Calouche and Felucca owners.
The main difference is that Thomas Cook had only recently started trips to Egypt so in 1873 there were very few tourists whereas now there are hoards of tour parties at the main sights.
The style is rather old fashioned and everything is described primly. The Rough Guide and Tripadvisor of it's day. I would have liked some pictures and I think some other reprints do have them.
In summary an absolutely essential read for anybody with an Interest in Egyptology.
Please note that the Trotamundas reprint is in two volumes, Part 1 and Part 2 so you will need them both.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2013
I read this book a long time ago and thought I'd like it on kindle so that I can dip into it whenever i like. I love the writing style and the amazing descriptions of people and places. A piece of real-life history of an almost vanished world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
I came to this book after coming across a reference to the author at the "Beyond Beauty" Egypt exhibition in London. It's a fascinating read, not least because of the time distance from which she is writing. She sees everything through very different eyes from ours. Egypt in her day was very unexplored and wild for European visitors so she and her party were pioneering down the Nile even before, for example, the source of the Nile had been discovered. Much of the Egyptian scholarship has changed since her day but bearing that in mind, it is still well worth a read for her acute observations. However, as regards this publication, I have many reservations. Firstly, there are no illustrations. Amelia Edwards was a keen water-colourist and she sketched and painted prolifically. Her drawings and paintings were turned into etchings for the original editions, but these have not appeared here and are a sad loss. You need pictures to reference what she says. Also, the typography is appallling! It seems the original book has been scanned into a computer and translated automatically into a font, but the whole book is absolutely full of errors, making it very difficult to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
Downloaded this onto Kindle to use for a class and very disappointed - hardly worth the trouble - very little content and the letter at the end, describing the 'find' at Abu Simbel was not complete, just the first page. Disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Having been to Egypt a few years ago, [Assad assassinated the previous year so Egypt was not crowded],and having read this book previously from the Berkshire library I was keen to reread the account,[not yet finished this Kindle edition---does it complete her trip?].
The book should be read by all intending visitors to the Egyptian temples and monuments if only to wonder at their present state of preservation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
An excellent and detailed picture of the Nile antiquities before the building of the High Dam. It's a pity that the etchings come out so small on a Kindle Fire HD but the narrative and factual detail is superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)