Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dangerous Talent
Alix London is an art restorer, whose father Geoff was recently in prison for forgery. This naturally causes Alix some embarrassment and she is hoping it doesn't stop her getting a new job when she goes to meet a collector who wants expert advice on a purchase. Chris LeMay is buying a painting for $2.9 million and wants Alix to check it is not a forgery. Her friend Liz...
Published on 5 April 2012 by S Riaz

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars everything works out
As i have said in my title everything works out,The book is well written just a little to off pat for my liking but a good read for all that, will easy pass a few hours of enjoyment so that can,t be bad
Published on 18 April 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Dangerous Talent, 5 April 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Alix London is an art restorer, whose father Geoff was recently in prison for forgery. This naturally causes Alix some embarrassment and she is hoping it doesn't stop her getting a new job when she goes to meet a collector who wants expert advice on a purchase. Chris LeMay is buying a painting for $2.9 million and wants Alix to check it is not a forgery. Her friend Liz Coane owns the gallery which is selling the painting and Alix accompanies Chris to give her opinion.

What follows is a fun mystery, with Alix a great character - slightly flawed, intelligent and capable. Chris is slightly outrageous and a good foil and there is some love interest with an FBI agent who is investigating the sale of expensive art forgeries to foreign buyers. This is a cosy mystery, there are bodies but nothing gruesome, and the art background gives the book a very interesting setting. I really enjoyed this and, as the end of the book suggested this is the first in a series, I would certainly read on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dangerously talented, 30 Mar 2012
By 
Michael Watson "skirrow22" (Halifax, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Again, a new author (well, two of them, actually) introducing to me Alix London, a hardworking but not very successful picture restorer who is just about making ends meet. Maybe her lack of success is down to a reprobate father who is a master forger who's done time for his pains thus alienating said daughter Alix..

However, events move on and Alix is asked to verify the authenticity of an expensive painting which her new friend Chris is planning to buy. This, as you might guess, causes not a little murder and mayhem.

I quite enjoyed this story, probably because the subject matter is of interest (not the fakes, I hasten to add). It's written in a sort of Sunday afternoon style, well crafted, clear English and a light-hearted approach to most of the content. This, however, does not prevent a body or two appearing and a determined attempt at solving why these people were killed off, especially as they each had something to do with the afore-mentioned painting.

Throw in an undercover FBI agent with fake art on his mind and perhaps a chance to get to know Alix as he pursues the forgers and you have a entertaining crime thriller with an arty-farty feel to it which gives the reader a lot of pleasure in the reading thereof. I believe this is a debut novel as far as Alix London is concerned so we should be seeing more of her as she develops her business and becomes friends with her dad after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars everything works out, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Talent (An Alix London Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
As i have said in my title everything works out,The book is well written just a little to off pat for my liking but a good read for all that, will easy pass a few hours of enjoyment so that can,t be bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasing and Plausible, 6 April 2012
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With so many `wham-bang' thrillers on the market it is gratifying to come across a crime novel embracing a well conceived plot that is rational and logical. `A Dangerous Talent' is written in an easy to read straightforward and flowing style at an even pace, with excellent dialogue between characters and with much humour. The intriguing context is artworld forgery and the genre is a combination of mystery, murder and `who dunnit' involving a number of clever twists. The main protagonist is engaging and there are credible relationships with all other characters throughout a narrative where any violence is limited to that necessary to the plot, nothing sexual is portrayed other than a romantic interest, and there is no foul language other than mild expletives. How refreshing! Furthermore `A Dangerous Talent' reaches a properly considered satisfying conclusion where there are no loose ends. An excellent 5-star read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mystery, forgery and murder., 31 Mar 2012
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I generally have an aversion to co-authored novels and hadn't noticed that this was written by a husband and wife team; it turned out, however to be a pleasantly engaging little murder-mystery.
Its very much an example of the mainstream mystery genre but with an art-world theme - the action quickly moves from Seattle to New Mexico's trendy Santa Fe gallery scene and the former art colony at Taos; the art stuff is pretty accurate and well researched. For most of the novel the reader is in the company of the central character Alix, a fledgling art consultant who is advising her new friend, employer and wealthy art collector Chris. With two women in the central roles this has something of a chick-lit feel to it, with a touch of romance thrown in for good measure.
The plot is absorbing and well paced, a little like a TV movie perhaps; there is no gratuitous violence or strong language, the writing style is easy and flowing. You'll work out the whodunit bit well before the end. The storyline is properly resolved and the door is wide open for a sequel - the authors are clearly old hands at this.

"A Dangerous Talent" was a very enjoyable if undemanding read, an excellent introduction to a new mystery series and an easy novel to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lame and unengaging, 11 April 2012
By 
R. A. Mansfield "bertieronbob" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The famous film reviewer Barry Norman once poured scorn on a person who claimed he must have the best job in the world.

'I have to sit right through every movie, regardless of how bad it is, because something brilliant might happen in the last 15 minutes if I left early, and I'd get slated' (or words to that effect).

Reading this book put me in mind of his scorn. When you're asked to review a book, not finishing it isn't an option because the author might his/her stride halfway and produce a brilliant twist that changes the entire book.

Sadly, A Dangerous Talent didn't pull that trick. It's essentially a thriller set in the art world, but it's about as thrilling as a roller coaster with no twists and turns.

The plot is limp, the characterisation is two dimensional and the story finishes almost before it gets started.

It put me in mind of a badly-written contemporary Miss Marple mystery, except that Jane Marple is now a 'sexy young art expert'.

Derivative and uninspiring - avoid :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 May 2012
By 
Sarah Lambert "Book addict" (Bournemouth) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed this book about Alix London, an art consultant in Seattle. She is struggling to further her career which is hampered by the fact that her father is a convicted art forger. She is asked by Chris, a novice art collector, to travel with her to Santa Fe to authenticate a newly discovered painting by Georgia O'Keefe. Unfortunately things do not go entirely to plan and she finds herself caught up in theft and murder. At first the FBI agent investigating isn't sure whether to trust Alix but she may have the expertise he needs to find the killer so they end up working together. This is a good read; I liked the characters and the art world setting is interesting, I will look out for the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining take on art forgery, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Penny Waugh "A reader" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have long been a fan of Aaron Elkins, but have not previously read any of the books he has co-authored with his wife. On the strength of this one I must admit to a preference for his solo efforts, but I did find this book entertaining, with characters who will I'm sure develop even more if (as) their series continues.
Alix London is an art consultant. Daughter of an artist jailed for forgery she is extremely bitter about him as she feels her career was blighted by his crimes. Given a chance to prove herself she jumps at it, and finds herself in the midst of murder in the 'arty' environment of Santa Fe. Initially she does not come over as a particularly likeable person, and neither does her counterpart, FBI art investigator Ted Ellesworth, but in the end they thawed towards each other and to me. Other characters; Alix's father Geoff, her friend Chris and others are well drawn. The background of Seattle and Santa Fe is interesting and the art history fascinating.
This is certainly not a fast paced thriller, though an attempt at assassination by pickup truck and truck-trailer on a hazardous road is edge of the seat stuff. There are murders and other attempted murders but somehow these do not take centre stage. The villain was not that hard to spot.
There was rather more about clothes and food than could hold my interest but as a romantic mystery it entertained and made me want to know more about the adventures of Alix and Ted.
Have to admit I still prefer the rather harder-edged tales of Gideon Oliver but this book is enjoyable and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Dangerous Talent (An Alix London Mystery) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read, well plotted and Alix London is an interesting character. The dangerous talent is her ability to distinguish between genuine paintings and forgeries and takes her back into a world not entirely unknown to her since her father was himself a forger, which she wishes to forget. Hopefully there will be further Alix London mysteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London Calling, 27 May 2012
By 
Rotgut "rotgut" (Warrington UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Mystery thriller set in the world of fine art crime.

This is a breezy read,250 pages fly by easily. Perhaps a few more genuine suspects for the crimes depicted might have featured; Fairly early on anyone who has read more than one or two detective stories will have worked out the guilty parties. Not revealing Ted Ellesworth's true motivations quite so early on (page 39) might also have engendered some suspense.

However, most importantly, the authors have a happy knack of making their characters likeable and engaging, even those that appear relatively briefly. So Henry Merriam, who only features in the short prologue is someone the reader cares about. This is important in making the following story something the reader cares about too.

Our heroine, Alix London, has a strong history and motivations, she is a expert in art forgery and her expertise is used in an interesting way in this murder-mystery tale. Some of the explanations of the preceding events are slightly weak but these are dealt with pretty quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaa70498)

This product

Only search this product's reviews