Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings and whats on the CDs Papa's Got a Brand New Bag
This is four CD set containing a five albums plus a lot of extras including live tracks.

The five albums are
Please Please Please,
Try Me,
Think,
The Amazing James Brown and
James Brown Presents His Band.

I wanted to know what's on the CDs but Amazon do not list them so I hope this is of use to people thinking of buying...
Published on 19 May 2012 by Glenn Cook

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content is good - if you get the correct content.
I received this 4CD James Brown set in sealed condition. The 4th disc in the set has the correct James Brown information printed on it, but the music is actually a compilation of Jazz musician Bix Beiderbecke. This is obviously a manufacturing defect which must have happened to a whole batch, not just my set. Watch out and check straight away upon receiving your order.
Published 1 month ago by Yemsky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Track Listings and whats on the CDs Papa's Got a Brand New Bag, 19 May 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown (Audio CD)
This is four CD set containing a five albums plus a lot of extras including live tracks.

The five albums are
Please Please Please,
Try Me,
Think,
The Amazing James Brown and
James Brown Presents His Band.

I wanted to know what's on the CDs but Amazon do not list them so I hope this is of use to people thinking of buying the set.
If you see any mistakes or typos just add a comment and I will correct it.

This is the track Listing

- Disc 1 -
1 Please Please Please -
2 Chonnie-On-Chon -
3 Hold My Baby's Hand -
4 I Feel That Old Feeling Coming On -
5 Just Won't Do Right -
6 Baby Cries Over the Ocean -
7 I Don't Know -
8 Tell Me What I Did Wrong -
9 Try Me -
10 That Dood It -
11 Begging, Begging -
12 I Walked Alone -
13 No, No, No, No -
14 That's When I Lost My Heart -
15 Let's Make It -
16 Love or a Gane -
17 There Must Be a Reason -
18 Strange Things Happen -
19 Messing With the Blues -
20 Why Do You Do Me -
21 I've Got To Cry -
22 Fine Old Foxy Self -
23 I Want You So Bad -
24 It Was You -
25 I've Got To Change -
26 Can't Be the Same -
27 It Hurts To Tell You -
28 I Won't Plead No More -
29 You're Mine, You're Mine -
30 Gonna Try -
31 Don't Let It Happen To Me -
- Disc 2 -
1 Think -
2 Good Good Lovin' -
3 Wonder When You're Coming Home -
4 I'll Go Crazy -
5 This Old Heart -
6 I Know It's True -
7 You've Got the Power -
8 If You Want Me -
9 Baby, You're Right -
10 So Long -
11 Just You and Me Darling -
12 I Love You, Yes I Do -
13 I Don't Mind -
14 Come Over Here -
15 The Bells -
16 Love Don't Love Nobody -
17 Dancin' Little Thing -
18 Lost Someone -
19 And I Do Just What I Want -
20 You Don't Have To Go -
21 Tell Me What You're Gonna Do -
- Disc 3 -
1 Hold It -
2 The Scratch -
3 Night Train -
4 Night Flying -
5 Suds -
6 Cross Firing -
7 Sticky -
8 Mashed Potatoes, Pt. 1 -
9 Mashed Potatoes, Pt. 2 -
10 Dish Rag, Pt. 1 -
11 Dish Rag, Pt. 2 -
12 Hot Chilli -
13 Wobble Wobble, Pt. 1 -
14 Wobble Wobble, Pt. 2 -
15 Loo Key Doo Key, Pt. 1 -
16 Loo Key Doo Key, Pt. 2 -
17 Slow Down -
18 Papa's Got a Brand New Bag/I Got You (I Feel Good)/Prisoner of Love -
19 It's a Man's Man's Man's World -
- Disc 4 -
1 Hot Pants -
2 Gep Up (I Feel Like a) Sex Machine -
3 Cold Sweat -
4 Try Me -
5 Please Please Please -
6 Say It Loud -
7 Super Bad -
8 Get On the Good Foot/Soul Power/Make It Funky -
9 Cold Sweat -
10 Papa's Got a Brand New Bag -
11 Payback -
12 Damn Right I Am Somebody -
13 Papa Don't Take No Mess -
14 My Thang -
15 Hell -
16 I Got You (I Feel Good) -
17 Bewildered -
18 I'll Never Never -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Content is good - if you get the correct content., 14 Jun 2014
By 
Yemsky (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown (Audio CD)
I received this 4CD James Brown set in sealed condition. The 4th disc in the set has the correct James Brown information printed on it, but the music is actually a compilation of Jazz musician Bix Beiderbecke. This is obviously a manufacturing defect which must have happened to a whole batch, not just my set. Watch out and check straight away upon receiving your order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars PAPA'S PRE-LOVED BAG, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown (Audio CD)
Soul brother #1...Godfather of funk...most sampled artist...JB's career was much longer than that,seeing Elvis,the Beatles and Motown come and go.His entry in this artist series of 4CD "pub-dom" material is heavy on the tracks he and his well drilled band posted on the way to legendary status as the most dynamic and theatrical exponents of the 50's R&B revue format.Danceability was already a key element of the JB oeuvre,and with instrumental records enjoying regular chart placings it was no surprise the Brown band would hit in their own right.In the U.K.only a few non-promoted singles slipped out,nevertheless many of the tracks featured here went on to become faves with mod clubbers/bands.
If you like this period JB and don't have the "Roots of a revolution" CD this is a good value-for-money entry (with a few rarities)but it could have been better.This series has a high standard but we are still talking budget level costings.Even so,trouble is being courted with a strapline "Digitally remastered and enhanced for superior quality" when one of the tracks sounds like it was recorded off the P.A.at a national autogiro meet.This we could accept if a genuine rarity...like a duet with Spiro Agnew on "Gone Fishin'" or some such...but the track is "Dancin' little thing",available in clear mono on several CD's yet virtually unlistenable here.Keeping costs down can never validate not even bothering to check the masters before pressing !
This release was delayed several times...maybe to effect clearance on the early 70's mono tracks from TV's Soul Train appearances.Without the visuals these are just artefacts...if you wanna hear these toons they're all done better elsewhere...but why are they on here anyway when the 1962 copyright cut off allowed inclusion of the first legendary Live at the Apollo LP ? This was JB's chitlin' ceiling breakthrough and the natural tenant for the fourth CD...and even the breakthrough US top 20 hit "Prisoner of love" appears only as a medley segment from a much later Ed Sullivan show...and finally chaps,if you run to a second pressing how about slipping in a relevant process/mohair suit cover shot? The topless zip-up catsuit does not dovetail with most of this great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown (Audio CD)
Great albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars too much, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown (Audio CD)
at first glance, it's ok, the Federal singles and...but look again: many instrumental tracks factor in, which this dedicated JB fan (from 1966) has never heard.

look again (again): Ed Sullivan appearances plus Soul Train stuff from the '70s. on the latter, enjoy the Fred Wesley led JBs backing up a fired up superstar, going deep on oldies and newies, never once letting the temperature drop - but put the kids to bed (he means business).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill, 8 Mar 2014
By 
snow white (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown (Audio CD)
I heard the song on an advert and didn't know it was James brown, so good to hear this cd, am nit someone who knows a lot about his music and this is a great cd to start off with, beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown
5 Classics Albums [Audio CD] James Brown by James Brown (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews