Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (162)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRACULA GETS A REVAMP
I'd heard negative reviews about this being nowhere near as funny as many other anmimations and i really don't know why,it's very impressive.
A great idea with Dracula being an overprotective father of his daughter who's just turned 118 (a gag i found amusing). She hoping for her 118th birthday her dad will let her out of the monster hotel just to see what humans are...
Published 17 months ago by BAZ316

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best
This film failed to ignite my interest to the extent that I wanted. I'd seen the trailer a few times and as this was in the early year sale I decided to go for it. Overall it's quite a fun film, but it feels rushed and doesn't offer the fun and plot that I really wanted. Some of the vocal acting, particularly that of Adam Sandler's Dracula and Andy Samberg as the young...
Published 1 month ago by John Ayton


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRACULA GETS A REVAMP, 31 Oct 2012
I'd heard negative reviews about this being nowhere near as funny as many other anmimations and i really don't know why,it's very impressive.
A great idea with Dracula being an overprotective father of his daughter who's just turned 118 (a gag i found amusing). She hoping for her 118th birthday her dad will let her out of the monster hotel just to see what humans are really like.
Along comes a young explorer who falls for her and she for him. He at first assumes this some some kind of fancy dress party,but soon learns the truth. Then it's up to Dracula to keep the explorer a secret and so he becomes a descendant of frankenstein's monster in order to stay there without being slaughtered. The truth about Dracula and his daughter,wife and trouble with the humans is soon revealed. There's a lot of very funny stuff and makes some good points,giving great messages about life and differences in people's attitudes. And the way it handles young love is all very touching,with animation to adore and great voice overs. I honestly can't see why this is considered a bad movie,it's funny,it looks nice,it's got a great plot and makes some good points. And of course,Dracula becomes cool again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Pleasant Surprise, 18 Jan 2013
I took my son to see this (he is six) and we both loved it. I honestly expected it to be a 'more of the same' in the field of animated children's films - mildly funny, great animation but on the whole nothing much to shout about. Actually, as well as being funny, it was unexpectedly sweet and uplifting. One of those animated films that appeals to boys as much as girls which is a real plus. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gosh, I love animated movies and I need to say that Hotel Transylvania does not disappoint! One of the best releases of 2012 :-) Honestly feel good movie! Get a copy - will definitely make you laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hotel bonkers!, 13 Feb 2013
Boy did I get a slap round the face with this one, i read some quite negative reviews about this film but god only knows what miserable sods were watching it, what can I say from start to finish it is absolutely mad. Dont let the fact that its Adam Sandler worry you its the funniest thing he's ever done and if your watching in 3d your in for a treat coz it looks great, so go on treat the kids and yourself you von't regret it blah bla blah bla blah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected delight., 12 Mar 2014
By 
I would highly recommend this film to all ages, as an adult I was engrossed in "Hotel Transylvania" and found the humour great! The film is ironic and sarcastic and full of quirky jokes! Not to mention that Genndy Tartakovsky's animation is a treat! Embrace your inner monsters, you are in for a delightful ride!

The film "stars" Adam Sandler as Dracula, a loving father who spends his life trying to protect his young daughter, Mavis, from the cruel world of people. With his young daughter coming of age (she hits 118!), Dracula is about to host a party of a lifetime. And here comes a party crasher Jonathan, voiced by hilarious Andy Samberg, a dude and lone traveller who accidentally ends up at the hotel and (you saw it coming) falls in love with Mavis.

All in all, "Hotel Transylvania" has the definite trademark of Adam Sandler and his posse, but it is also a sweet and kind-hearted family film. Especially for the horror loving family. Five stars - no hesitation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Half Term Happiness, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for DD's, they absolutely loved this film, watched over and over again so much that they now do whole scenes, with accents to amuse theirselves! especially at mealtimes! Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hotel transylvania, 12 May 2013
absolutely fang-tastic! the kids love it and its an animation even older family members can never tire of watching. the voices match the characters perfectly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The whole family loves this film, such a funny film to watch. Would advice this film to everyone, love love love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good one for the kids and I loved the music score. FIrst saw it at Halloween and the kids have been wanting it ever since. Doesn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it - excellent family fun!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a good film. One for all the family to enjoy together. Some great comedy moments. Big thumbs up from us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad556e58)

This product

Hotel Transylvania (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012]
Hotel Transylvania (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [2012] by Genndy Tartakovsky (Blu-ray - 2013)
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews