Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (166)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the proper version!!
After reading other reviews slating this film for a less exciting ending and having missing songs.... please read up on the history of this musical. It is a stage production and this Disney version stays very true to the stage musical and score. There are still omissions, in particular the Herbert Hoover song by the homeless people and also the Tomorrow song in the White...
Published on 15 Nov 2008 by Honeypie

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of money but not much love
NB: As is their wont, Amazon have unhelpfully lumped all the reviews for different versions of this film together. This review refers to the John Huston-Aileen Quinn version.

Annie is watchable enough, but despite the lavish budget - not always apparent onscreen - it never hits the highs. More solid than inspired, and typically anonymous for a later John Huston...
Published on 17 May 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the proper version!!, 15 Nov 2008
This review is from: Annie [DVD] (DVD)
After reading other reviews slating this film for a less exciting ending and having missing songs.... please read up on the history of this musical. It is a stage production and this Disney version stays very true to the stage musical and score. There are still omissions, in particular the Herbert Hoover song by the homeless people and also the Tomorrow song in the White House. But in the main it is a much more realistic adaptation than the Aileen Quinn 1981 film which just changed huge chunks and added songs (like the hideous Let's Go to the Movies sequence instead of the much more captivating NYC). How anyone can prefer the 1981 version is beyond me, the characters of Annie, Grace and Warbucks are so much more likeable in this one and Kathy Bates is believable as Miss Hannigan (although I do feel that Carol Burnett's MH was the saving grace of the 1981 film). Where Grace sings Tomorrow to Annie to comfort her after her "parents" have turned up for her is extremely touching and it is easy to engage with the characters. Definitely give this movie a try, it is lovely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot of money but not much love, 17 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
NB: As is their wont, Amazon have unhelpfully lumped all the reviews for different versions of this film together. This review refers to the John Huston-Aileen Quinn version.

Annie is watchable enough, but despite the lavish budget - not always apparent onscreen - it never hits the highs. More solid than inspired, and typically anonymous for a later John Huston film, Arlene Sellers characteristically derivative and unimaginative choreography is a problem: all too often at cross-purposes with the plot, the dancers manage to make it look better than it is, but that's not really the idea. Much of the cast are wasted and a couple of the songs thrown away, but at least it's not a disaster of Chorus Line proportions.

The original Region 2 PAL DVD only offered an isolated score (music only), still gallery; filmographies and theatrical trailer as extras, while the subsequent anniversary edition includes a 12-minute interview with Aileen Quinn, music video for Play's version of It's a Hard Knock Life and the trailer. Both have a decent but not outstanding 2.35:1 widescreen transfer. Sony's region-free Blu-ray offers a less than stellar transfer that doesn't look much of an improvement over an upscaled DVD with the same extras as the anniversary edition as well as three TV spots, the full trailer and a teaser trailer that includes much behind the scenes footage, though not the original TV making of documentary from the film's release that included, among other things, footage of an alternate version of Easy Street to the one used in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Much More Like The Show, 24 Sep 2003
This review is from: Annie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
For anyone who's been in or seen the stage version of this show you'll really appreciate this production. Directed by Rob Marshall (also responsible for Chicago) it is a much better representation of the original show than the 1981 film. Songs like "Something was missing" and "NYC" have been included plus the song "Tomorrow" has been put back in the right place which makes much more sense. There is also a special guest appearance from Andrea McArdle who played the original Annie on Broadway. Speaking of the lead, the girl who plays it is very impressive as is alot of the choreography. Yeah, it gets a bit Disney at times and has a rather strange ending, but after all it is a kids film and my 6 year old cousin was gripped, amused and walking around for a week saying "i love you miss hannigan".
Overall i prefer it to the original as it captures the sense of the show much better and cuts out alot of the Hollywood rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Childhood, 6 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Annie [VHS] [1982] (VHS Tape)
Annie was a film that I had enjoyed right throughout my young years, to the extent that I had worn out three VHS tapes of the show. I love this film to to this day and always felt it emanated a feeling of warmth and security into a childs heart, with the unknowing contrast of a child who is comfortable in a well off society to that of the lives of little Annie, Molly and Duffy. This production allowed me as a child to see the poorer side of life, not in a frightened manner but one which could be filled with ones own happiness.
A truly delightful film for all to watch, it touched my heart then and continues to. The songs are great too, my favorite being Maybe, the thoughts of an orphans dream of meeting her parents. I love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok, so it's not set at Christmas, but we can overlook that!, 11 Nov 2005
By 
With songs such as Hard Knock Life, You're Never Fully Dressed (without a smile) and Let's Go to the Movies, 'Annie' is sure to put a smile on your face. The story is well known... little orphan Annie is living in a 1920's orphanage in New York, run by the drunken tyrant Miss Hannigan. Local millionaire Oliver Warbucks invites an orphan to stay at his mansion for a week as a humanitarian gesture (in other words to get good publicity) and yes, our friend Annie is the lucky thing that stays there and proceeds to win his heart. However Annie's heart lies with finding her real parents, which prompts Miss Hannigan and her brother Rooster into forming a dastardly plan which is set to tear Annie and Daddy Warbucks apart...

This is an uplifting and heart-warming film which should delight children and adults alike. A worthy addition to any DVD collection, should this kind of film be your cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the early 80's version (by a mile), 22 Feb 2009
By 
D. Glancy "lelsell" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Annie [DVD] (DVD)
Totally superior to the bloated, hammy (Tim Curry/Albert Finney!)1981 version.

It has better casting, singing, acting, choreography, storytelling, sets.

The 1981 version pales in comparison
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film, great for budding actors/actresses !, 20 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Annie [VHS] [1982] (VHS Tape)
This has been my most favourite film ever since I first watched it at the age of about four. It's great for children and adults and I can guarantee you will soon be humming along to the tunes! Most suited to children from the ages of 4-10. Don't delay buy this video today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US Blu-ray Review...Same as UK release, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Annie - 30th Anniversary Sing-Along Edition (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1982] (Blu-ray)
As my title suggests this is a review of the US Import Blu-ray release.
First, and most importantly, for UK buyers....this disc is REGION FREE!!! The back of the box states this and my region-locked player plays it fine.
There are lots of review for the actual film, so in this review I'm only going to focus on the blu-ray release.

The biggest question: Is this worth replacing on Blu-ray. Answer: A resounding YES!!
The picture on the DVD is pretty bad, and, while the image on the blu-ray isn't perfect it's a dramatic leap up from the DVD.
Overall, if you're a fan this is a must-own and I'm very please I bought it.

You're probably wondering why I'm reviewing an American release on the UK profile...well, it's because they're the same. This disc has been out in the States for a while and it worked out £3 cheaper than buying the UK release later this month. The ONLY benefit to buying the UK version is the Digital Copy and, as I didn't care about that, I bought the US version.

Technical specs:
2.40.1 Widescreen.
Audio: English DTS-HD Master 5.1, Italian Dolby Digital 4.0, Japanese DD 5.1, and the following in Dolby Digital Stereo German, Spanish, French
Subtitles: Arabic, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Spanish, Swedith, Turkish.
Extras: Sing Along, Featurette with Aileen Quinn, Digital Copy (only availble to US), Music Video, Trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good and very different from the earlier version., 8 May 2001
This review is from: Annie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
When I bought this video I was expecting a replica of the 1981 Annie film, only different cast. Instead I found it's completely different! It's got some great new songs, but it's missing some great old ones, and they're all in a very different order. It's a lot shorter and the ending is completely different and not as exciting. Some old characters are missing too (Punjab, for example) and you don't find out which orphan is which! I think some members of the new cast are better than the old one, and others aren't. Alicia Morton (Annie) and the other orphans are very good singers, and it's very well acted by everyone. I don't think this film is quite as good as the old one, but it's still brilliant and I'd definitely buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best way to watch Annie on DVD, 19 Jan 2010
By 
Bradley Olson (Bemidji, MN United States) - See all my reviews
As Annie is a huge widescreen spectacle and that the Anniversary Edition of the movie sold in Region 1 in the US is pan and scanned, this is the way to actually watch the movie the way it was made, and all of the special features on the R1 DVD are intact. For the widescreen on a Region 1 DVD, you have to get the DVD that was issued in 2000 with the widescreen on one side and the pan and scan on the other side. Not only is the movie itself well remastered, the special features are actually worth watching, the documentary with Aileen reminiscing on what it was like to star in Annie being the best of the special features and one will actually learn that there were 2 dogs that starred as Sandy in the movie by watching the documentary, one that walks alongside Annie and one for the stunts, and for the fact that although most people's favorite song from the movie is "Tomorrow," her actual favorite is "Maybe." The cast was assembled perfectly, including Carol Burnett as Miss Hannigan and Albert Finney as Daddy Warbucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Annie - 30th Anniversary Sing-Along Edition (Blu-ray + UV Copy) [1982]
£7.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews