Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (152)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great Blu
Great film, as you would expect from Aardman. One thing I couldn't work out from other reviews or get anywhere on the net was if the 2D version of the film was on the disc. Well I ordered it anyway, and it does included 2D and 3D versions of the film. Also has an Ultraviolet copy, a code for movieextras, a code for LBP costumes which is something I think Sony should be...
Published 22 months ago by DanB

versus
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing rather than hilarious
There is a good idea at the heart of the plot of this movie. A not very successful pirate gets the chance to get one up on his more successful rivals by winning the annual scientific prize at the prestigious London Royal society as it turns out his companion parrot is actually a dodo, thought to have been extinct for years. However I thought there weren't enough laughs...
Published on 26 April 2012 by haunted


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, great Blu, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film, as you would expect from Aardman. One thing I couldn't work out from other reviews or get anywhere on the net was if the 2D version of the film was on the disc. Well I ordered it anyway, and it does included 2D and 3D versions of the film. Also has an Ultraviolet copy, a code for movieextras, a code for LBP costumes which is something I think Sony should be doing more in their releases. PS3 and Vita extras included with films is a great idea.
Considering the price of these disc in supermarkets now 22 if it has 3D written anywhere near it! this is a good price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it (but too subtle for some), 29 April 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed this film and will get the DVD or Bluray as soon as it is available. I can understand that some did not like it, and apparently some found it "boring". I can only assume that the Aardman style humour went over their heads some of the time. There were a few places where everyone around me at the cinema was silent while I found myself laughing at one joke after another. Many are subtle, some just visual, and there are some musical. It's a very good movie in my opinion. One could watch it several times and not find everything that the creators have put in there to entertain us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic fun, 7 July 2012
By 
Thursday Week (Bruton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My 4 year old son and I saw this film, and the both of us were completely entranced thoughout. The animation is fantastic, the story is brilliant, but not too complicated for children to enjoy. I was not a Hugh Grant fan, until now - his performance was glorious. As an adult you will spend 50% of your time working out who provided the voices and the other 50% trying to read the poster/graffiti on the walls of the background - its worth watching it twice just to do justice to both tasks.

An essential purchase for Shaun the Sheep fans wether they be adult or child!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Where your treasure is, there will your heart be also", 14 April 2012
I have seen this film 4 times at the cinema now. As an Aardman fan I desperately wanted to like it and wasn't quite sure how good it was the first time I saw it, but it is so packed with detail, ideas and striking images that I believe it repays repeated viewing. Obviously there is a problematic aspect to this though, which is that most cinema-goers will only go and see it once.

Perhaps for some people the film is not what they were expecting from a pirate adventure - these pirates are not exactly the swashbuckling, ruthless outlaws of popular fiction, although anyone who has read Gideon Defoe's books on which the film is based will have more idea what to expect. Also, as with "Wallace and Gromit in the Curse of the Were-Rabbit", the emotional core of the film is not so much in the plot, but rather in the relationships between the different characters.

Underlying the action of the film are moral messages, only subtly expressed - the middle of the film turns around "the danger of people only liking you because you're famous" (as Gideon Defoe puts it in his children's book version of the film). Ultimately, though, the mood of the film is more positive than this, the characters' actions and their consequences elevating romantic love above the love of money, and placing the value of true friendship above both of these. And I think that's beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining, 8 Sep 2012
Saw it at the cinema. Took the kids and we all enjoyed it. Children will enjoy it and there's subtle jokes in it for adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amusing rather than hilarious, 26 April 2012
By 
There is a good idea at the heart of the plot of this movie. A not very successful pirate gets the chance to get one up on his more successful rivals by winning the annual scientific prize at the prestigious London Royal society as it turns out his companion parrot is actually a dodo, thought to have been extinct for years. However I thought there weren't enough laughs through the movie to make it really entertaining.

The appearance of historical characters such as Queen Victoria and Charles Darwin is interesting, especially since they are both central to the plot and given unexpectedly colourful personalities.

While the movie is presumably aimed at kids there are certainly some things put in the script that are aimed at amusing adults, such as the movie title and the names of the pirate crew, e.g. Pirate with Scarf and Pirate with Gout!

The animation is excellent and the voices enthusiastically supplied by the likes of Hugh Grant, Martin Freeman and Brendan Gleeson adds greatly to the enjoyment of the viewer.

Kids will probably love it (especially pirate loving ones!) and there is enough in it for adults to put a smile on their faces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars saw in 3d and will buy as a result, 21 Aug 2012
I took my 4 year old to see this in 3d. Reading the plot I did wonder if my son would understand it but the story line is not over complicated for a child of his age. He loved all the different pirate characters and disliked the queen. He an i did laugh through out. Contains lots of celebritys, who are each well suited to their characters. I saw it in 3d although I cant see this making a huge difference to the film when watching it at home in 2d. I will be pre-ordering as my son is looking forward to watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists! [2012] [3D Blu-ray + UV Copy], 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists! [2012] [3D Blu-ray + UV Copy] BURSTING WITH FUN AND PACKED BURSTING WITH GAGS!

Set sail for a fun-filled voyage and hilarious pirate antics with the biggest Band of Misfits on the seven seas! When the infamous Pirate Captain [Hugh Grant] is shunned once again by his rivals Black Bellamy and Cutlass Liz, he sets his sights to win the coveted Pirate of the Year Award! With his trusted dodo, Polly and rag-tag crew at his side, the Pirate Captain will need to battle a diabolical queen, save a young scientist and never lose sight of what a pirate loves best: Adventure!

Voice Cast: Hugh Grant, Martin Freeman, Imelda Staunton, David Tennant, Jeremy Piven, Salma Hayek, Lenny Henry, Brian Blessed, Russell Tovey, Anton Yelchin, Brendan Gleeson, Ashley Jensen, Ben Whitehead, Al Roker, Mike Cooper, David Schneider and Mitchell Mullen

Directors: Peter Lord and Jeff Newitt (co-director)

Producers: David Sproxton, Julie Lockhart and Peter Lord

Composer: Theodore Shapiro

Cinematography: Frank Passingham

Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 2.35:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio and English Audio Decription Service

Subtitles: English, English SDH and Hindi

Running Time: 88 minutes

Region: All Regions

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Sony Pictures Home Entertainment / Aardman Animations

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – The rowdy, boisterous buccaneers of ' The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists!’ are the most civil and considerate bunch you'll ever meet. This cheerful crew of scallywags is an inexperienced ragtag group who really love Ham Night and don't quite possess the imagination for creating fearsome names for one another. The Albino Pirate [Anton Yelchin] and Pirate with Gout [Brendan Gleeson] are more like oddities than terrifying plunderers while Surprisingly Curvaceous Pirate [Ashley Jensen] works hard at remaining a mystery to others. The Pirate with a Scarf [Martin Freeman] is the loyal second in command with a very nice scarf indeed. About the most violent thing you'll ever see from them is a disagreement over the best part about pirating: the cutlasses or the looting.

They're a nave but absolutely lovable lot who think the world of their captain, the conveniently named Pirate Captain voiced with splendid charm by Hugh Grant], and always emotionally supportive when he's feeling low, which is apparently often. Rubbing his self-esteem the wrong way lately is the annual "Pirate of the Year" competition, which he's been coveting for probably over twenty years but always failed to win. His opponents are a frightful trio of outlaws, which includes, Black Bellamy [Jeremy Piven], Cutlass Liz [Salma Hayek] and Peg-Leg Hastings [Lenny Henry] who are far better in the fine arts of pirating than the poor Captain's entire crew. They even possess a flair for elaborate entrances with some of the most dramatic use of slow-motion we've in some time.

Our affable band of sea dogs may not be endowed with similar talents for theatricality, and even less for looting other ships roaming the Atlantic, but that's precisely what we like about them. Based on the first two books in The Pirates! adventure series by Gideon Defoe, who also adapted them for the big screen, these merry men of luxuriant beard admirers are a motley troop of outsiders amongst a multitude of outsiders. Their captain is the idealist, hopeful but generally misunderstood sort, a rather popular character type in many animated films of late, and dreams of being remembered as the greatest pirate that ever roamed the seas. To prove he has what it takes, his crew stumbles upon a chance meeting of Charles Darwin [David Tennant] and his amusingly clever "man-panzee." When Darwin explains the slightly-overweight, big-boned parrot Polly is in fact the last living dodo on the planet, the captain sees the opportunity for untold riches which would make him a shoe-in at the Pirate competition.

This is an underdog story of a different sort, a familiar tale told in another manner, seen it all before yet completely new and fresh. It's with pirates after all! We've never seen that now, have we? The ending is as clear as the edge of the horizon in sunset, but the voyage getting there is an absolute riot, pushed along with many misadventures involving a terrifically comical contest of scientists and a bathtub slide down several flights of stairs. There also the usual hard lessons learned for the little tykes, such as companionship, being part of a crew of pillages and plunderers, loving your inner pirate and realizing the sea-faring life is a joy all unto itself. Along the way, the Captain and his crew cross swords and exchange some very hurtful words with a scarily furious Queen Victoria [Imelda Staunton], who doesn't hide her discrimination of pirates in the least.

‘The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists!' is set afloat by the fine artists at Aardman Animation, the same team best known for their stop-motion clay animation techniques, particularly those featuring Plasticine characters like Wallace and Gromit and the fantastic poultry adventure 'Chicken Run' which I cannot understand why they don’t release this brilliant animation on Blu-ray disc. Partnering with Sony Pictures Animation, the British studio brings their signature stop-motion clay animation style with remarkably striking detail, arresting the imagination with every character's fluid movement and a distinct uniqueness in each of their attire. Director and co-founder of Aardman Animation Peter Lord keeps the wit and humour high at all times, maintaining the frame as just the right distance for us see the emotional expressions on characters' face while also taking in the tiniest feature in the background. The animated screwball comedy is probably the best swashbuckling journey through science and history we've ever seen. To paraphrase one of the mates, this is the most educational pirating adventure yet.

Blu-ray Video Quality – 'The Pirates!' hoist the sails and set a course for 3D Blu-ray with a splendid 1080p encoded image that will mesmerise the eyes but not exactly enchant the imagination. The most impressive aspect of the image is a natural sense of depth throughout due largely to the style of the stop-motion animation. Several shots, generally those in daylight exteriors on the deck of the ship, display the foreground with clean separation, creating a believable three-dimensional space for the characters to move around in. Objects in the far distance penetrate deep into the background while several gimmick effects extend beyond the limits of the screen at the faces of viewers, especially the pirate flag with the springy eyes. Sadly, the 3D illusion isn't always consistent or that entirely immersive, not really adding much to the film's enjoyment. Several scenes are noticeably flatter than others, but for a majority of the time, dimensionality is impressively entertaining.

Presented in its original 2.35:1 aspect ratio, the picture displays flawless, spot-on contrast and clean, crisp whites, revealing remarkable razor-sharp clarity into the far distance. Black levels are inky rich and intense with precise gradational details throughout, from Black Bellamy's beard to the night skies with a full moon in the background. Low-lit interiors also show deep, dark shadows permeating the screen and adding a terrific three-dimensional feel to the video. The colour palette leans more towards the softer pastel hues, and they're rendered beautifully with bold warmth and a bright glow. Primaries also remain accurate and energetic from beginning to end.

The talented blacksmiths at Aardman Animations have also supplied this animated vessel with striking details in every frame. Whether we're looking at the elaborate clothing of the pirates or the staring at each line in their glorious beards, the high-definition transfer exhibits stunning definition. The tiniest buildings on the tropical hills of Blood Island are as clear as those in those in the foreground. We can make out every individual brick, stone and store-sign amid the foggy streets of London. Inside Pirate Captain's quarters, each picture hanging on the filthy walls is visible while every stain, smudge and splotch smeared over the wooden planks making up the room as well as the ship is distinct and distinguishable. In the end, 'The Pirates!' is a bountiful feast for the eyes on this awesome Blu-ray 3D.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – For the audio, the most civil pirates you'll ever meet dispense with the pleasantries and jump right into some brilliantly cheerful chanteys for the whole family to enjoy. The 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack is a mostly front-heavy affair but squeaky-clean with wide imaging and lots of amusingly subtle activity in the background. Dialogue is precise with clear intonation in the vocals, which quickly change from gleefully buoyant to frightful hysteria without missing a beat. Dynamic range is extensive and room-penetrating, providing distinct clarity to the swashbuckling action. Bass is mostly deep and impactful with excellent response, and a few scenes of explosions and rumbling exhibit great moments of powerful low-frequency effects. They're not dramatically intense, but fun nonetheless.

Rears speakers are for a majority of the movie's runtime silent, which is somewhat disappointing, but the occasional ambient effect keeps the lossless mix entertaining. However, the action sequences come with a few sounds which pan from the screen into the back of the room with fluid movement and appreciable directionality, nicely expanding the sound field and providing a couple bits of envelopment. The musical score of Theodore Shapiro and the several song selections make better use of the surrounds, spreading throughout the room and creating a more satisfyingly immersive experience. All in all, 'The Pirates!' pillage and plunder with agreeable rowdy mayhem on Blu-ray.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Commentary with Director Peter Lord, Co-director Jeff Newit and Editor Justin Krish: Director Peter Lord, Co-Director Jeff Newitt, and Editor Justin Krish deliver a rather dry commentary. It's informative and detailed, but not quite in tune with the light humour that dominates the movie. Discussions include characters and character design, technical details of the filmmaking process, the intricacies of the animation, and more.

Pirate Disguise Dress-Up Game [1080p] Players must "look for the example disguise and try to match each wacky ensemble before time runs out." Play is via the remote control's arrow buttons as users scroll through three options (head, torso, legs) to match the picture on the right.

From Stop to Motion [20:52] A fascinating and detailed examination of the filmmaking process. The filmmakers discuss constructing the world around the characters, character design, penning the story, the animation process, crafting the puppets and building the miniature sets, the process of swapping mouths on puppets for accurate dialogue performances, voice acting sessions, live performance foundations, crafting the ship and placing it in a digital sea, assembling the sound effects, and crafting the music.

Creating the Bath Chase Sequence [8:22] As the title suggests, it focuses on examination of the process of making one of the film's most complex action sequence, revealing the amount of time and work that goes into a single scene that only lasts about a minute. Best bits are seeing the animators at work.

3D Previews: Additional Sony Titles that include Hotel Transylvania, Arthur Christmas, The Smurfs and Cloudy with a Chance of Meat Balls

UV Digital Copy

Finally, from Aardman Animation and the director Peter Lord of 'Chicken Run' comes the latest animated screwball comedy ‘The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists!’ from the brilliant and adventurous British studio Aardman Animations about the most civil and considerate bunch of buccaneers you'll ever meet. With a terrific cast of voice talents behind each character, the film is a clever and witty swashbuckling adventure through science and history. The 3D Blu-ray of 'The Pirates!' arrives with an exceptional three-dimensional picture quality and an excellent audio presentation. With a healthy assortment of supplements that will entertain both young and old, the high-definition package is recommended for animation lovers everywhere and those hankering for more high-definition 3D goodness, you cannot go wrong with this comedy romp. Despite some critics have lambasted this brilliant funny animation, I personally love it and it gains my approval, especially the fantastic 3D eye popping animation, and if you are a massive fan of Aardman Animation like me, then you would miss out on something truly special and now it has been add to my ever increasing Aardman Animation Blu-ray Collection. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
Ware, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure island of laughs...., 27 July 2013
By 
Ian Thumwood "ian17577" (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though I thought this was another excellent Aardman effort I saw this film first at the pictures I think it takes another viewing to pick up all the components that make this so funny. The opening 20 minutes are exceptional and the combination of amusing storyline and the cast of brilliat characters voiced by a very strong collection of actors certainly makes you think this is as good as "Wallace & Gromit." However, there is so much detail that I found myself stopping the DVD to read some of the background information, whether it is the amusing categories on the "Pirate of the Year" application form, the names of the bars and shops in both Blood Island and London or the billboards that offer to get rid of unwanted urchins. Even if you pick up the Irish pirate (a brillaint Brendon Gleeson) wearing a Blue Peter badge, there is plenty more that is not readily apparent - D Y Ying the dentist, for example. The use of the map to illustrate the travels of the Pirate Captain is also a stroke of genius.

I would have to say that this knocks the spots off most Pixar films which tend not to be quite so sophisticated with the humour nor throw in the odd joke that younger kids might not understand but which will appeal to adults. The flow of jokes is practically non-stop and the action scenes are dealt with style and panache. The shear stupidity of the film is a delight and I love the references to the way that real-life characters like Charles Darwin, Jane Austen and the Elephant Man all manifest the storyline. Pirates of the Caribbean is obviously a point of reference too but that franchise of films were never as much fun as this effort. British humour at it's absolute best and amusing up to the very last credit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its all in the detail, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great film that you can watch over and over and still see new things. Suitable of adults as well as kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists [Blu-ray] [2012]
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews