Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection at its most perfect!
Simply fantastic! I loved this film so very much, which is a big achievement since I wanted to hate it when I first went to see it. I'm a big fan of Spiderman, Marvel and all things superhero-like, so while you might think my review might be a bit biased, you couldn't be further from truth. I thought this film would ruin Spiderman and be a cheap cash in on the...
Published on 9 Dec. 2002 by Mr. R. J. Browne

versus
32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth The Extra Cash!
For some strange reason, I never got around to buying 'Spiderman' on DVD, but when I saw that a 'deluxe' edition was being released with a third disc of extras, I felt that the time had come to finally purchase it. It comes nicely packaged, with a cardboard sleeve to house the amaray case, but once unwrapped, I was shocked to see that the third disc was simply thrown in;...
Published on 22 May 2004 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative, Superb and groundbreaking, 14 April 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
One of the best superhero adaptations for film since the first 'Superman' and 'X-Men' films. What works here is that you have a director who not only understands the material but cares about the material! It's not all about explosions and wild action scenes, but about character development, which is a hallmark of Marvel Comics. Events are set up that take the development of these characters even further with the next film. Perfect casting, a story faithful to the comic series; Aprevious version wasmade in the1970s but flopped miserably howver this version made over $100 million in its first week alone at the US box office and set a standard for superhero movies.

The Lillian this time around is the father of Peter Parker's best friend; known as the Green Goblin, here is really mean and evil - to a point where he even offers a pact if Spiderman were to be his sidekick.

This is actually the first DVD that I bought and I was even amazed by its menu which in itself is worth a peek...just the menu !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average start for the web slinger, 25 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Unlike a lot of people, I wasn't really blown away by the first Spider-Man film, mainly due to what I feel was a large miscasting of actors. Tobey Maguire just doesn't click for me as Peter Parker/Spider-Man and he lacks chemistry with Kirsten Dunst who I also felt was miscast as Mary Jane. The only stand out was J.K. Simmons as Parker's boss at the Daily Bugle J. Jonah Jameson, who is just outstanding in the role.

This film also hasn't aged very well compared to other movies released at the time. The special effects are very unrealistic, and the design of the Green Goblin suit was atrocious.

If you have never seen a Spider-Man film before, I would personally recommend The Amazing Spider-Man, which is easily the best acted of the movies. But if I were to recommend one of the Sam Rami movies, I suggest you watch Spider-Man 2, which is a vast improvement on the first film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superhero film worth watching!!!, 1 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The task of transferring an infamous superhero known by the majority of the world onto the cinema screen has been successfully accomplished and now it has been released out into all shops on a double disk DVD bonzana which the whole family can enjoy. Previously this was not possible, what with the film being certified a 12 at the cinemas, but to tell you the truth I cannot see why and I personally view the rating as being fairly harsh. There is no use of swearing, no sex scenes and the only violence was based on a children's comic book! Anyway, 'Spiderman' is definately a film worth watching and that is a rarity when the movie is based on a superhero.
The film in parts has attempted to base itself on the original comic and in my opinion has done a good job in doing so, for example- J Jonah Jameson who is the boss for the Daily Bugle newspaper, he even looks almost identical to the comic version.
I felt that the film was perfectly casted especially with Tobey Maguire playing the role of Peter Parker, he superbly fitted the part and had the characteristics of Parker and Spiderman right on the dot. Willem Dafoe was perfect as the Green Goblin, very evil-like acting which was good and he clearly enjoyed, also the insanity occurrences involving a sort of schizophrenic personality was performed amazingly well by Dafoe which completely changed by opinion on him as an actor, on a good note obviously. I wasn't expecting a whole lot from Kirsten Dunst as she played Mary-Jane Watson, however she came out top with flying colours performing very impressively with a lot of emotion.
The storyline has got some alterations to that of the original yet the comic book look still remains in the film with the comic humour often found off Tobey Maguire. The film's special effects were very impressive with Spiderman's web cruising looking very realistic and extreme. Some of the fight sequences were also entertaining and it was amusing to see the original spiderman suit whilst he fought the champion wrestler early on in the film. There were several nerve-wracking scenes in the film and the final fight between Spiderman and the Green Goblin was very atmospheric and action packed, it just finishes the whole collection of great action scenes to make a superhero film which is very much worth watching.
As for the DVD itself it is compiled full of extras including funny outakes, the making of 'Spiderman' and even a look at the spiderman video game, complete with hints and video footage. An other good point to add to the list about this film would be the theme tune- Chad Kroeger's 'Hero' with Josey Scott which I think is an amazing song which is very appropiate with the film itself.
Well worth the price- to sum it up, a great action film put onto a great 2 DVD collection which should become a classic.
94/100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spider-Man Broke The Mould For Superhero Movies...., 16 Mar. 2014
By 
WCW Fan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Sam Raimi's Spider-Man was truly unique when it was unleashed on the world in 2002. There was much hype behind it, and the movie ended up living up to it's billing; even surpassing expectations.

The story begins with high-school nerd Peter Parker getting bitten by a new breed of genetically-engineered spider whilst on a school science trip. It results in him feeling drowsy and weak for a bit, however he later finds his vision has greatly improved (no more glasses!) and that he has increased strength and speed and can also shoot spider webs our of his wrists.

After a few "trial runs" of using his powers, Peter decides to use his powers to bring down criminals, after his beloved Uncle Ben is killed by a car-jacker (whilst about to give Peter a lift home). He becomes Spider-Man and becomes the hero of New York City.

However, he's later targeted by the evil Green Goblin; his alter-ego being scientist and Oscorp owner, Norman Osborn. The Goblin is the result of an experiment gone awry, Norman develops a split-personality and struggles to remember the awful acts he's committed as the Goblin (and when he does, he's appalled and tries to block them out). After carrying out attacks on the city, Goblin turns his attention to those closest to Peter, his Aunt May and love interest Mary Jane Watson (Kirsten Dunst).

Spider-Man has superb action and special effects, however what made it stand head and shoulders above all other comic book movies back in the day was it's story; the way Raimi "grounded" the characters and humanised them. You really care about the relationship between Peter and Mary Jane and the "father-son" dynamic between Peter and Norman (as well as the friendship between Peter and Norman's son, Harry). It's a superhero film with heart, a heart that doesn't get lost in all the action and CGI effects.

Of course, the film caused controversy at the time with it's violence. Some scenes with the Goblin (particularly the transformation scene at the lab) are truly frightening and some of the fight scenes are brutal. However, it all adds realism to the piece and supports the argument that superhero films don't have to be superficial and that they can work on an emotional level just like any good drama or movie in a realistic setting.

Other Spider-Man movies have come along since, but this is the best, the original and the ultimate template.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Spidey senses are tingling..., 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man [Blu-ray] [2002] (Blu-ray)
I loved this film as a kid, and I still do. Originally I had the DVD copy but sadly, I lost the copy like a spider crawling away after attempts of the tissue grab.

As years go on by, I saw Spider-man 3 on Channel 5 airing repeatedly. And I'd think to myself- "why don't they show Spider-man 1 on the TV?" Since then, I thought about the movie more and more. With the invention of Blu-ray, I had in mind "Why don't I get the HD Version of it?" So I did. I didn't have enough money for the new copies so I turned to the used copies. And my, the copy was in perfect condition.

As soon as the Blu-ray popped through the post, I'd felt like I was on cloud nine. I rushed into my Parents' room and fired up the Blu ray player! I was just filled with excitement. The moment I pressed "Play movie" on the remote, It was just like the good old days. My nostalgia-meter was right at the top. Breath-taking aerobatics, Cheesy one-liners and the perfect balance between comedy and action. Willem Dafoe as Goblin did a high quality performance. Actually, all of the cast were properly selected. I have to say well done Mr. Raimi!

However, Spider-man 1 is the only favourite movie of mines throughout the series. I felt something was missing in Spider-man 2 and in Sam's final chapter of the trilogy, A lot of things went haywire like a spider's web. The Amazing Spider Man (I'd like to call it 'The not-so Amazing Spider Man') was a dreary film too. But I did like the romance between Gwen and Peter... :D

Overall, the service by the seller was exceptional and the film is top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spider-Man, a hybrid fantasy/action film with a twist, 29 Dec. 2010
By 
Philippa Leah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Meet Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire), your typical high school nerd, bullied by jocks, fascinated by science and having a crush on the popular, Mary Jane Watson (Kirsten Dunst). Peters life is dull, empty, however, one day while out on a trip with his science class to a research facility, he is bitten by a genetically modified spider. As time passes Peter eventually becomes more athletic, his senses are stronger, he can shoot webs from his wrists and he is a lot more stronger than he has ever been in his entire life. Everything is looking up for lucky Peter, until one day a menace known as the Green Goblin appears, vent out on ruining his life. Peter now must defend his title as a super hero, as well as save the city of New York from real danger.

As cliche'd as the film may appear to be, don't be discouraged. Spider-Man is one of the most unique Comic-Book heroes to make it to the big screen, more so than Superman or The Hulk. What makes Spider-Man unique? Well, the narrative is simple and structured well, with many plot twists that have you on the edge of your seat in anticipation. The film is also very symbolic, director Sam Raimi has taken Spider-Man to a whole new level, Spider-Man is clearly intended to be a character that shows the positives of nature and life, while the Green Goblin represents the negative flaws of science and war.

There's also something breathtaking about watching Spider-Man in action, watching him swing round the buildings of New York in sunset is exhilarating. The characters are truly realistic, we can all empathize with Peter, he's going through changes which nobody understands. Its amusing to watch how his grandparents try to talk to him and be there for him, because for once they don't understand!

As amazing as the film is, it could have had some touch ups. The CGI, for the time it was released, is good but could've definetly been better. There's moments where you don't even notice the graphics, as the spectacular visual effects are most common in the slow motion scenes. Fast paced motion shots are the most disappointing, I feel they could've been so much better with the time producers had to make the film in.

And although the film flows naturally well, you can't help but feel some scenes were rushed. Noticeable editing mistakes and effect errors bring the films realism down, and almost distracts you from the narrative. An example being Spider-Man whisking Mary Jane off her feet and around the buildings of New York, she looks around astonished, her hair gently waving in the breeze...if only it was blowing in the right direction to where Spider-Man was going, then maybe the audience could forget about the obvious green-screen moment here.

As I briefly mentioned, we can all relate to Peter as a character, but what about the others? His grandparents May (Rosemary Harris) and Ben (Cliff Robertson) are the adorable couple your guaranteed to appreciate. Mary Jane appears to be just the pretty girl, she feels almost like an object in possession by the jocks, no guy seems to really understand her, they just want her. What she doesn't realise is there is a man out there for her, she was just just looking in all the wrong places. Then there's father and son, Norman (Willem Dafoe) and Harry Osborn (James Franco). Norman, a well respected business man who is trying to save the world by creating a suit with ultimate power, and Harry, friend of Peter, trying to follow in his fathers footsteps and make him proud. As stereotypical as these characters appear to be, we can watch and understand them, they relate strongly to people we know in our life. However, minor characters do appear over-the-top, the jocks for example, typical school bullies whom in reality wouldn't be accepted at a top ranking New York High-School because of their behaviour towards other students.

In conclusion, Spider-Man stands out from any super-hero film I have ever seen. Its not only a battle to save society, but a battle for the protagonist to be accepted. The music and the scenery is beautiful, the actors and actresses suit their roles perfectly. Despite a few flaws with the CGI and character personalities, this film is definetly worth seeing. I give this film a worthy 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best superhero. A brilliant film!!, 10 Dec. 2008
By 
Mark Fairbank (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Quite simply; awsome!
I read the comics as a kid and i have to say that the film (as i write, all three films) are so close in perfect detail to the comics. The most accurate, detailed and honour to the comics. I should know, i had (not have sadly...) the first spidey marvel comic onwards. Im mid forties and had the spidey, hulk, fantastic4, superman, iron man, etc. Loved them all.
Out of all the superhero films (and i love them all) Spiderman was what i was looking forward to the most. I saw an interview with Sam Raimi who said he loved and was a major Spidey fan from the original comics and he wanted to make the film as accurate as possible to the comics. And boy....! did he succeed! I really do not think any other director would have put in the complete detail to that other than Sam Raimi.
I think thats where Ang Lee's Hulk fails for example (though i still liked it but it was fragmented... and Eric bana put in a brilliant [performance which for me, saved it) Every character in Spidey is absolutely spot on. Ben & Aunt May, Tobey is perfect as Spidey/Peter Parker. I was blown away when i saw the first Spidey film when it came out at the cimemas. I was truly overjoyed and i had high expectations because of my love of Spidey from comic days. But my expectations were exceeded! This is by far the truest, strongest franchise of all the superhero films by a long way. I love the other too but Spidey has that edge, that extra mile. Good on you Sam Raimi. Please do the 4th, 5th and 6th Spidey films...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Comic Book Movie Next To Batman Returns, 21 Jun. 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This review will be split into three sections, they will be The Story, The Characters & The Verdict. This will give you a fair and true description of the movie and its characters and will give you my personal opinion of the movie which should help you make an informed decision on whether to watch this film for the first time or whether to stay away like you have already done for six years.

The Story: Tobey Maguire plays Peter Parker an aspiring photographer who one day is taking pictures of his crush Mary Jane Watson for the "School Newspaper" when he's bitten by a radioactive spider. After the incident Peter goes through a change and gains powers that are similar to a spider, he can walk up walls, shoot web, he gains super human strength, agility and has the ability to sense danger before it comes. One day after Peter uses his powers to take part in a wrestling event to try and win some money, his uncle Ben is shot dead, Peter discovers that his uncle was shot by the man he'd let pass by after stealing money from the wrestling promoter who'd cheated Peter out of money. Peter tracks down the criminal and through a series of incidents the man is killed for which Peter makes the decision to become a superhero, thus giving birth to the phrase "With great power comes great responsibility." The best friend of Peter, Harry Osbourne is the son of the CEO of Ozcorp Industries Norman Osbourne. Ozcorp industries develop weapons and other experimental devices for the United States Army, they're also working on an experimental treatment that would increase the speed and strength of soldiers. One night Norman tests this treatment on himself, but something goes wrong with the treatment and it develops an alternate evil personality that we come to know as the Green Goblin.

The Characters:
Tobey Maguire as Peter Parker was a genius choice to make and at the time he was chosen, Tobey was very much an unknown actor but he's now an A-Lister and it's thanks to his stellar performance as the troubled Peter Parker. You gain this sympathy for Peter as he's the typical geek who always gets the worst of everything, you begin to feel like you really want him to succeed in getting the girl and getting the great career being a photographer for the Daily Bugle.
Kirsten Dunst as Mary Jane was again a genius choice of casting as the chemistry between the two was something inspirational. Kirsten is a really good fit for this character and through the movie you expect her to go with Harry but you know she really wants the excuse she's looking for to get with Peter. To be able to convince the viewer that you're going to go in the opposite direction than is obvious for the story to progress is something special and I hope if there is a Spiderman 4 then these are the first two to get re-signed as the main characters.
Willem Dafoe: I've never really been familiar with Willems work and I think a lot of people went into this movie and said "who the hell is he?" when he first came on the screen. After about the first half hour and after first seeing him play the psychotic Green Goblin, we came to realise that although to many casual movie goers he may have been an unknown we came to recognise that he was the perfect choice for this part.

The Verdict: Many would agree that the Spider-Man character is Marvels greatest creation and the mainstream success of this movie would not dispute that in the slightest. Personally I loved this film, the action sequences between Spidey and the Goblin are intense and something that although they're minimal they get the job done in establishing the characters and the story. The relationship between MJ & Peter is at times heart wrenching as you first see that Peter is starting to win her over then when he saves her as Spidey she's won over by him. Peter becomes stuck in sort of a four way relationship and one of the other people he's competing with is himself. Because of the reason he can't tell MJ he's spidey it becomes heartbreaking to see her love struck by him and yet Peter can't tell her that he's Spiderman. This is a really good movie that gives us a great blend of both character development and action. It takes a completely fantasy element like an average man getting superpowers and puts it in the real world setting with real characters that people can relate to, this is something Stan Lee set out to do when originally creating the spiderman character and this is something that is carried on with the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good family fantasy, 20 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This adaptation of the Marvel comic about an ordinary guy being turned into a spider brings out some wonderful stories, a great tale of the human spirit in Sam Raimi's 2002 hit.

Tobey McGuire (Seabiscuit) stars as high school student Peter Parker who gets bitten by a super spider on a class trip and with issues regarding the love of his life, school and his family, Parker's life is changing dramatically.

Having never read any of the comics but seeing the odd cartoon episode on the TV I wasn't quite sure what I was expecting when I first rented this film out but it was a very pleasing watch, filled with action suspense and a good plot for the whole family to enjoy.

McGuire fits the role of the stereotypical teen brilliantly. He plays the role quietly and through the narration we get a sense of his true feelings. I wasn't a fan of this technique but it was good to get more depth to the intriguing character as he goes through very difficult and interesting changes.

Dunst (Interview with the Vampire) plays Parker's love interest Mary Jane. There is good chemistry between the two actors and although the dialogue is cheesy and predictable, it is kinda sweet. The infamous upside down kiss was very well directed and probably the best onscreen kiss I've seen.

Willem Dafoe (Shadow of the vampire) is excellent as Norman Osborne, perhaps the best performance of the film. His portray of good and evil makes his performance varied and intriguing. The mirror scene was a brilliant acting moment to emphasise the contrasts.

The plot is fairly consistent. The drama behind scenarios involving Uncle Ben and the change into Spiderman are brilliant whereas some of the teenage school scenes are conventional, predictable especially the opening scene on the bus.

The direction and special effects are great and the whole ideology of the hero is brilliant making it an enjoyable and thought provoking superhero fantasy.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "SPIDER-MAN" is BRILLIANT..., 7 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The film introduces Peter Parker without any friends apart from Harry Osborn, who is only friends with Peter because of his intelligence in Science. The story then reveals that Peter whishes to be destined with Mary Jane Watson who is a popular young student who also go's to the same High School, and also lives as a neighbour to Peter. The High School go on a science trip to a chemistry lab, where the do science experiments on radioactive Spiders. As the science trip progresses Peter unfourtuonately gets bitten by the radioactive spider which injects the poison into Peters body. Peter becomes delerious throughout the night and in the morning his body is transformed into super human strength, agility and the ability to make webbing out of his wrists. Peter becomes confused and relises that he could use his new super human strength on contestents at a wrestling match to gain money to buy a car for the pupose of winning over Mary Jane Watson. He ends up in the office of the person that owns the wrestling foundation, because he can gain the money but the man decides to give him a quarter of the total amount of what the advertisement said in the paper (which gave Peter the idea). Peter unwillingly decides to take the money but as he walks down the corridor a criminal ran into the office and took the money, the criminial ran down the corridor into Peters path but Peter selfishlly let the criminial past just because the man did'nt give him the right amount of money. Though in a twisted co-insidence Uncle Ben was murdered trying to stop the villian from escaping, Peter saw his Uncle die and decided to get revenge on the criminial that took his Uncles life. He accidentially killed the criminial in a abbandoned warehouse Peter escaped from the Police who had surrounded him and became overwhelmed with guilt for his Uncles death. He later that night comforted Auant May who lost her husband, Peter then decided from that night on he would help innocent people in trouble and use his powers for the benifit of New York civillians he would then on become "SPIDER-MAN"...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man [Blu-ray] [2002]
Spider-Man [Blu-ray] [2002] by Sam Raimi (Blu-ray - 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews