Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Suspense Thriller
Plot. Ray Liotta plays a cop who is taken off the case (but still involves himself) because the victims have all been at one time or another his girlfriends or girls he knew. Ving Rhames plays his captain and Christian Slater is the FBI man in charge of the case.
The first act sees the body count increase and while we only see a couple of bodies most of the time...
Published on 23 Mar 2012 by Mr. R. Domar

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total rubbish
A complete waste of time & money.

Utter rubbish, an hour & a half of my life wasted.

What possessed Ray Liotta to do this escapes me.

A far fetched plot with no logic or grip on reality.

The opening credits was the best part of the entire film which isn't saying much.
Published 20 months ago by Anthony Da Vall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total rubbish, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
A complete waste of time & money.

Utter rubbish, an hour & a half of my life wasted.

What possessed Ray Liotta to do this escapes me.

A far fetched plot with no logic or grip on reality.

The opening credits was the best part of the entire film which isn't saying much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Suspense Thriller, 23 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. R. Domar (Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Plot. Ray Liotta plays a cop who is taken off the case (but still involves himself) because the victims have all been at one time or another his girlfriends or girls he knew. Ving Rhames plays his captain and Christian Slater is the FBI man in charge of the case.
The first act sees the body count increase and while we only see a couple of bodies most of the time deaths are not seen on camera. We learn Ray had a lot of female friends before he got married. As for being the prime suspect which he is for what feels like 5 seconds the killer is revealed to us just before the end of the first act. I thought they could have kept the secret awhile longer, but it worked for this film. However without the reveal we might have got more animosity between Ray and Christian although there was still a fair bit of it and some scenes between the two were quite amusing.
So while we know who is doing the killing it's not until the end that we learn the who and why. And to me the reasons etc were quite clever. It was an entertaining thriller, well acted as you'd expect from the 2 main men and it flows nicely. For me not a lot of tension, mild at best, but I liked the twists. I liked this. Available on a UK release but whether it will have the same extras i do not know.
Extras include 2 coms, making of 10 mins.USA Release Region 1. English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Serial killer (un) thriller, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
The River Murders is a must-try-harder second rate serial killer thriller which could have been brilliant with a slicker script and tighter direction.
Instead it wastes an intriguingly nasty plot and some excellent actors. Ray Liotta and Ving Rhames put in solid if unremarkable performances; only Christian Slater seems to grab the opportunity and run with his character, a suitably sneering and cynical FBI agent who can’t quite believe that a middle-aged detective from Spokane notched up a hundred girlfriends before meeting his wife… and that someone is now killing those old girlfriends in a biblically gruesome manner.

The premise certainly had promise, but the leaden weight of dull dialogue and the utterly unbelievable interactions between the cop and his wife (‘oh, so someone is brutally murdering every woman you’ve been intimate with? And I’m inevitably on the list? Oh well; must get on with buying fish’) effectively neuter a surprise ending or any chance of real suspense.
We soon meet the bad guy – and it’s pretty easy to guess his back-story. Every scene with Slater in it has some sparkle; the rest of the film is workmanlike but hardly remarkable. There are some interesting subplots, like the river/water/rain theme, but this isn’t used to any great effect. Ditto the potential debate about the difference in male/female sexuality which barely gets a nod. By the end, we’d kinda lost interest in whether the final victim lived / died / ran off to join a circus, which probably sums up the whole film.

Not awful, but a real waste of a great opportunity and several excellent actors.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The River Murders, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Thelma L. Workman (thelma workman) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I love it Ray Liotta was brilliant I watched it twice and still enjoyed highly recommend good value for money and prompt posting secure delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Striking Distance re-made, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This seems like a lack-lustre version of "Striking Distance" (with Bruce Willis) - you would probably be better watching that instead, unless you are a massive fan of Ray Liotta!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Prepostorous, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Poorly acted - Ray Liotta appears to be going through the motions, with no attempt to express realistic emotions. The plot is prepostorous, the motives and actions of the killer are bizarre. Not recommended - don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy with my purchase, 22 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This dvd arrived on time and as described.Very happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
this was quite an entertaining movie watchable multimurder mystery although not of the same acting quality as a similar film starring clint eastwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River Murders [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The River Murders [DVD] [2011]
The River Murders [DVD] [2011] by Rich Cowan (DVD - 2012)
£4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews