Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars25
4.6 out of 5 stars
Style Name: BGA 45.5mm|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2014
These are very handy raingards for compact binoculars. I only wonder why they are made bulkier than they need to be for the purpose. I cut off the protrusions on the bridge. They are a nuisance when folding the binoculars.
Similarly, the major part of the rim along the left side can be cut off with a sharp knife. One only needs the part that corresponds to the strap attachment on the binoculars.As not all binoculars have their strap attachment in the same position, the rainguard needs to be made with this adjustable version. That is a very clever way, though it first looks a bit odd.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
I recently bought a pair of Nikon Sporter 8x42 binoculars (another excellent product by the way). They come only with single caps for the tops of the lenses. Though they're rainproof I don't want rain drops on the viewing lenses so I looked for a rainguard. The opticron one fits the bill exactly. What's more, the join between the two sides bends so that you don't have that annoying business of always having to adjust the width of your bins whenever you take the rainguard on or off. It's a sturdy plastic which will take knocks -- I sometimes carry a camera as well as bins and though I have the former on a shortened strap and the latter on a longer harness, I do worry about the bottom of the camera coming into contact with the glass of the binoculars.
I highly recommend these -- and they come in different diameters so you can buy the one which fits your particular model (just remember to measure it carefully!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2014
I finally got driven mad by the rain guard provided by Swarovski for my bins. It's beautifully engineered but about as user-friendly as a cornered rat. The 43mm Opticron version is a perfect fit and a million times better than the manufacturer's original.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I had bought a pair of Nikon sporter ex 10x42 binoculars which had no eye covers but these are a perfect fit and are very easy to use.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2015
I have just purchased a pair of these 37mm Opticron BGA binocular rain-guards for a pair of classic Carl Zeiss 10 x 42B (1980's) that I have just purchased second hand. They fit extremely snuggly over the lenses and also attach very easily on the left side to the neck strap. As long as you measure your lens correctly, you cannot go wrong with this robust, stylish product which is also, at under £10 very good value. Andrew Bruce, Dumfries & Galloway, Scotland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
I bought the 43mm end cap to replace the original one from my Nikon 10 x 42 SE CF's which fell off and got lost. It's fits perfectly and isn't as clunky as the original one. Also, the original end cap wasn't completely captured there was a gap in the bit that holds it to the binocular strap - this was how mine got lost. This one cannot come off once you've attached it your strap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
I lost the rainguard from my Swaro 8x32's. I'd never been completely happy with it and baulked at the price of a new one. I saw these for about 2/3 the price. I opted for the slightly larger size and got it spot on. Whereas the original one was very snug fit, too snug I think, these fit beautifully and are easy and quick to get off and on. I'm very happy I decided on them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Does a great job of protecting the eyepieces of binoculars and being one piece is better than fiddling with two seperate covers.
My partner also purchased when he saw mine.
Only negative is they don't come with a lanyard. I guess it is easy to fit your own but this would be a 5 star product if included.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
High quality but just too large for for the smallest full size binoculars i.e. my wifes' 8x42 HR's. I would have ordered the compact ones but they may have been a fraction too small. I sorted by packing them out with some sticky back foam padding.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2016
After fitting 28-38mm eye shields to my Swarovski 8x30 CL Companion Binocular the i found the 0riginal 35mm diameter eye caps would not fit. With the eye shields fitted the the diameter is 45mm. These Opticron 45.5mm fitted perfect. Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)