Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 50's Psychobilly
A look on the track-list immediately convinced me to buy this. About half of these tracks were previously available in the painstakingly researched -but also pretty rare and expensive- series "Born Bad-Songs The Cramps Taught Us". I already had the complete series on vinyl and was busy digitalizing it, when I discovered this little gem. As you probably already figured...
Published on 7 Oct 2012 by Kostas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
satisfactory
Published 4 days ago by milorad potic


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 50's Psychobilly, 7 Oct 2012
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
A look on the track-list immediately convinced me to buy this. About half of these tracks were previously available in the painstakingly researched -but also pretty rare and expensive- series "Born Bad-Songs The Cramps Taught Us". I already had the complete series on vinyl and was busy digitalizing it, when I discovered this little gem. As you probably already figured out, a lot of these songs were either covered by The Cramps or "cannibalized" to produced new Cramps songs. About half of them are really wild rockabilly and half of them instrumentals with a "horror" or "jungle" theme, thus earning their place in the psychobilly category. All of them are fantastic, but some of the highlights are:
-much covered (Animals, Nina Simone, Creedence etc) blues classic "I put a spell on you". If you're not familiar with the original version, you're in for a surprise!
-Link Wray's instrumentals, especially "Rumble" which re-wrote the book on electric guitar.
-The 2 rockabilly dynamites by Johnny Burnette
-Early Dr John instrumental "storm warning" under his real name, Mac Rebennak
-Elvis' guitar man Scotty Moore's attempt at personal career with "Have Guitar Will Travel"
-Rare wild rockabilly songs appropriated by The Cramps, such as "Love Me", "Jungle Hop", "Rockin' Bones" etc etc.
Bottom line: Essential for psychobilly fans, highly recommended for everyone with a passing interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deranged, 17 Nov 2013
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
But in a good way.

Also in an often amateurish way too. But there's a loony enthusiasm pervading the mostly frenetic numbers. There are even some which are actually musically accomplished such as Storm Warning by Mac Rebennack (who would reinvent himself in the 60s as Dr. John, as if you didn't know). This is largely fun dumb music and, hey don't get me wrong, that's praise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just Psycho ,totally Crazy., 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
First track on this fabulous double CD rather sets the manic tone for the rest of the offerings .Love Me by The Phantom [Jerry or was it Marty Lott] cut this piece of mayhem in 1958 ,mayhem reined in the studio with band members going somewhat berserk. during the recording but then after his manager had done nothing with it for about a year ,Mr Lott managed to get the record released on Dot of all labels and with the assistance of croon king Pat Boone of all people..
Lots of pretty obscure no hit wonders on here and I wonder if the compilers recognising this thought they would throw in a few old favourites to help garner sales .Most collectors of Rockabilly which most of this is will already have Whoo Hoo ,,Rock A Teens ,Ghost Riders in the Sky,The Ramrods and Mule Skinner Blues ,The Fendermen but what the heck they are great to listen to and even dare I say somewhat sedate to other tracks here
Vocal tracks alternate with instrumentals ., Screams and yells pervade and we even have a Bo Diddley beat on Jungle Hop.by Kip Tyler and the Flips,and when listening to Shombalor by Sheriff and the Ravels one wonders at what kind of marketing ,if any occurred when the disc was released.We even have, I Put a Spell on You ,Screaming Jay Hawkins which must have been pure R&B on it's release but who cares , what's in a name
If you are a serious collector or just someone who wants to go back and sample a time when not all Rock n Roll records made the charts then this is for you A great listen ,, remember Geffers told you so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes some tracks will be familiar and available on other albums - but still very good and recommended.

My album of choice when I'm out and about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scarily gr8 stuff, 29 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
50 tracks no fillers just like its sister album, real raw rockabilly, but I think this is even better! has a raw edge that you can just imagine the poor parents at the time yelling at their kids 4 listening 2 the devils music ha ha!! some gr8 original classics that if you tried 2 buy individually on 7" vinyl you would be looking at a voyage 2 the bottom of your overdraft!! but not only that , there are sum gr8 covers her 2 , at least I think they are covers , 4 all I know these guys did the tracks 1st & then more popular artists at that time got the nod 4 commercial purposes. buy & enjoy this very well thought out & clever twin disc set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rockin ', 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
A mixture of good , bad & indifferent tracks , but enough good ones to make this album good value ..happily recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a cocktail!!, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
If you have the slightest interest in this genre of music, give yourself a treat and order this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 11 Jan 2012
By 
Yves Vandezande (Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
Another low priced double cd from the Now Now Music gang mixing established acts (Wray, Burnette, et al) with completely unknowns.
There are some overlaps with their other Rockabilly collections but these are few.
Essential listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for fan, 16 Sep 2012
By 
F. Panin "FabioStar" (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
I can only agree with the other reviewers that if rockabilly (and pyschobilly) is your genre, you must have this one. It is actually amazing to discover how many bands played this style. If then you play electric guitar (like me) this will give you inspiration for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exactly what it says on the tin., 5 Jun 2012
This review is from: Roots Of Psychobilly (Audio CD)
Fans of rockabilly and/or psychobilly will love this fantastic 2cd album. A few classics but some not so popular. Definitely worth a place in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roots Of Psychobilly
Roots Of Psychobilly by Various (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews