Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Value
I could be rather picky in questioning whether a handful of the songs on this tremendous 3 CD collection, could ever be classified as "rarities". "Blue Suede Shoes", for example. Also "Earth Angel", "Matchbox" and "Ten Commandments Of Love", albeit a different version to the one I have on several other CD's. But the fact of the matter is that this is such excellent value...
Published on 30 Jan 2012 by Anton Coy

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title
While the value can't be argued with so many London rareities are missing.It must be 200th time around for so many of these yet Jimmy Gavin's version of I sit in my window-not even on the Cameo Parkway sets-has yet to appear on CD (along with Russ Miller's or the Crew Cuts.
My penfriend Ginny Wright had 2 singles issued here along with her label mate Myrna Lorrie but...
Published on 19 Feb 2012 by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Value, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Anton Coy "Ant" (Johannesburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
I could be rather picky in questioning whether a handful of the songs on this tremendous 3 CD collection, could ever be classified as "rarities". "Blue Suede Shoes", for example. Also "Earth Angel", "Matchbox" and "Ten Commandments Of Love", albeit a different version to the one I have on several other CD's. But the fact of the matter is that this is such excellent value for money at a real snip of a price, that it really does no harm to hear a few better known numbers amongst a whole raft of these rare and obscure recordings. And at an effective price of around 8p per track, why should you care ? Despite it's 75 track offering and it's very low price, you also get a brief one-page but nevertheless informative overview of the contents plus - and this was a very unexpected and welcome bonus - an additional track-by-track listing hidden behind CD2, where each song's composer is shown along with the year of its recording. You make have little or nothing in your record collection by The Mints, Mac Wiseman, Alvadean Coker, Faye Adams or Werly Fairburn. Also, the original "See You Later Alligator" as performed by its composer Bobby Charles may have passed you by, as well as "Green Door" man Jim Lowe's improbable version of "Maybelline". Invest in this record and your collection will be suitably enhanced by these recordings. Importantly too, the quality of each track is excellent, and no sign that I could make out of lower-quality vinyl needle drops. And if there are a few singers there about whom you still know nothing, then a bit of googling to brush up your knowledge just somehow adds to the fun. Fantastic value for any follower of the era who wants to wander down the musical side streets and byways of the era. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London American Story - Rarities, 22 Jan 2012
By 
D. Stopczynski "DJ Dan" (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
For hard core music collectors only! If you are looking for hard-to-get-hold-of tracks from the 1950's, this series will probably be it.

I am an avid collector on pop music from the past 60 years and am particularly interested in US only hits that did not chart in the UK. This CD has quite a few so will probably appeal to hard core collectors.

On the music side, sound quality and mastering of the tracks is excellent.

Well worth the money to plug a few gaps in your collection from the rock 'n' roll era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Dangerous Dave (Berkhamsted, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
Not sure whether this is released yet or not but here goes anyway. First I've unscrambled the Amazon list of tracks so that they're readable:

Disc 1
1. Hearts Of Stone 'The Fontane Sisters'
2. Earth Angel 'The Penguins'
3. Penny Candy 'Jim Reeves'
4. Love Me 'Fats Domino'
5. Rock Love 'The Fontane Sisters'
6. Don't Be Angry 'Nappy Brown'
7. Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean 'Ruth Brown'
8. Farewell, So Long, Goodbye 'Bill Haley And His Comets'
9. Go Baby Go 'The Four Tophatters'
10. We're Gonna Bop 'Alvadean Coker'
11. Rocking Chair On The Moon 'Bill Haley And His Comets'
12. That Lucky Old Sun 'LaVern Baker'
13. See You Later Alligator 'Bobby Charles'
14. Seven Days 'Clyde McPhatter'
15. Bo Weevil 'Fats Domino'
16. Get Up Get Up You Sleepy Head 'LaVern Baker'
17. Blue Suede Shoes 'Carl Perkins'
18. Downbound Train 'Chuck Berry'
19. Maybelline 'Jim Lowe'
20. Do The Bop 'The Hilltoppers'
21. Church Bells May Ring 'The Willows'
22. Treasure Of Love 'Clyde McPhatter'
23. Crazy For My Baby 'Willie Dixon'
24. Corrine Corrina 'Joe Turner'
25. I Want To Do More 'Ruth Brown'

Disc 2
1. One Night 'Smiley Lewis'
2. I Want You 'The Cadets'
3. Hey Baby Doll 'The Clovers'
4. Lonesome For A Letter 'Sanford Clark'
5. Honky Tonk Rock 'Betty Johnson'
6. Boogie Woogie Country Girl 'Joe Turner'
7. Your Tender Lips 'The Clovers'
8. Down Yonder We Go Ballin 'Smiley Lewis'
9. Ill Be True 'Faye Adams
10. I Gotta Get Myself A Woman 'The Drifters'
11. A Casual Look 'The Six Teens'
12. Cool It Baby 'Dick Lory'
13. All The Time 'Werly Fairburn'
14. Honey Chile 'Fats Domino'
15. If You Don't Know 'George Hamilton IV'
16. Confidential 'Sonny Knight'
17. Shame Shame Shame 'Smiley Lewis'
18. Would I Be Crying 'The Flamingos'
19. Little By Little 'Nappy Brown'
20. Aint Got No Home 'Clarence Henry'
21. Don't Walk Out 'The Barons'
22. Ernie 'Merle Kilgore'
23. I Can't Love You Enough 'LaVern Baker'
24. I Want To Be Loved' Ruth Brown'
25. Matchbox 'Carl Perkins'

Disc 3
1. Step It Up And Go 'Mac Wiseman'
2. Night Air 'The Mints'
3. Sweetheart Please Don't Go 'The Gladiolas'
4. Saturday Night 'Roy Brown'
5. Just To Hold My Hand 'Clyde McPhatter'
6. Empty Arms 'Ivory Joe Hunter'
7. Glad All Over' Carl Perkins'
8. Roc a Chicka 'Jim Lowe'
9. Shuffle In The Gravel 'Young Jessie'
10. Say Yeah 'Wayne Handy & Jim Thornton And His Band'
11. Till The Law Says Stop 'Johnny Faire'
12. She's Neat 'Dale Wright And The Rock Its'
13. Little Pigeon 'Chuck Sims'
14. So Tough 'Kuf Linx'
15. Only Teenagers Allowed 'Jackie Walker'
16. Tootsie 'Carl McVoy'
17. Try The Impossible 'Lee Andrews & The Hearts'
18. Over The Mountain, Across The Sea 'Johnnie And Joe'
19. Beside My Love 'The Dubs'
20. Drip Drop 'The Drifters'
21. Ten Commandments Of Love 'Harvey & The Moonglows'
22. Shake Baby Shake 'Jesse Lee Turner'
23. Save It 'Mel Robbins'
24. Mystery Train 'Vernon Taylor'
25. Sadie's Back In Town 'Sonny Burgess'

Who is this set aimed at? The year-at-a-time double CD sets were, in my view, aimed either at the nostalgia audience or at younger buyers starting to get into the original rock'n'roll years. Ace had already started producing their London American sets which, in line with a lot of other Ace output were aimed more at collectors than relatively casual buyers. One Day increased the content by about 80%, reduced the price significantly and I suspect, reduced the level information which came with the releases, though I can't fully vouch for the last point since I haven't actually purchased any.

This set increases the content again albeit with some increase in cost BUT removes (almost) all the big names who could well have been the main reason for many buyers to have bought the year by year sets. They would appear on this one, to be aiming at the collectors. One wonders whether they've included sufficient information with the sets that would be in line with normal collector expectations.

In terms of sticking to the relatively unknown, One Day have been pretty well as good as their word. We get the odd track from Berry and Perkins (a couple) and also three from Domino but that's about it. There are a couple of Bill Haley's but they're not the ones you'd find in a shortish best-of on the man. There are a couple of biggish names that one wouldn't quite expect but they're outside their normal stamping ground presumably because they're very early - there's Jim Reeves with an up tempo pop cum country item and George Hamilton IV with some rockabilly! There are a few Sun tracks which any r'n'r collector is bound to have but these are too few to really worry about. One thing that does annoy me slightly though, is that they've included a few of the more obscure tracks from the year by year sets which will be a negative for those who already been collecting those sets. However it may be a sign that One Day do think they are aiming for a different audience here (in which case the argument would be to keep them in).

So what do we get? Well there's a lot of doowop, black and white plus black vocal group stuff generally e.g. the Clovers. I'm not best equipped to opine on the quality of this material but the quantity is certainly there (and they sound pretty good to me). We get quite a lot of rockabilly, mainly, but not only, from the Dot label. Much of it is not the usual stuff you see in mixed sets so could be desirable. Names include Alvadean Coker, Jim Lowe (the "Green Door" man), Sanford Clark (with great Al Casey guitar), Dick Lory, Werly Fairburn, early Merle Kilgore (with "Ernie" who, this time, is not the fastest milkman in the west), Johnny Faire, Mac Wiseman, Chuck Sims (with stunning echo chamber) plus the Sun material I've already mentioned. We also get a fair amount of early Atlantic with tracks from Lavern Baker, Ruth Brown (great live cut on Youtube), Joe Turner, early Drifters and Clyde separately, Ivory Joe Hunter (very early country soul), Roy Brown (great) and others. Some of this a collector may have but it's nice material and is all up to the high Atlantic standards. There are some New Orleans goodies via Imperial including Smiley Lewis and Nappy Brown. There's also some good R&B from other sources - Bobby Charles (Alligator) and Willie Dixon (both from Chess), Clarence "Frogman" Henry (with "Ain't got no home" which does appear in several collections)and the rather splendidly forceful Faye Adams.

I should add that there's very little MOR or easy listening on these three discs even though London American would have been picking up some of this type of material particularly in the mid 50's, purely on the basis that it was still selling well in the US. No, much of what we hear on this set are the threads that went to make up r'n'r - some is even is pre r'n'r. It's also not the 2nd or 3rd generation rock where the threads had come together and you lost track of the sources i.e. the music we were beginning to hear at the tail end of the `50's or the start of the `60's. Without checking dates on all these I would guess much of this is `56 through to `58 and not much later. Which could well make this a very interesting set to delve in to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only for the London wierdies!, 3 Jan 2013
By 
Alan Pearman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
I mean the heading - and they include me. It is what it says, the quality of the tracks is superb considering the age and if you have any doubts as to the rarity of the tracks check out record collector and the value of the original London singles. I had most of them, but the sound on tyis CD makes it worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good buy, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
although you may have some of the tracks this is still a very good buy and at a excellent price , you cannot go wrong. recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The London American Story - Rarities, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
This CD was a real blast from the past. It was excellent to hear long forgotten songs again. Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong title, 19 Feb 2012
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
While the value can't be argued with so many London rareities are missing.It must be 200th time around for so many of these yet Jimmy Gavin's version of I sit in my window-not even on the Cameo Parkway sets-has yet to appear on CD (along with Russ Miller's or the Crew Cuts.
My penfriend Ginny Wright had 2 singles issued here along with her label mate Myrna Lorrie but the only Fabor recordings here are Alvadean Coker and Jim Reeves which are common.
You only need to glance through the 2 volumes of the London American Legend to find others many yet to appear on CD eg the Honeytones.
Which is why this CD Box loses 2 stars.
Its also misleading enough as to include what was the B side of Sanford Clark's "The Fool" as if it was a seperate single while Run Boy Run must be rarer
Jom Lowe's version of Blue Suede Shoes is not only rarer than the Perkins original but is actually worth more on the collectors market
Clearly the idea behind this needed more research
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London American Story - Rarities, 15 Dec 2011
By 
R. Shaw "Ronboy" (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
Great value 3 CD pack. However to claim that all tracks are rarities is a claim too far. "Seven Days" - Clyde McPhatter and "Blue Suede Shoes" - Carl Perkins are easy find on most reissue CD's of 50's tracks, but still worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Rocking Rock n Roll, 5 Dec 2011
By 
B. Griffiths (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
Just to say that any real rock n roll fan who loves the real 1950's pure rock n rolling music will never want to turn your C.D of as this is going to glue you to
your player to hear all these 75 gems on the 3 disc set of some of the most magnificent early
rock n roll you could ever wish to hear...Just get a good pair of dancing shoes on
to dance with your babe...Enjoy....

B. Griffiths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars RARE THEY ARE, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London American Story- Rarities (Audio CD)
WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO SOME GREAT RARE TRACKS FROM THE L/A LABEL.HOWEVER NOT MUCH HERE TO WRITE HOME ABOUT.SEE YOU LATER ALLIGATOR BY BOBBY CHARLES IS A GEM,ALSO DO THE BOP BY THE HILLTOPPERS,LONG TIME SINCE I FIRST HEARD THIS.EARTH ANGEL AND THE TEN COMMANDMENTS OF LOVE,PLUS MATCHBOX,AND THATS ABOUT AS GOOD AS IT GETS.GOOD PRICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The London American Story- Rarities
The London American Story- Rarities by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews