Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real R'n'B/Soul at its best
Anthony Hamilton is to R'n'B what Sia is to the pop/dance genre... completely underrated and equally brilliant. A hidden treasure for the most part.

'Back to Love' says it all; a collection of songs exploring love in its various concepts - adoration, heartbreak and obsession. Don't be disheartened to think it is tackled in a conventional Boyz II Men swooning...
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by Benson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Back to Love
Another disappointing album. However the price was the motive for the purchase and that's okay....it'll get the occasional playing and that's okay as well.
Published 13 months ago by Kenneth Close


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real R'n'B/Soul at its best, 4 Jan 2012
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
Anthony Hamilton is to R'n'B what Sia is to the pop/dance genre... completely underrated and equally brilliant. A hidden treasure for the most part.

'Back to Love' says it all; a collection of songs exploring love in its various concepts - adoration, heartbreak and obsession. Don't be disheartened to think it is tackled in a conventional Boyz II Men swooning style way though. It's all rather cool and thought provoking throughout. The vocal delivery is obviously a major draw which is as ever deeply soulful, sincere and often awe inspiring.

Highlights include the toe tapping and slick 'Mad', 'Pray For You' and 'Who's Loving You', an emotional yet infectious song exploring that 'I'm wondering what could have been' concept. After hearing 'Never Let Go' featuring Keri Hilson, I personally felt this was Anthony's most accessible album to date. A very pleasant listening experience throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soulful and authentic., 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
As we all know, pop music is a thing of mystery, but there are few mysteries greater than Anthony Hamilton's almost invisible profile and far from stellar sales, even after five mostly excellent albums.
It's hard to imagine "Back to Love" changing his status but in the absence of D'Angelo he remains mainstream soul's foremost practitioner, with a magnetic voice that oozes a glistening combination of feral sex and - often in the same song - wounded vulnerability.
Since he writes his own lyrics there's an authenticity to the slinky "Writing on the Wall" and the self-abasing "Pray for Me".
If the 40-year-old from North Carolina wasn't quite so long in the tooth, he would be the new Marvin Gaye.
As it is, he and we will have to make do with the first and last Anthony Hamilton. J Aizelwood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer Quality, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
Once again Mr. Hamilton can do no wrong when it comes to putting an project together for his fans. All i can say is just buy, sit back, listen and take in pure enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, Love it, Love it, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
I loved loved this item. The service was great, no complains. The item itself was magnificent. I love Anthony Hamilton and as usual I was not disappointed. He is a genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb soulful album, 18 Oct 2013
One of the best albums in my collection , and my collection goes way back to, Curtis Mayfield , Al Green, Donny Hathaway, Lenny Williams, Maze, LTD, Jeffrey Osborne, EWF Luther etc .He's up there with some of the best. There's a great variety of styles but Anthony Hamilton accomplishes them all with aplomb . Just preview the tracks you'll be tapping your feet and nodding your head instantly. Stand out tracks Best if Me, Mad & More Than Enough but in truth they are all great songs and there's not a duff one on the album . This is a must by if you love soul music . It should be a classic but unlikely as he's so vastly underrated . Just buy it you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect in every way!, 24 Feb 2013
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
Anthony delivers a gem once again. I was lucky enough to visit him on a live gig in Rotterdam, The Netherlands and I must say it was simply the best concert I've ever been to. And believe me, I've been to many. His performance was as excellent as any of his cd's. No fancy stuff, just the raw talent of Mr. Hamilton and his band/back up singers. This man can touch you with his music in so many ways it's undescribable. This album is fantastic and I would highly recommend it to anyone!! For me, Anthony Hamilton is the stand out singer/performer since he arrived on the scene. Wow...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential slab of modern soul., 4 Feb 2012
By 
T. J. Toher "tomt" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
How Anthony Hamilton is not a household name astonishes me as he is consistently the leading soul singer of the time. The album is worth buying for Life Has A Way on its own. The modern generation of R & B singers would learn all they need to know from listening to this powerful and moving song. Like all albums these days there are a couple of tracks too many but overall I have to say this album is essential if you call yourself a soul fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and Contemporay at the same time, 1 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
This album lives up to its title. It's soulful, sultry, emotional and reminiscent. Taking you completely back to love; from Lost love to future. This has got to be one of the best soul/R&B albums I have heard in a long time. From top to bottom it takes you on a journey of musical discovery swaying from contemporary R&B to classic soul.
Tracks such as 'Mad' and 'Life has a way' takes me on journey of time past somewhere in the deep south of America where the old negroes sing their songs of freedom that bares their hearts and souls.
Anthony Hamilton with his silky smooth voice allows you to enter
This world.
I can not say I have a favourite track on this album as every track touches me in many ways but, 'Best of me','who's loving you' and 'writing on the wall' takes me on my own personal traverse of love lost and future love that encapsulates my own voyage back and fourth to love.
Kudos to a talented Artist!!

Beautiful album... I highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man makes good music that speaks to your soul, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
This is one CD from Mr Hamilton you cant afford not have in your collection. The man makes good music that speaks to your soul.Buy it!!!!! No regrets!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Antony Hamilton, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Back To Love [Deluxe Version] (Audio CD)
Love all his music and was glad to get all his albums. My type of music and always playing the albums regularly. Really love this album too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Back To Love [Deluxe Version]
Back To Love [Deluxe Version] by Anthony Hamilton (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews