Customer Reviews


444 Reviews
5 star:
 (284)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


123 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb but...
... this album is going to have a lot of teething problems.

Firstly, as has been the way with most of Coldplay's work: The album is very much unlike their previous stuff. Don't get me wrong, the album shares many parallels with all of their previous material. However, it's different enough that fans coming here expecting a remake of [Coldplay Album Name] WILL...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by Patrick Lye

versus
65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good slice of Coldplay ... but with reservations
Coldplay's set at Glastonbury this summer bought home to me just how good this band are. No U2 pretence; just a bunch of guys who enjoy what they do and are very good at doing it. Whether it's Chris Martin on the piano or their fantastic drummer (who reminds me of Animal from The Muppet Show!) bouncing his drum kit off the floor. The new songs they played like 'Charlie...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by John K. Gateley


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

123 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb but..., 26 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
... this album is going to have a lot of teething problems.

Firstly, as has been the way with most of Coldplay's work: The album is very much unlike their previous stuff. Don't get me wrong, the album shares many parallels with all of their previous material. However, it's different enough that fans coming here expecting a remake of [Coldplay Album Name] WILL be disappointed. Admittedly, I too had my reservations when the singles were released. But it just takes a bit of getting used to - the quality is still there, it's just a different flavour.

Secondly, the album lacks a full, out-and-out single. I'm not saying the songs are weak (far from it) - but to me, the album lacks a 'frontman' of a song. There isn't really a single song that you can use to show off to a new listener (In the way that all the previous albums had key, outstanding tracks which helped keep you listening long enough for the quality of the underrated songs to come through) Alas, there is still no contender for the global play-on-loop-50-times hit that is 'Viva la Vida'. It's a shame, because nearly all of the songs are excellent

Thirdly, as has been mentioned by others: The mixing is very heavily done and will punish high and low quality speakers alike. On the first number of listens for many songs, it feels like you're met with a solid wall of noise where the vocals sound almost muffled. As a person who's a sucker for melodies, I was fine with this after a few listens - but those are more about good lyrics might find this very off-putting (at least until they can discern what's actually being said!)

As you may have gathered then: The album needs some getting used to. It's initial feel is very bright, bold and colourful - but can also feel a bit 'brash' and 'in-your-face' at times. The good news is that it rewards patience and the overall quality of the songs are very, very high. (I can't really find any 'weak' songs on this one)

To the track listing:

1. Mylo Xyloto - A 40-second (slightly Christmassy) instrumental lead-up which perfectly introduces...
2. Hurts Like Heaven - A brilliantly Upbeat and toe-tapping intro. A tad cheesy / pop-esque, but a brilliant start to the album
3. Paradise - This is an odd one - on the first few listens, it's wishy-washy and flat. I hated it. But give it time and you're singing along to the highly infectious "Para-Para-Paradise". A very strong track
4. Charlie Brown - This one's my favourite and should particularly appeal to X&Y / Viva Fans. A delightful blend of strength and emotion. Classic Coldplay
5. Us Against the World - A nudge to their older styles. It's gentle, acoustic and very pleasant
6. M.M.I.X. - Another interlude. Not to be underestimated though, it's a perfect lead-up to what is perhaps the best-known song of this album:
7. Every Teardrop... blah blah - Overall a solid and a thoroughly enjoyable track (Still good after 100+ listens) the second half feels a bit messy with a lot of different instruments mixed in though
8. Major Minus - A dark, powerful yet quirky piece. Quite infectious as the "got one eye on the road and one on you" quickly sticks
9. U.F.O. - A bit underwhelming after some of the bigger tracks of the album, but is a lovely little acoustic piece
10. Princess of China - Coldplay and Rihanna!? I had nightmares about this one. But to their credit, they've done this one well. It's sharp, loaded with synth and Rihanna makes a superb contribution (It's ok, it's not like Lost+, you can come out from behind the sofa now)
11. Up In Flames - Personally my favourite ballad of the album. Haunting yet very beautiful
12. A Hopeful Transmission - Another 30 second interlude. Nothing special though
13. Don't Let It Break Your Heart - My least favourite. To this day I still have no idea what Chris is singing. It sounds pleasant and upbeat, but lacks the usual Coldplay edge
14. Up With The Birds - The finale to the album carries hints of 'Amsterdam' and 'Death & All His Friends'. It's nicely done but the crescendo feels more underwhelming than it could have been.

Overall, a brilliant piece of work by Coldplay that keeps their style whilst pushing the boat into new territory - just needs some breaking in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay release another inspiring album, 11 Nov 2011
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
"Mylo Xyloto" is the fifth and most recent offering from Coldplay who are undoubtedly one of the most popular and successful bands of the past decade. Their music seems to have evolved as time has gone by and, on this particular album, the fusion of Pop, Rock and electronic sounds works to perfection, creating a very energetic and upbeat record.

"Hurts Like Heaven" is a very fast paced electronic Rock number with a great energy and infectious melody. The same can be said for the fantastic lead single "Paradise" which is a more mid-tempo track but is a true gem in that it possesses such a catchy chorus with a great string section. "Charlie Brown" follows in the same vein with a slightly rockier edge to it. After a punchy start to the album, "Up Against The World" is a pleasant and well crafted acoustic guitar ballad with Folk influences. The pace quickens once again with the addictive and anthemic "Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall" and the powerful "Major Minus". "U.F.O" is a short but sweet acoustic guitar tune followed by the wonderful Pop inspired "Princess Of China", featuring Rihanna. "Up In Flames" is a piano led ballad with a strong melody and beautiful arrangements. "Don't Let It Break Your Heart" is another fantastic Rock infused creation and the final track "Up With The Birds" starts off as a very melancholic and gentle piano led ballad and builds into a nicely crafted soft rock track.

There is a slightly more commercial feel to "Mylo Xyloto" compared to the 4 previous Coldplay albums, but I feel that this is quite a positive direction the band are taking as they are proving that they are willing to think outside the box, reinvent themselves and add new dimensions to their music. "Mylo Xyloto" represents a change in direction for them, but also a step forward and is a welcome addition to Coldplay's already accomplished catalogue of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 75 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good slice of Coldplay ... but with reservations, 29 Oct 2011
By 
John K. Gateley "johngateley" (Bracknell, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
Coldplay's set at Glastonbury this summer bought home to me just how good this band are. No U2 pretence; just a bunch of guys who enjoy what they do and are very good at doing it. Whether it's Chris Martin on the piano or their fantastic drummer (who reminds me of Animal from The Muppet Show!) bouncing his drum kit off the floor. The new songs they played like 'Charlie Brown' and 'Every Tear Drop' sounded anthemic as you would expect. They were great.

So, along comes the album some 4 months later and it's certainly uplifting. 'Paradise' is catchy but not great Coldplay while aongs like 'Hurts like Heaven' are strong and catchy. Chris Martin is no great lyricist; what he does do is create a wash of sound that you know will raise the rooves on stadia around the world. So, why have I only given this new album three stars? Production in one word. This album has been produced to death by idiots who think that pushing the levers all the way to 'max' is the way to deliver a great album. On a good hi-fi this album sounds sounds like its coming out of a cheap transistor radio made in the sixties. It's distorted, there is little light and shade - jusy bombastic production which is a great shame. Can producers please stop doing this? Give us music that sounds natural rather than pushed up to the max.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not outstanding., 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
After x&y Coldplay has been more or less repeating itself without getting any better. Still, I like their music, but this album was not remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapoointed, 9 July 2013
By 
Tinah (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (MP3 Download)
Couldn't quite enjoy other than a couple of tracks. Very different from the experience I had with their other records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 good tracks that you've allready heard a Mylion Xylion times on radio, 31 Jan 2013
By 
J. Sharp (Swansea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (MP3 Download)
It's okay. Well you will have heard all the best tracks a xyllion times on radio allready, and the stuff they don't play there is a reason for it - too dreary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average with good bits, 30 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
12 parts mournful durge, 2 parts (Paradise & Princess of China) brilliant.
should have gone through the Amazon playlist first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mylo xyoto review, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
As a huge Cold Play fan I am dissapointed with this record. It is a pop record with a rock flavour and could have been released by the Saturdays and nobody would be supprised. However Coldplay as great song writers have come up with two half great tracks and a couple of half decent tracks on this album so its just about worth a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Coldplay's 5th Album, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
I have been a huge Coldplay fan for a very long time now and I had very high hopes for this album. It's an important one, marking a real turning-point in their career which has really established themselves as British rock royalty and amongst the biggest bands of our generation.

I think that in general, this record is not bad at all. Paradise is one of my favourite singles from the album, but I also quite like Don't Let it Break your Heart and Hurts Like Heaven. Some of these songs will make life-changing festival anthems, and others will just come to grow on you with time (even if you are not a Coldplay fan). You could go nuts wondering how on earth Chris Martin & Co come up with such amazing lyrics. Major Minus is by far the best track on the album for me.

However, I do think there is something missing. It is certainly not my favourite Coldplay album (if you are wondering, my favourite is A Rush of Blood to the Head, hands down). Some of the tracks just simply don't fit in well with the rest of the album. Up with the Birds, for example, is quite boring and doesn't really do a traditional Coldplay finish for me. Also, there are too many unnecessary opening-tracks (Mylo Xyloto, MMIX and A Hopeful Transmission, which take up 3 out of the 14 tracks in total). Princess of China is the most shocking track, in my opinion, and I do think it wouldn't hurt to lose the synthesisers a wee bit.

One last point which I want to make is, that Moving to Mars (which you can find on the Every Teardrop is a Waterfall EP on iTunes) is an absolute work of art. I can't think of any reason why they haven't included it on the album, and I am disappointed because I think it would fit in so well, and could replace Up with the Birds or Up in Flames easily (which I don't think are songs which make the mark for where Coldplay stand today).

If you are new to Coldplay (and I am assuming you know them only through Paradise or Every Teardrop is a Waterfall), then I suggest you buy their earlier albums as well. They are truly a phenomenal band with enormous potential. Can't wait to see what's in line for us next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I WILL NOT BE RUSHING TO PLAY IT AGAIN, 5 Dec 2011
By 
FastHand (Harefield, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mylo Xyloto (Audio CD)
It's ok and that is about it. If I had heard it playing without knowing who it was then I would never have guessed it was Coldplay. There are no memorable tracks and it is much too much over produced reminiscence of Phil Spectors wall of sound. There are no lovely ballads, maybe I've been spoilt by their classic "Fix you" which was spell binding. I did'nt hate it enough to want to stop playing it, but at the same time I certainly do not feel excited enough to play it again. As one other reviewer stated it feels as if it was rushed out to keep the army of fans happy as they will buy it anyway just as I did. Sorry lads not one of your best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mylo Xyloto
Mylo Xyloto by Coldplay
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews