Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to Americans.
Reading the reviews of this film on Amazon.com, the imdb and various other american-dominated arenas, you will see it described as 'a crime against celluloid' and the oh-so-elegant phrase 'it sucked'.
Having seen the film I can't believe they're talking about the same one I saw, because this film is very good. A lyrical, sexy and moving portrayal of working class...
Published on 19 Feb 2006 by M

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars isn't quite right ...
Much as I like the work of Christophe Honore who co-wrote this, and Gael Morel who directed, I do think the film has quite a few problems. In fact this is the second version of it I have bought, so I obviously don't think it is completely bad! However my liking has too much to do with the way the four actors look - indeed it is marvellous to see the three brothers and...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by schumann_bg


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't listen to Americans., 19 Feb 2006
By 
M (St Albans, England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Le Clan [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Reading the reviews of this film on Amazon.com, the imdb and various other american-dominated arenas, you will see it described as 'a crime against celluloid' and the oh-so-elegant phrase 'it sucked'.
Having seen the film I can't believe they're talking about the same one I saw, because this film is very good. A lyrical, sexy and moving portrayal of working class masculinity in the foothills of southern France. The film presents three sections each dominated by one brother. In the first, Marc is presented as a drug-dealing thug on a path of self-destruction. The second presents Chistophe getting his life back on track after being released from prison. The third deals with Olivier, who rejects the world of crime that seduced his brothers and embarks instead on a passionate love affair with one of Marc's friends.
Compared to Morel's impressive earlier film 'A toute vitesse', 'le Clan' is less plot based and more concerned with character development. It has clearly been made for people of above average intelligence.
In conclusion, don't pay attention to the negative reviews. See this film and judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rough diamond., 1 April 2008
By 
Mr. S. Murphy (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Clan [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a wonderful movie and as much about our inability to deal with death as a young mans ability to tame the demon. It is simple but not simplistic and the character developments in the main are both believable and thought provoking. Although a sad tale one is left with hope. Beautifully acted and shot in the foothills of Southern France. The images of innocence and love are quite frankly breath taking and shown with grace and bravity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars isn't quite right ..., 13 Mar 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clan [DVD] (DVD)
Much as I like the work of Christophe Honore who co-wrote this, and Gael Morel who directed, I do think the film has quite a few problems. In fact this is the second version of it I have bought, so I obviously don't think it is completely bad! However my liking has too much to do with the way the four actors look - indeed it is marvellous to see the three brothers and Salim Kechiouche as the friend. Thomas Dumerchez is very appealing as the youngest - who is gay - while Stephane Rideau is iconic like a young Brando, and Nicolas Cazale has a tremendous anger mixed up with his grief. But the film really isn't convincing, as they are presented in so homoerotic a light it doesn't make sense. When do three brothers sleep naked and intertwined, with the father looking on for no good reason? And would straight guys really be inclined to use a transvestite prostitute one after the other as if it were quite normal, or sit masturbating together to porn when they are in their twenties? The macho goings-on of the eldest seem straight out of a comic-book fantasy - and it is hard to believe what we are being shown is really the result of the mother's death - the drugs feud that Cazale is involved in would presumably be going on anyway and has nothing to do with it. And the device of having Dumerchez talk to her photo seems a not very convincing way of filling us in with vital information.

I really like these actors but I think they can all be seen to better effect elsewhere. In fact Morel's next film starred the lovely Dumerchez with Catherine Deneuve in a film that also explored grief, but rather better - Apres Lui (Zone 1 only). Salim Kechiouche is in The String - also a gay role - playing alongside Claudia Cardinale, and better still, in Ozon's Les amants criminels, while Rideau is blisteringly sexy both in Les Roseaux sauvages starring alongside Gael Morel, and in the sublime Presque Rien. Le Clan should be brilliant and it certainly looks amazing - just look at that cover embrace! - but it is really an interesting failure. And there is a scene of terrible animal cruelty - I'm sure it's faked but it is very disturbing nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courageous and beautiful, 16 July 2006
By 
Doctor Whom "The Doctor" (Newton,, MA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Le Clan [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I leap to the defense of this wonderful, satisfying film also known as "Three Dancing Slaves".

Three handsome, loving, and lovable young adult brothers protect each other following the death of their beloved mother. Perhaps because of their loss, their 'feminine' sides are emphasized as much as is their masculinity. Relationships with each other and with other males are sensual and innocent, and are free of guile. The small amount of violence in the tale is all the more affecting because of the sympathy one feels for the characters, all suffering from stages of advanced testosterone poisoning.

Only a slightly corny twist to the end of the story of one of the brothers makes this less than a perfect film. The film is beautifully shot. The brothers are brilliantly portrayed, and their stories are touchingly told. I imagine that any open minded and open-hearted person will love this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and endearing......, 15 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: The Clan [DVD] (DVD)
A beautifully cast French master piece, originally known as 'Le Clan'.

Three brothers as diverse as their internal struggles, face their inner demons after the untimely death of their mother. One implodes after descending into a world of grief and unsaid emotion, whilst his father seems incapable of understanding. Another finds compromise in conformity, believing that if he pleases his father and does what he is told, then there is no need to think on things past. Then there is the younger, who initially seems frail and in need of protection, only to emerge as the brother who least requires it despite the demands of his father.

It is indeed devastating to loose a beloved mother whilst transcending from a boy into a man, and those that have experienced this in their own lives will know how such can both directly and indirectly impact on their lives. It is equally destructive to have a father misconstrue grief as weakness, and demand that his sons move beyond that grief. Social demands and false expectations rooted in normative versions of masculinity are tools of destruction often used by people without understanding. Grief is not a weakness, and men are entitled to grieve for however long they need.

Such can mould a boy's psyche, forcing him into a world where honest emotion is made void, and tragedy and ever present reality. Then there are the other demands of adolescence which must find expression in the middle of all of this, and each boy finds himself forced to face the truth of themselves.

Anyone who has faced such a truth in their own lives knows that when presented with the brutal, honest reality of oneself in a time of grief, he or she either embraces that truth or flees from it. So it is with the three brothers portrayed in this mesmerising film. Two of them fail horribly, albeit in different ways. Whilst one emerges victorious, despite his own impediments and in a manner which surprises the audience.

Like most French cinema this film explores the dynamic of raw emotion, believing that the whole experience of art is within itself a demand for cinematic success. Pretty actors are within themselves not good enough, as the director forces each actor to face the bitter and uncomfortable. They have to experience the pain of the characters in order to portray them. The scripting is superb, with a strong leading dynamic, cleverly infused with comedy and wit. The actors ability to portray such is a testament to the Directors dynamic and their professionalism. He has indeed spent a great deal of time on the relationships portrayed in the film, and his success is without question.

One is left breathless, moved and enriched, as one should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, 27 May 2007
By 
Mr. C. C. Barrett "worldismyoyster" (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Clan [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film has obviously been made by a group of extremely good professionals. All actors depict their characters brilliantly and encourage very deep empathy within the viewer, in spite of any other violence or callousness they show. The music used within the film sets the mood excellently, without being an intrusion or a gloss. The division of the film into three sections, each ostensibly focusing on one of three brothers, is a clever way of arranging the content.

Whilst I thought the film was really well made and did a good job of describing the characters and setting, there was no identifiable storyline. It was as if we were presented with a slice of this family's life, but with no evident build-up, resolution, conclusion or finale. I'd perhaps recommend this to people who would like to see a section of French life that is novel and unexpected, but not as an entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not For Animal Lovers!, 25 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clan [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of LGBT films I enjoy picking ones from Peccadillo Pictures that Amazon recommends me. But this one i could not bring myself to watch it all fully.

The Description makes it sound good "In the shadow of the French Alps, love, obsession and passion collide when three brothers in a close-knit family are forced to confront what has until then brought them together, and what will now tear them apart. Sexy French superstars Nicolas Cazalé ('Le Grand Voyage') and Stéphane Rideau ('Presque Rien') star in this epic portrait of simmering masculinity and a family unit in a fiery state of flux."

But the way these lads treat the dog is awful. In-fact I managed to get to 28mins of the film. But when the fighting started and the dog was right in the middle, whimpering. It was all too much for me. So I stopped watching and put the DVD in the bin.

I know this makes me sound soft. But I hate to watch animals like that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHARACTER STUDY OF DISFUNCTIONAL SIBLINGS, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clan [DVD] (DVD)
The French have a foothold on in depth psychological character studies on film which also turn out to be entertaining and here is a case in point. A father whose world is coming apart as he tries to cope (mainly unsympathetically) with the passing of his wife; and his three very different but flawed sons. The break up of this fragile family unit occupies the bulk of the film. To express why and how would be too involved for a review such as this. Suffice it to say that the paths to self destruction are many and varied and this movie explores several of the most poignant to good effect. Gael Morel has fashioned a lushly photographed. scenic, well played tragedy which explores the sensuality as well as depravity of young male existance, although the male behaviour in some individual scenes stretches credulity. This is not a gay film as such though it is homoerotic and there is a lot of flesh on display. The eldest brother played by Stephane Rideau (Presque Rien & new release Our Paradise) is released from gaol set on a new and crimefree life. Of course nothing goes according to plan. Middle son, Nicolas Cazale, is the most desparate and self destructive. Cazale is brilliant in an unsympathetic role. The youngest,Thomas Dumerchez, is the most openly affected since losing his mother. He is also gay and finds solace in the arms of Hicham played by the always excellent Salim Kechiouche (Grande Ecole, The String). The story is told in three segments, one about each brother. The most affecting is the third, about Christophe, and is conveyed through a long letter narrated by Hicham, the two having become estranged. But this is only the beginning. Lots more happens and there is a particularly grisly scene involving a pet dog. Still, this is a beautiful film to look at and with repeated viewings weaves a kind of spell of its own helped by a haunting soundtrack. In French with accurate subtitles. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film., 23 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. R. J. Acton (Portsmouth. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Le Clan [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
L e Clan is a remarkable film involving three brothers.lt is almost like three films in one since you see life from each of the brothers perspective, l found the film at times very moving, the brothers being very different to each other and how they see things in their lives but still linked together.The
acting of all three and their friends is brilliant, well written very believeable,its certainly not all doom and gloom it has its lighter times and at times
some almost farcical moments as well.You will find yourself watching this film again and again, l fully rcommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars clan, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Clan [DVD] (DVD)
loved from the start the actors made the film and i was hook from the start it was story about be long and falling in love with a same sex
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Clan [DVD]
The Clan [DVD] by GaŽl Morel (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: £33.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews