Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Man Possessed
A P McCoy may have mellowed a little in recent seasons but this book tells us just what drove him on, year after year, injury after injury, to become the best ever jumps jockey in history. From riding his first ever winner - Legal Steps a 20/1 outside in a 12 furlong Thurles maiden in March 1992 - all A P ever wanted was to ride another and another and another. And he has...
Published on 22 Aug. 2012 by Ken4155

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but good
hasn't come with in delivery date, but good book
Published 4 months ago by ...


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Man Possessed, 22 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
A P McCoy may have mellowed a little in recent seasons but this book tells us just what drove him on, year after year, injury after injury, to become the best ever jumps jockey in history. From riding his first ever winner - Legal Steps a 20/1 outside in a 12 furlong Thurles maiden in March 1992 - all A P ever wanted was to ride another and another and another. And he has done! He has broken every record there was to break for a rider and has very likely set the bar so high that his records will never be broken. And not without sacrifice. McCoy is teetotal and a non-smoker who sticks to a meagre diet in his pursuit of winners and openly dreads the day when he will have to retire. Which, he says, will be the moment he realises that he will no longer be known as 'Champ'. But to those of us who have benefitted financially from his riding skills, or who have just stood and watched in admiration as he cajoled one last effort from his mount to get up on the line, he will always be the 'Champ'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far better than the predecessor, a sound read, 30 Nov. 2011
By 
Catrin Nack (Hamburg Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
I confess that I intensely disliked AP McCoy for a long long time. He was far too driven for my liking, just counting winner, never seem to bother about the horses; his were the last-fence fallers etc. But the change in McCoy's attitude towards the game was there for all to see, so found myself warming up to him and even voting for him to be SPOTY. What a great night that was for him!

This autobiography, written with the help of Don Mclean, who did already help Mick Fitzgerald among others, starts just at the very night when McCoy was voted SPOTY, and they takes up McCoys life-story more or less chronological (as you would expect :))

Written in a far more relaxed style, with a hint of irony thrown in here and there, of course McCoy has more than one story to tell, and they all make a good read. His growing-up years with the help of early mentor Billy Rock, his appareniceship with no other than Jim Bolger, his switch to England, the pursue of his then-girlfriend - now wife- Chantelle, his relentless appetite for winners, his years with Martin Pipe, his McManus years - you name it, its dealt with in nice detail. McCoy relates some private details here as well, the ups and downs in his private life (in fact one does wonder how and WHY Chantelle, who initially didnt seem too interested, did change her mind and did stick it out with him!), the devasting blows some fatally injured horses gave him (Gloria Victis, Valiramix and Wichita Lineman are not forgotten, just to name some), his thoughts on Irish Racing - its all there. The wonder that is McCoys little daughter Eve gets lots af attention, McCoys love for here shining through every line. These emotions, good and sad, make this book far more worthwhile than the older autobiography, and a far far better read than the Carberry-one, for example.

In fact, it doesnt leave a lot to be desired, really. McCoy doesnt spare his critic where he thinks its due - Brave Incas owners might not like what he has to say about them; incl. some thoughts about the current whip argument. There are many nice photos in here as well, so get if for yourself, or as a nice christmas pressie. Its well worth it, and what better jockey to recall some fabulous National Hunt years with?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A P McCoy, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
P. Manchester (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A well written, highly readable story of a quite remarkable career which could go on for another season or two. He has rewritten the record books and it's unimaginable that we will ever see his like again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Real McCoy" in his own words, 14 Feb. 2012
By 
Colin Mayo "Rooster Booster" (Hemel Hempstead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
This is the second biography of McCoy's I've read and this time he is far more candid and insightful about personal relationships and relationships with trainers as well as his obsession with beating records such as Sir Gordon Richards record for the most winners in a season. There is also far more detail than in his previous biography and now he has a daughter, Eve, and happy marriage he is perhaps more reflective - he knows his career is reaching its end. A fascinating insight into a driven man though I still prefer the laconic, laid back style of Ruby Walsh's bio (which I rate the best I've read by a jock) and also Timmy Murphy's bio. Still, McCoy is the No 1 jump jockey of all time and if you want to know why the answers are within this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AP McCoy My Biography, 15 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
Wonderful book, very honest and makes the Sport of Kings look excellent. His personal pofile was so extremely interesting, I have bought another copy for another jockey Love it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A.P. McCOY, 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Oma Dia (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
As a N.H. race fan, have over the years read quite a few autobiographies of jockeys , Mick Fitzgerald, Ruby were favourites, but this is really special. Its a real no warts book and McCoy's personality, not an easy man, comes through well. You can't knock the man, he has done all he set out to do and more, much more, but it was good to see the human side as well. Sometimes he finds himself hard to live with, so Chanelle must be a special person. Read it over two days, waking up early to continue. Recommend to anyone interested in racing, a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly good read, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This book gives a real insight into the day to day life of the top jump jockey in the history of racing. You can feel the frustration the delight and the real sadness that AP experienced along his amazing journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Racing Genius, 26 Nov. 2011
This review is from: My Autobiography (Hardcover)
This a most interesting account not only of his life on the race trackbut of his private life- very revealing about his life both before marriage. In addition his description of his relationship wth trainers and owners makes an intruiging story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to succeed., 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
His determination to succeed, what he went through and being an honest bastard to achieve his goals and forgiving wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good honest read., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
An honest and frank opinion of the horse racing world as seen through the eyes of the current champion jockey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Autobiography
My Autobiography by A.P. McCoy
£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews