Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud
Mr Brian Johnson has a unique turn of phrase and is a funny bastard to booth!! The book consists of a collection of tales set around his love of cars. This book doesn't offer a deep insight into his life but there is enough to confirm that he would make for very good company indeed. Well worth a read and expect to laugh out loud at times,
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by where an inch is a mile

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dull
D.u.l.l book. By Brian Johnson of AC/DC. Should stick to rock and rolling with the best band in the world.
Published 1 month ago by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud, 17 Oct 2009
Mr Brian Johnson has a unique turn of phrase and is a funny bastard to booth!! The book consists of a collection of tales set around his love of cars. This book doesn't offer a deep insight into his life but there is enough to confirm that he would make for very good company indeed. Well worth a read and expect to laugh out loud at times,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great storytelling, 23 Aug 2010
What i like most on this book it's the way it is written, it changes from the same ol' artists biography, i didn't learn much more from what goes on inside AC/DC, and that wasn't the purpose, but i know better about Brian and his love of cars and all the crazy things that happens with them, honestly, i cracked laughing alone like a lunatic many times, if you love English humor, funny tales and cars, this is the book for you, thanks Brian for sharing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Knob Gags Galore!, 29 Oct 2009
If you're a fan of cars and/or AC/DC, this is a cracker. As mentioned above, it's not an in-depth account of his life (or his band), just a random collection of motor related anecdotes.

If you ever meet Brian (which I'm lucky enough to have done), you'll know he is a very, very funny 'salt-of-the-earth' guy, with a suitably earthy sense of humour. The absence of any real chronology, combined with the fact that he manages to shoehorn a knob/sex gag into nearly every other sentence, makes you feel like he's cheerfully recounting these tales to you, pint-in-hand, propping up the bar next to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rockers and rollers book, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Stephen Wilks (norwich,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent book buy acdc's frontman.if you like acdc and cars and want a really good laugh at the same time,then this is for you,its brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, many laugh out loud moments, 11 Jun 2013
After a chance encounter with Brian (and one of his Ferraris) in the Tyne Valley last week, I went and got hold of this book. For a multi millionaire world famous star Brian has not lost his sense of humour and is proud of his roots. The book is a collection of stories by this great raconteur which had me laughing out loud. Get the audiobook as read by Brian - his way of telling stories means it's even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT!!!, 30 Nov 2009
10/10 - superb anecdotes. Perfect for those over 40's die hard rockers who want to go back to the good ol' days! Filled with laugh out loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brian Johnson's Automotiveography, 17 Nov 2009
By 
I purchased this book because I am a huge AC/DC fan and I think that Brian Johnson is hilarious. The only reason why I give this item 4 stars is because there was very little about AC/DC throughout the book which I was slightly disapointed over. However Johnson's sense of humor is awesome and ended up keeping me entertained the whole way through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth as a gravy sandwich, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
From believing Rolls Royce only made hearses to an amazing fact about Angus Young this is a great read that will have you laughing out loud, as long as you have a sense of humour. Definitely one for the lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
D.u.l.l book. By Brian Johnson of AC/DC. Should stick to rock and rolling with the best band in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Actually Rather good..., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I kept on meaning to buy / read this for a couple of years but you know how things go - and it must have been a couple of years of thinking I must get round to it that I eventually did - Wish I'd done it sooner.

The main thing I get from this book if the enthusiasm and love of cars that one man has - and how he just loves the fact that he is able to indulge himself in this because of his music career- and I don't begrudge him a second of it!

Oddly, reading it I can hear his Geordie accent and it genuinely comes across like he just wants to share his love of cars with you - lets face it Brian probably doesn't need the money from this book! Little stories of growing up, bad buys, good buys and stories involving cars (and invariably girls) such as -his friends buying impetuously and then suffering the consequences all make up for a very humorous and enjoyable easy read.

He's a great raconteur with a great sense of humour and a genuine passion for all things automotive - I ripped through it in one sitting and its been a while since I did that to a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews