Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky rock classic
I gather that this is not rated highly as a Little Feat album. But it's the only one I know, and I love it! Lowell George funks out, and the riffs are just the jazzy side of rock, with interesting little extra bars and odd time signiatures. Day at the Dog Races is still the (instrumental) highlight. The older I get the more I like Old Folks Boogie. And Missing You is a...
Published on 9 Sep 2003 by C. Salter

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Little Feat "Time Loves a Hero"
Time Loves A HeroGreat album....one of my prized vinyl possessions. However, have tried uploading both the CD and Amazon MP3 versions into itunes, and all I get is a fuzzy playback with the music struggling in the background. Anyone else get this?? Amazon......I am coming back for another refund!!
Published 19 months ago by Fat Boab


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funky rock classic, 9 Sep 2003
By 
C. Salter "Colin Salter" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
I gather that this is not rated highly as a Little Feat album. But it's the only one I know, and I love it! Lowell George funks out, and the riffs are just the jazzy side of rock, with interesting little extra bars and odd time signiatures. Day at the Dog Races is still the (instrumental) highlight. The older I get the more I like Old Folks Boogie. And Missing You is a lovely poignant litle coda. Musically and lyrically it's a really rich and interesting set of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fushion Boogie, 9 Jun 2006
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
Little feat were one of the most touted bands of the 70's and literally blew headline acts on stage when they played as support.

This is one of the band's most eclectic releases with less input from founder and ace slide guitarist Lowell George, but more in the way of improvisational jazz fushion from classically trained keyboard player Bill Payne and guitarist Paul Barrere. Apparently this was a direction not favoured by George.

There is still more of the lowell magic, however, on 'New Delhi Freightrain' and 'Rocket in my pocket', but the stand out track 'Day at the Day Races', not pennned by George, races along energtically in a brilliant swirl of keyboards and guitars.

Although not as highy rated as earlier releases there is no doubting the sheer class of other tracks 'Red Streamliner' where Michael McDonald adds soulful vocals and the poignant 'Missin you' which ends in a pretty sublime note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, 14 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
Had this as a tape years ago so on a whim bought the CD version. Not what I quite remembered but getting use to it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Little Feat "Time Loves a Hero", 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (MP3 Download)
Time Loves A HeroGreat album....one of my prized vinyl possessions. However, have tried uploading both the CD and Amazon MP3 versions into itunes, and all I get is a fuzzy playback with the music struggling in the background. Anyone else get this?? Amazon......I am coming back for another refund!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
Very good classic Little Feat album.This almost ranks up their with the excellent "Last Record Album" and should be very much in the collection of loyal fans.The song "Rocket in my Pocket" and "Red stream Liner" are wonderful.The latter has some great harmonies going on....the outtake of the latter is also superb on their fantastic live "Waiting for Columbus".Should stand the test of time and is a hero for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Even an average Little Feat album trounces the rest, 24 Aug 2008
By 
Jeffrey M. Black "jblack437" (Stockport) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
By now, the band's leader, Lowell George was steeped in the drug problems that would shortly kill him. The couple of tracks he penned here were from the sessions for the album's predecessor 'The Last Record Album'.

So instead the band's keyboard player, Bill Payne takes the helm. The result is admittedly fine jazz-rock excursions and Eagles-type West Coast rock - but they just don't have the verve of previous albums. Don't get me wrong - this is a fine album in anybody's book. However, the lack of centre from Lowell's creative presence is evident.

The best album Little Feat could have made at this point - and still miles better than any lesser band could manage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best LITTLE FEAT albums ever, 25 Mar 2005
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
This is definitely the best LITTLE FEAT release with Lowell George on Guitar and vocals. - Starting with the Frank Zappa - Band, Lowell George formed Little Feat in the late 60s. This is the last studio release before Lowell George left the band. - This CD features one of the most important instrumental (prog rock) tracks of the 70s: Day at the Dog Races. - If you are new to this band, I recommend this album for a first-time buyer. If you are more interested in Live recordings, you have to start with "Waiting For Columbus".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Like...., 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Loves A Hero (Audio CD)
...I remember it. Maybe I had a Feat compilation 30 years ago? Sadly will prob be given away....oh well....c'est la vie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Loves A Hero
Time Loves A Hero by Little Feat
Buy MP3 Album7.11
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews