Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels Soundtrack - It's emotional...
***This review is for the original soundtrack album, and NOT the actual film. Unhelpfully Amazon have lumped reviews of film and soundtrack together.***

For a while Guy Ritchie seemed to be the British equivalent of Tarantino, making films with various shades of dodgy and violent characters getting caught up in weird and wonderful situations, all with a...
Published 21 months ago by Victor

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For those considering the Blu-Ray release: this *not* the 114 min. version
This information only relates to the Jan 25th, 2010 Blu-Ray release from Universal UK.

Although this product is advertised as being the 114 minute version (i.e, the Director's Cut), it sadly is just the plain 108 minute theatrical release. I informed Amazon about this some time ago; but the information listed at present is still incorrect.

The PQ and...
Published on 12 Feb 2010 by Martin Andersen


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 May 2000
By A Customer
The best film i have ever seen. The theme is brilliant and it could not be any better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bluray Review, 1 Jun 2011
By 
Jason "guirri2" (Teddington, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this movie and as it had disappeared from my collection I decided to upgrade to the bluray copy. Having recently bought a projector (optoma hd 600x) and screen I am looking for movies which look outstanding. Sadly this copy of Lock, Stock... is not one of them. Grainy, yellowy and probably no better than the DVD when on a 100 inch screen. So a 5 star movie, no doubt, but if you have a copy already and are thinking of going hi def; think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely hilarious cockney geezer flick!, 29 July 2007
I'm afraid the previous reviewer, "scribbler", is probably the only person in Britain who A) doesn't like the film and B) embarrisngly for him, doesn't understand the simple but intelligent script. This is full of real-life gangsters -like Lenny Maclean, who leathered Roy Shaw a couple times in bare knuckle boxing fights, who make this gritty and and hilariously twisted comedy the entertaining and smash hit it is.

I simply don't understand how any young person or middle aged person for that matter cannot find this film entertaining.

Scribbler perhaps you might like "Murder She Wrote" instead!

Pure class!!!
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guy Ritchies Best, 21 July 2006
By 
Darryl Curtis "Max" (Shepperton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Lock Stock rocks along at a pace. The energy driving the cast on is unlike any film I had seen before or since. I am never quite sure if this is best described as a comedy or a gangster film. I certainly is funny is a dark way.

4 dodgy guys (apart from soap) get involved too deeply in a game of cards, loose a load of cash that they don't have. The chaos insuing when they try and work how to get it back, and hatch a very unsafe plan is great to watch. The complexity of the intertwined stories means this film is best enjoyed a few times over, so you have to buy it.

One of my favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guy Ritchie delivers..., 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Guy Ritchie was born on September 10th, "The day of Private Goals." Whether of not his goal when writing Lock Stock was to create a hilarious, fast-paced look at the lives of four friends among porn kings, drug dealers and gangsters - he certainly achieved it. Superbly directed, and sporting an impressive cast, Lock Stock and two Smoking Barrels is a fantastic film success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GUY RICHIE FILM! - Says it all!!!, 16 Mar 2006
By 
L.S "lauras_no1_horror_fan" (Bradford, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
If you are familiar with Guy Richies other films (Snatch, Mean Machine, Revolver) YOU WILL LOVE THIS FILM!!
It has the same feel to it as the other Richie films and sometimes the same cast (Jason Statham, Vinnie Jones.)

The film follows a group of men who all chip in to play a poker game where the stakes are high and you have to have at least £100,000 to play, of course - they end up owing half a million to a Pornshop owner/ruthless gangster. In order to get the money in time they have to.......
I don't wanna ruin it for you cos it is a TOP British gangster film, not over the top where the Americans ruin it, but full of realistic plots, an excellent storyline with twists and turns and gritty black humour.
Great for the Brit-flick fans, gangster/action fans, Vinnie Jones fans as he makes his film screen debut, and people who dont mind watching a film with plenty of guns, blood, violence and swearing, but will also make you laugh your socks off!
A TOP FILM, great from the start to the end, accompanied by an excellent soundtrack!
a must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lock Stock Soundtrack, 16 Dec 2005
By 
D. J. Malleson "themulletboy" (Enfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a cool soundtrack, from a cool film. Some great tracks in there, my favourites are 'The Boss' by James Brown and tune I had never heard before, 'Liar Liar' by The Castaways, which is cool, 60s rythmn and blues. Buy the album, so many gems in there. Makes a great driving playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Seedy Humour That Does't Disappoint, 9 Aug 2005
A film worth buying just to say you own it. This film is brilliant. Not one to watch if you don't like the f word though! Lots of relatively simple plots, all slowly weaving together-this film keeps switching between them- just long enough so you don't forget them, Until at the end they all meet, and then, after the climax...I'll let you find out. Stunning film, 11 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An impressive film, 29 Mar 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I never watched this when it first came out - the hype put me off.

It was only a few hours ago (when my teething six month old got me up at 02:45) that I watched this film.

I wasn't expecting much. I thought it would a machismo film with a spattering of bad language and violence....

...But I was taken by surprise!

This is a great film! I love they way that several seemingly unlinked groups end up tied together through plot twists. You can see a lot of it coming - but that adds to the humour, you're laughing BEFORE whatever is about to happen, happens!

Speaking of humour, there's bags of it here. Some if it is pretty black, and some of it is quite warm, there's something for everybody.

I thought this film might be one of those that glamorises the Gangster scene, and to be honest, it does to a large extent - but <SPOILER ALERT> it was great to see the culmination of several stories, ultimately ending up with the good guys (well, the most good of the lot anyway!) coming out on top.

I thought the final scene was very Italian Job-esque, but that's certainly not a bad thing.

Vinnie Jones did well in his first big acting role, one of the main strengths of this film is the warmth between some of the characters - and the moments with "Big Chris" and his son are some of the best in the film.

This will go down as a classic and rightly so, although sometimes it seems a little hammed up - it is an intelligent, well acted film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black humoured beauty, 9 Aug 2005
By 
Everyone knows that Ritches debue film is nothing short of amazing. Intimidating dialouge, gritty camera work and violent moves. You really should own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa3b445c)

This product

Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrels
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews