Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bit of kit, customer service was outstanding
As a UK customer ordering early, this product was dispatched direct from USA, we needed it for a tour of South America at the end of the week we ordered it, and amazingly it turned up in 3 days.

Having used the old GoPro - this version is better. Sharper, more options, and a more intuitive user interface.

You may find as we do that a large SD card...
Published on 6 Dec 2011 by IvoryHaze

versus
70 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go Pro wash their hands.
Recently purchased this product for surfing, along with LCD back and wrist strap, and the surf pack. On the first surf, the sticky pad didn't hold the camera in a small wave and the whole rig sank to the bottom (luckily it was shallow water), so purchased their 'floaty back'. On the second surf the system wouldn't turn on, so came out of the water to find the 'waterproof'...
Published 19 months ago by GFP


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 109 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic bit of kit, customer service was outstanding, 6 Dec 2011
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
As a UK customer ordering early, this product was dispatched direct from USA, we needed it for a tour of South America at the end of the week we ordered it, and amazingly it turned up in 3 days.

Having used the old GoPro - this version is better. Sharper, more options, and a more intuitive user interface.

You may find as we do that a large SD card will last longer than the standard battery, so we are looking at getting more batteries or perhaps the batterypac.

Video quality is great in 1080p @ 30fps or 720p @ 60fps. Personally i feel the 120fps to be a bit gimmicky as the resolution is like an old webcam. (when lets face it, anything that you want to show at 120fps is probably an action you want to see very crisp at the highest possible resolution) In this instance 720p @ 60fps and then slowing the footage by generating the extra frames in post is a better option.

Another minor gripe is that the mic input is on the side of the GoPro, which means from the standard open backed skeleton case, we cannot rig up our rode videomicpro to the camera directly whilst it is in its housing, which in a couple of instances would have been a nice touch.

Don't buy this expecting your shots to look as good as a dSLR with a good lens, the video compression rate on the footage is a lot higher than off a dSLR setup, the sensor size to capture the detail is smaller, and the lens has nowhere near the dynamic capabilities of a good dSLR lens... However, that is not what this should be compared to. When compared with cams like the ContourHD, yes the gopro looks odd, you may feel like an idiot wearing it, and there is a lot of squeaking from the plastic hinges when the ride gets a bit bumpy.. but the better low light, easy to use interface, easy expandability (there are a ton of accessories) and most importantly - the image quality mean that for all the shortcomings, we absolutely love this bit of kit, it's small so we take it everywhere with us.

If you are looking for a compact HD camera, with wide angle POV possibilities - in our humble opinion it is really hard to find a rival product on the market that ticks as many boxes as the GoPro HD Hero2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GoPro HD Hero2 camcorder, 30 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Having been using a GoPro Hero camcorder for the last 3 months I was excited to get the latest model for Christmas. Initial tests do show it is better than the previous one. I especially like the increased resolution for still pictures. My LCD back fitted straight on and worked; the housings are interchangable; the menu is easier to understand; the lights all round to show when it is on are a GREAT improvement - no more photos looking up my nose at the beginning and end.

But GoPro, I use this mainly underwater and you are still supplying it with the crappy, out of focus lens in the housing. I will have to spend another 40 to get a replacement. Shame on you especially as your advert has some stunning underwater shots of sharks. So what lens did you use for those? Underwater this week I used the Hero 2 in my old housing and it does work well in less light. I got good results with lights too and it looks like the white balance has improved.

So great new camera but same old faulty housing. If you are using it above water then it is fine and easily gets 5 stars. Below water you need to spend extra money to get it usable so only 4 but great when it is fixed.

If you want to see how it works underwater in challenging conditions then follow Scottish Scuba Channel on YouTube. All videos up until 28th December 2011 are with a GoPro Hero. New ones will be mainly GoPro 2. Both will be using a replacement flat lens in the housing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Go Pro wash their hands., 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Recently purchased this product for surfing, along with LCD back and wrist strap, and the surf pack. On the first surf, the sticky pad didn't hold the camera in a small wave and the whole rig sank to the bottom (luckily it was shallow water), so purchased their 'floaty back'. On the second surf the system wouldn't turn on, so came out of the water to find the 'waterproof' housing had leaked. GO Pro inspected the setup, and deemed that it wasn't covered by their guarantee system. Apparently it has nothing to do with being waterproof. An outlay of nearly 500, and it lasted for 45 minutes in the water. I pray you never have the same problem.
Annoyed is an understatement.
The camera itself is terrific, but the service from Go Pro leaves a lot to be desired. Would never tell anyone to risk their money on this product if it is going near the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS CAMERA YET!!!, 23 Oct 2012
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Anyone thinkign of buying this. Hold out! The GoPro 3 has been announced and will be released in the UK mid November 2012. The price of this one will tumble as soon as the new one is out. So don't pay this price! Wait one more month!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for underwater use!, 26 Jun 2012
By 
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Good quality video in normal use, but there's a problem.

The camera and housing is advertised as being waterproof to an impressive 60 metres. Great, one might think, I can use it for diving and underwater filming. Not true however; the standard Hero2 setup will not produce sharply focussed video underwater. Googling the issue reveals a lot of comment about this. Unfortunately I only found this after I'd acquired the camera.

This is a known problem, requiring a redesign of the housing lens, that GoPro have been tardy to address. Until they do so, advertising the depth rating - without any warnings about the focus issue - is misleading people into thinking this is a viable underwater camera. As it stands, it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ok camera but dont use it in the water, 25 April 2012
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Bought the camera and after only a handful of times it had significant water damage (well thats what Gopro says) all it did was becoming foggy all the time even though I maintained the seals properly. Having bought a lens kit as well I ve got equipment worth 380 ready for the bin.
I would not recommend the Product, its another classic example of Americans selling cheap chinese plastics through their marketing...i ve learned my lesson the hard (expensive) way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Faulty out of the box, 15 Sep 2012
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
The GoPro freezes during video recording randomly. It worked fine for a few weeks but now no matter what SD card is used or how it is formatted the camera freezes during recording on a random basis. When it freezes you have to open it up and remove the battery. VERY VERY poor product. I would recommend looking elsewhere as it seems a lot of people have this problem. No official word from GoPro about the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bit disfunctional but so much character it makes you love it!, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Now this is a strange one.

The image quality sucks compared to cameras of the same price range, no LCD (sold separately), only two buttons to operate it and not even a tripod mount included. Also audio is very poor when hand-held because of case "sqeaking".

BUT somehow I love this camera.

Being so small and mountable helps you make great videos. It is easy to carry around and always there ready in seconds to record anything that might pop up and be worth it.

The menu, although only operated by two (!) buttons, was easy enough to learn within a day. Bit long winded when you want to change settings on the fly but strangely, this camera has so much character and usability that I honestly don't really mind.

A very good buy, but only giving it 4* because of all the extra money you need to spend on accessories to make it worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Product but God help you if it goes wrong, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
Go Pro cameras are usually excellent, but their after sales service in the event of a fault is a disgrace. My camera went wrong three months after purchase, freezing after a software update. It was returned to California from the UK, at my own cost, in October 2012. Despite their enormous sales in Europe, Go-Pro have no warranty or after-sales structure worthy of the name in Europe. After an extended period, Go Pro finally agreed to replace their faulty product, but eight weeks later it has still not been recieved. They insist that each faulty product is fully assessed in California before any decision to replace is taken. This is a very lengthy process and of course the customer is deprived of the use of the product throughout the period. In my case, even after a decision to replace was taken, there was a significant delay in sending a new camera. On top of the delays, Go Pro mislabelled the replacement, resulting in a demand for VAT from the courier company before the replacement could be delivered. So - more than 250 spent, a few weeks of use, endless frustration and chasing of an ineffecient warranty system, a period where I am unable to use the product I paid for and still no replacement camera. You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be seduced check it out first, 10 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition (Camera)
It goes like this you want the product and you are swayed by the glowing reviews. But before you press the purchase button check out the on-line forums first, as has been said elsewhere 'a good product but God help you if it goes wrong". I bought the Hero 3 model but I suffered problems which had unbeknown to me existed and still does with the Hero 2 as well. Bought it from a local cycle shop on 2nd November and by the 7th December it had been returned. I had used it about 6 or 7 times during my brief ownership and it all started when the unit turned itself off after about an hour of recording.

With various attempts of removing the battery and the Micro SD Card I got it to work again but it turned itself off again after ten minutes, got it home and connected it to the laptop only to find the unit was no longer recognised as an external drive, again with the removal of the battery and card I managed to get some life out of it and left it on change, making sure the battery was FULLY charged. Out a day later and the same thing happened, after an hour turned itself off. I went through the same procedure and got it going again, it stopped again this time in about one and half minutes, did it again and it turned itself off again in a little over thirty seconds. From that point onwards the unit was completely lifeless, no amount of 'playing' with it brought the unit back to life.

I searched the web to find out if anyone else had this problem only to find it by no means isolated, people were even posting You Tube videos demonstrating the same problem with both the Hero 2 and 3. I found a plethora of issues with some seriously disgruntled owners complaining amongst other things the apparent diabolical service from GoPro Support. If you check the support page you will notice that, for the large amount of issues posted and complaints made, there is very little offering from GoPro in support postings.

What did I do, took it back and sought a refund on the basis that I have no trust in the unit and the company. From the complaints made it seems that GoPro need to learn a lesson in customer service and satisfaction and perhaps if they get enough of their units thrown back at them they may do something about it. Gave this one star for the quality and versatility of the mounts etc. As for the camera it was a complete failure so no stars at all !

Update 16th December 2012

Checked more forums and You Tube found a particularly relevant You Tube video "GoPro Camera = 90% Great + 10% CRAP!!!", check it out.

Just find it amazing that GoPro still seem to be getting away with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb13e1c9c)

This product

GoPro Camera HD Hero2 Outdoor Edition
Used & New from: 159.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews