Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arty but good
A "quietly reckless" university student joins a service that offers its clients alternative kinky experiences. Eventually she takes on the job of sleeping while the clients spend time with her.

It's a very curious Australian art film that tells its "story" in an unconventional, deliberately flat and stately way. Do not expect dramatic fireworks or even much...
Published on 25 Jun 2012 by BS on parade

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unfulfilled promise
I really thought this would be my sort of film , it has all the right ingredients, but it feels like a film students arty project rather than a professional effort. It drifts along dreamily , nothing wrong with that at all ,I like slow European and / or Art films. But this feels like an unfinished first edit. There are so many unresolved issues. And Lucy , however well...
Published 14 months ago by I. Stuart


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
Interesting in some parts maybe hard to understand, strong storyline it's gonna make you have to think
Overall: ok, if you understand it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a revolutionary film, 8 Aug 2013
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
To make a film causing such outrage and blank dumb rejection took a lot of courage. Here is a film with no explicit hyper fantasised pornographic sex, no gratuitous artificial gory noisy violence, but censored in France and many other countries for showing what we all know :failing sexuality in aging men and the typical student apathy of the 20 year old when the realisation that the idealised study of higher mathematics is useless in a commercialised capitalist market based reality. Lucy copes by testing herself and her body. Birdmann does not.

Julia Leigh tells this story in visual images and a verbal narrative loaded with subtext.

Lucy's character is developed in subtle scenes and timed fade outs. The viewer is forced to experience this film as a dream or nightmare and some can't see it through.

But many others realise that this film needs study and repeated viewing to appreciate the tiny details and literary references to the Japanese and Perrault fairy tale sources.

This is about the most anti-Hollywood film you could ever see but the technical daring in pace, sound design ,colour palette , unemotional acting style , one- take scene framing and extensive use of anti-erotic nudity is breathtaking.

There is also wry humour and a devastatingly accurate portrait of mundane modern university and student odd job life, contrasted with the fantasy world of the Sleeping Beauty Chamber.

Amazing work by all concerned, especially the tour de force of Emily Browning (in every scene), Rachael Blake , Peter Carrol and Chris Haywood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Film Not for Everyone., 2 Aug 2013
By 
Keith Dymock "Admirer" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
This is an Australian-made film based on a young university student becoming involved with middle-aged men without her knowledge! This attractive young lady needs to improve the circumstances under which she is living while attending university. She therefore answers an advertisement and is accepted by the lady-in-charge as someone who can take on the position that she has in mind. This will enable the lass to improve her living stardard as the fairly large amounts of cash paid to her come in handy.
The young lady is told to swallow a drink which puts her in a state of deep sleep in a double bed while she is naked. I shall let the reader make presumptions from there. She is unaware of what happens to her when she is asleep.
I was particularly upset at the way that some of these men treat her. Hopefully almost all older men do not treat women so disgustingly!
This is a film which in many ways is interesting. It is well acted by Emily Browning.and by the lady who plays the part as her boss.
However, it is the type of film that not everyone will appreciate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Defies description, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
Having recently attended ballet classes ( to help with my Parkinson's) and danced to Sleeping Beauty I searched Amazon for a DVD. I found this. I realised this was not about the Tchaikovsky but having like earlier Jane Campion films I ordered it anyway.

I cannot say I like it but I don not dislike it either. The girl's acting in a difficult role is exceptional but I don't fully understand the story. How does it end?

Is it soft porn? Certainly there's a lot of nudity but I don't think its soft porn. Borrow it don't buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I don't even understand this film..., 29 Mar 2013
By 
Miss Burton "Kat" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
This film kept on looking like it was going somewhere interesting, and it had lots of plot hooks that could have made for a great plot...but then...nothing, I spent the whole film waiting for a plot to actually turn up and happen, and it just didn't. It just didn't go anywhere or do anything. The acting was stilted...it was just...well a nothing waste of a couple of hours.
Maybe it's just a film I'm not clever enough to understand. But I certainly have no intention of ever watching it again, and after having bought it for a grand total of £3, I feel ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting movie, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Eva (Budapest) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
In the beginning Sleeping Beauty seemed to be a bit sleepy but actually it turned out to be quite interesting and even exciting. I like movies which make me think and this one belongs to them. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting drama, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film is a tough one to call. It's a disturbing drama that we follow Browning through. This film is a truly acquired taste. The image is top notch and the audio is what you would expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
An amazing film that left me feeling very drained but in a good way.
Emily Browning is an amazing actress in my opinion and this film really does show her talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks!!!, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
It is the real dark side of the truth. It is soft flavour in my mind,for ambiance and dialogues, it is disarming, completely seducing.
Fantastic cast, opportune light on dark. Always more, till its natural ending, but it's just a new situation. A new part of life that every hypno - watchers need to envisage. It could be endless, couldn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Beauty [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the film Emily Browning is a joy to whatch I liked her in sucker punch, as a result I bought Sleeping Beauty, she plays her part very well, its a stunning film, elegantly done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleeping Beauty [Blu-ray]
Sleeping Beauty [Blu-ray] by Julia Leigh (Blu-ray - 2012)
£34.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews