Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
40
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2011
The 21st-century Andrews Sisters make their fourth outing into swing, big band and boogie-woogie, this time with a silver-screen theme and added grooming from the Mad Men styling team.
With the exception of a bluegrass take on "Get Happy", the Sisters play it pretty straight with their spot-on swooning harmonic arrangements, lashings of brassy sass and Gene Krupa-style drumming, though there is mischief in their voices during "I Feel Pretty" and a playful musical saw solo in an otherwise faithful "Moon River".
It's a thin line between tribute and pastiche and The Puppini Sisters walk it in their kitten heels. F. Shepherd.

Mad Men - Complete Season 1 [DVD]
22 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
This is, and they are, singers having fun and showing they have good judgement in choosing what they record...I've not seen their act live, but their harmony, the recollection of Andrews Sisters sound, make me want to! This is a very good album and great background for a getting a party started...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Bought this as a gift as our sister had heard it and really loved the songs. Good mix of bug band, swing and boogie -woogie. A great tribute to classic performers. Would certainly recommend this CD. Our Sister lived it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album opens with the only original song to be found here, which sets the theme and the mood for the rest of the album. There is a nice mix of tempos here, with classic ballads True love. Moon river and September song as well as the upbeat numbers that suit the Puppini sisters particularly well. Some songs have arrangements not that different to the originals, while others are more noticeably different.

Diamonds are a girl's best friend and I got rhythm are noticeably different from other versions of these songs, but the most striking track here is Get happy. The instrumental credits for this track include a guitanjo, a tambourine and even a Coke bottle, although I haven't figured out where the bottle fits in.

Two songs in French are featured, these being Moi Je Joue (a song originally recorded by Brigitte Bardot, and Parle plus bas, which is actually a French version of Speak softly love.

This was their four albums, and I also have their three previous albums. If forced to choose, their debut Betcha' Bottom Dollar is probably the best, but all four are brilliant. I look forward to further releases from this trio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
It may be my age because they remind me of the Glen Miller era, which,, although i wasnt around i enjoy that
type of music. Haven t stopped playing it.
Service second to none always recommend Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
Their vocal range and harmony is exquisite and renders slightly different edge to old classics that's mesmerising. It should appeal to all who have a warm love of classics with a different and unique rendition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Puppini Sisters are back again with an album of eleven tracks from some of Hollywood's classics. With their tight harmonies these three girls get it right on the ball as they give their own renditions of songs that we all know, with the exception of the first track, which they penned themselves.

If you have never heard of The Puppini Sisters, where have you been? Always worth listening to, I must admit that this isn't the best album they have produced so far, but still it is brilliant to listen to. Relax and get your toes tapping to this as you unwind after a hard day.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Some people may think not much can be added to vintage popular songs from the golden era of Hollywood but the talented Puppini Sisters bring a fresh approach to close harmony singing that gives these old tunes a new lease of life. My only criticism is that there are not enough of them. Fans of 30's and 40's groups the Boswells and the Andrews Sisters should enjoy this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
Nothing very original here, but there wouldn't be, given the album' premiss, but the harmonies are as tight as ever and the whole production is as crisp as a new cotton sheet. Their take on "I feel pretty" shocks at first and then inspires a grin. I look forward to some original material next time, but, in the interim, I'l be playing this cd regularly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 August 2012
I have all the albums by this amazing group and I absolutely love their modern burlesque-ish jazz approach on classic songs and their imaginative arrangements and creative performances. I was really excited when they released this album, inspired by the Golden Era of Hollywood, but I was just a little disappointed, as it seems that this time the Puppini Sisters played it rather safe and their usually edgy style was a little polished.

Of course the songs are beautiful and well performed, but it is more a brilliantly executed tribute to great classic songs and performers, rather than a new daring version. The Puppini Sisters always have an amazing energy and a unique theatricality, and although this album is no exception, their performances cannot compete with the unforgettable originals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)