Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No annoying footnotes
I have the two box six volume hardback set (which looks great on the shelves) and the three volume paperback set, but this Kindle version outweighs them all because there are non of the annoying footnotes at the bottom of every page (no pages on Kindle). There are links to the notes in the text, but it is up to you whether you follow them or read it without; personally,...
Published on 29 July 2012 by John Meanwood

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How can something this old be any good?
I am obviously not an academic! I love history and have known, of course(!), about this work all my life yet never done more than
have the occasional peek, now I know why! It just does not read well. To be frank, a few well organised charts/maps would serve
to save much of the volume of this work which is overwhelmingly and, in today's world, unnecessarily...
Published 19 months ago by Richard J. Lock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No annoying footnotes, 29 July 2012
By 
John Meanwood (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I have the two box six volume hardback set (which looks great on the shelves) and the three volume paperback set, but this Kindle version outweighs them all because there are non of the annoying footnotes at the bottom of every page (no pages on Kindle). There are links to the notes in the text, but it is up to you whether you follow them or read it without; personally, I intend to read the entire History without the footnotes and then start again with the footnotes.

For the price, this is excellent value. For those who want the footnotes in the text, buy this instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value e-book, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This is really a review of the e-book version rather than Gibbon's work itself. I wanted an e-book that had a decent table of contents, and handled the footnotes properly, and this edition does all that, at an excellent price. It is worth every penny of its very low price to have decent formatting and footnotes properly hyperlinked, so you can jump to them and then back to the main text smoothly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best studies of the roman Empire ever produced. particularly considering the years in which it was put onto paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gibbon, 16 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
Very pleased with the kindle version of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire. How wonderful to have this masterpiece at on's disposal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Decline an Fall of The Roman Empire, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This book was purchased in the Kindle format and purchased together with Viscount James' book on the Holy Roman Empire.

The book is in six volumes with copious foot notes.

The reading is very heavy and requires much concentration to get through, but having said that it is well worth the effort.

This work not only deals with the ultimate fall of the empires of the east and west, capitols of which were Constantinople and Rome, but also schisms with the Christian church and the rise of Islam .

This is probably only suitable for someone studying the politics and religion of the greater Roman Empire from the time of Constantine to the fall of Constantinople.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the greatest of all history books, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded four of the separately available volumes some time ago for nothing , but the remaining two volumes were unavailable. This way I effectively got the remaining two volumes for 63½p each! Beat that for value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Text and capture, 12 April 2013
By 
Dr. E. LEEDHAM-GREEN (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This is my second reading of this magnificent text, which requires no recommendation from me.
The capture of the text is disappointing: I can understand, though I regret, that there is no attempt to
capture the Greek text, but gibberish occurs too frequently, and not just where there are proper names.
In many cases it is possible to work out what the original text reads, but not always.
What is a 'cud voice', for example? What is this interesting word 'egue'?
Nonetheless it is great to have a portable version of 6 (in my edition 12) volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 3 Mar 2013
By 
M. LARKIN (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
This book is the definitive work on the subject - it has it all and it's beautifully written - read and enjoy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History of the Decline and Fall of the Roman Empire, All 6 volumes plus Biography, Historiography and more. Over 8,000 Links (Illustrated) (Kindle Edition)
In all of History there has never been a better work of History and we owe a great debt of gratitude to Gibbon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews