Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong New Voice
Minimalist techno? Possibly/maybe. I wouldn't call it that
myself. Nicolas Jaar's debut album 'Space Is The Only Noise'
doesn't fit tidily into any particular box truth-be-told and
that is why it sustained both my interest and admiration.
Each of the 14 pieces in the collection sort-of reach out
and tap you on the shoulder to announce their...
Published on 16 Mar 2011 by The Wolf

versus
2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't believe the hype
my jaar has made some interesting music in the past but this cd is not great. he is a good looking young guy and seems to have the press on his side, so has become a trendy name to drop, good for him. i bought the cd but its like a poor bookshade, nothing particularly inventive about it
Published on 29 Aug 2011 by roger barlow


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Strong New Voice, 16 Mar 2011
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
Minimalist techno? Possibly/maybe. I wouldn't call it that
myself. Nicolas Jaar's debut album 'Space Is The Only Noise'
doesn't fit tidily into any particular box truth-be-told and
that is why it sustained both my interest and admiration.
Each of the 14 pieces in the collection sort-of reach out
and tap you on the shoulder to announce their fragile presence.
Two of the tracks ('Sunflower' and 'Trace') are less than a
minute long but nothing ever really overstays its welcome.

Mr Jaar stiches sound together into something resembling a
sonic patchwork quilt. There is logic and order at work in
the compositional structures but there is also a little chaos
mixed in for good measure just to keep us on our toes.

Some of the pieces have a coherent rhythmic narrative.
'Variations' is a delightful invention which had my toes
tapping despite themselves. A pinch of tribal; a dash of
folk; a soupcon of fractured falsetto soul. Wonderfully
weird yet also curiously emotionally affecting.

The clicks and clatters; the ghost-rider reverb guitar and
the half-heard whispered words of 'Too Many Kids In The Dust'
is another piece of beguiling musical voodoo, not unlike some
of the tortured and ambiguous sound-dramas of Tom Waits.

The subdued latin beats and bubbling underwater chords of
'Keep Me There' conjure up a spooky cheek-to-cheek Danse
Macabre. Like one of those wonderful Mexican Dia De Los
Muertos arrangements of tiny skeletal figures going about
their daily business oblivious to the fact that they no
longer have flesh on their bones!

The echoing vocal elements of 'Space Is The Only Noise If
You Can See' weave in and out of a cheekily loping bass riff
rattling and rolling through the spaces between the stars.
"Replace the word space with a drink and forget it..." intones
Mr Jaar. Methinks he has the capacity for a little drollery too!

So strange and so much to enjoy. 'Colomb' is a curiously beautiful
confection. The gentle almost-jazzy piano part supports a whistfully
deconstructed vocal of captivating intensity and mystery.

All-in-all I am quite convinced that Mr Jaar is onto something here!
Open your heart and your ears and don't be scared to jump straight in!

This is interstellar alchemy of the most accessible kind.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sound of 2011, 23 Sep 2011
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
The best album I've heard since Panda Bear's Person Pitch. The music comes from a different background but it has the same sort of feel as Noah Lennox's classic. A beguiling mix of inventiveness and strangeness that manages to stay warm and inviting at the same time.

I don't listen to hype. I didn't even know that Jaar was being "hyped". Some people seem to think that critical acclaim is the same as "hype". Have they thought that some people might actually like the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums if not the favourite., 11 Mar 2014
By 
jorge vaz (lisbon, portugal) - See all my reviews
When I heard this Album I was astounished. It is amazing. Recently I bought new Headphones (better too), I was surprised again. This Album is simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He's on fire!, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
and we let it burn.
Inspired sounds and great experimental lounge music.
I think he's gonna be a front man in this genre
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh new electronica!, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. R. T. Cook (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
Brilliant new sounding electronica with different beeps and bops that compliment each other throughout!
Recommend if you like the genre/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and entrancing, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
Gorgeous and really refreshing; within one listen I was impressed. I'm not familiar with Jaar, but I'll keep a look-out for his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars space is just a noise, 7 Jan 2013
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
In trying something random I found something wonderful, a beautiful laid back album that is a real treat from start to finish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best electronic albums I've listened too, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Possibly one of the best electronic albums I've listened too, if you haven't listened yet; Sit in a dark room with just this in your ears, you will have an experience. Jaar is the best at making you feel the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Nicolas Jaar at his best as always, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
Yes Nicolas Jaar at his best as always. I'm enjoying his music very much. And this album is great. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 5 Sep 2014
By 
Andy (Omega Land) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Is Only Noise (Audio CD)
Good record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Space Is Only Noise
Space Is Only Noise by Nicolas Jaar (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews