Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars13
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
8
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.74
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2012
I was directed to this novel after reading a very favourable RTE review. And they certainly got this one right too.

Glyn Capaldi, a policeman, has been demoted from a position in Cardiff to one in rural Wales for stuffing up an earlier case. As an outsider, he is not particularly welcome. A minivan hijacking and associated incidents are dismissed by local police as a bit of harmless joyriding, but Glyn is disturbed by a difference in the headcount - less people than reported to have participated return. His suspicions grow but he doesn't get a great deal of support from his colleagues or superiors as he continues to assess what really happened. The locals are, after all, "good people" who wouldn't be up to anything untoward.

The story flies from virtually page one and the reader is hooked. It is delivered in the first person by Glyn. Hutton does very well in setting the story up and then developing it even further as our protagonist chases leads, not always accurately. Hutton also writes with style and insights and makes good use of occasional wit. In Capaldi, he has created a great character, who is likeable (despite being very unpopular in his new environment), as well as determined and somewhat flawed. There are sexual themes in the book but few will find anything offensive or overly graphic.

A pleasure, also, to have read a Kindle version without typo or formatting problems.

In short, watch out for both Hutton and Capaldi. Great stuff.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The beginning of this book is intriguing - six drunk rugby fans and a female hitch hiker they pick up hijack their minibus and disappear but only five of the seven reappear. Enter DS Glyn Capaldi with the bit between his teeth. What follows is a roller coaster ride through sexual deviance and suspected murder in the wilds of Wales. This is an excellent read for the broad minded as I shuddered at some of the descriptions and I consider myself pretty broad minded. It is cleverly plotted with plenty of twists and turns and despite an initial urge to slap the smirk off Capaldi's face he grew into an endearing, if occasionally inept, character. I've knocked a star off my review because I felt some of the characters' motivations were unclear and not 100% plausible but it is a cracking start to the series and I will definitely be reading more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Much to live up to but without doubt this book and dare I say TV drama (with sequels and series in mind) will be up there with the best of them... Fingers crossed :-) Curious in parts and unprecictable.. A cracking read !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
A strong new voice in crime fiction Ewart Hutton has written numerous plays and has created in D.S. Glyn Capaldi an unforgettable detective that readers are sure to warm to. Good People is set in the quiet heart of rural Wales in a community which distrusts outsiders and protects its own. The writing is witty and the tale is a dark and disturbing one. This book will appeal to those who have been wolfing down the current crop of dark Nordic thrillers and anyone who appreciates a smart sharp mystery with a sting in the tail. Capaldi has been sent to the countryside after a stupid mistake has almost cost him his job, now he has his second chance but as a half-Italian city cop he will always be an outsider to the community where he works. When a group of rugby fans steal a mini- bus and head off into the woods the local cops are quick to dismiss it as youthful hi-jinks but Capladi is suspicious and as he peels away the layers it seems that even a village of good people can have a dark and deadly underside.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Introducing DS Glyn Capaldi. I think this character is excellent. Half welsh, half italian - 100% dedicated copper. Disgraced and sent to work in what he refers to as the 'boondocks'. The crime is particularly horrible and we rely on Glyn to solve it quickly. The author's description of the area and its inhabitants bring the story to life. I look forward to the next offering. Definitely one to watch!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
I wasn't sure what to expect from the description, but the character and writing turned out to be very good. The different thing about the book is the setting in wild Wales and I though that it worked quite well. His writing style is very readable, and suspending belief a little (not unusual with this type of story) it works well. I will probably read his next book as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
A first novel from debut author Ewart Hutton, a name I feel we will become more familiar with in the coming years along with his detective - D S Glyn Capaldi.
The setting is key to the story. The forgotten parts of Mid Wales where outsiders are treated with suspicion, the locals stick together and mobile phones don't work very well. Into this community a disgraced cop is re-assigned so when he alone wants to follow-up on a case he isn't widely supported.
Capaldi sees a series of disappearances as justification for his determination not to drop the investigation; plus last time he didn't push and backed off slightly it was a blight on his career and resulted in an avoidable death.
Crimes and conspiracy is seen everywhere by the detective; he gets grudging support but also feels any mistake will end his job altogether but he driven on not to make the same mistakes again if a young woman's life is at stake. Perhaps his efforts to avoid the mistakes of the past allows others to manipulate him and cloud his judgement but as the novel is written in the first person this awareness isn't clear and in his integrity we believe.
The plot is cleverly revealed as we learn at a pace with the detective' it twists and turns leaving the reader quite dizzy but thoroughly entertained.
"Didn't see that coming" is reader's lament and the thing an author strives for. It is achieved here in good style; without a box of red herring or cheap misdirection. This is simply due to wonderfully crafted writing around a well devised plot, skillful writing that runs through the whole book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Interesting look at life in a small community, if a bit lurid in places. Likeable maverick detective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
Item arrived promptly, packaging good, service good - very pleased all aspects.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
I very rarely write reviews, but this is such a cracking debut it deserves to be promoted. Fast-paced (I read it in two sittings), good characterisation, enough twists and turns to make it interesting and a welcome addition to the ranks of literary detectives with DS Glyn Capaldi. As noted elsewhere, clear shades of early Ian Rankin/Rebus, with a sense of humour to boot. It will be interesting to see how a second novel develops, but this is a terrifc start to the series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.