Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars three letters
I always enjoy reading Josephine Cox books and this one was no different, she always make the story so believable. so that you want to keep on reading to see what happen next. I cant wait for her next book to come out on kindle
Published on 26 May 2012 by terry

versus
46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A.O.K. (minus)
This is a rather disappointing addition to Josephine Cox's written works. The basic bones of the novel centre around a man of integrity (Tom) who is a hard-working factory hand respected by his fellow employees (apart from one snake). Tom's life revolves around his son, Casey, a gifted lad at music, a football fan, and a one-way loving relationship with his wife (Ruth)...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by ACB (swansea)


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A.O.K. (minus), 3 Feb 2012
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Three Letters (Hardcover)
This is a rather disappointing addition to Josephine Cox's written works. The basic bones of the novel centre around a man of integrity (Tom) who is a hard-working factory hand respected by his fellow employees (apart from one snake). Tom's life revolves around his son, Casey, a gifted lad at music, a football fan, and a one-way loving relationship with his wife (Ruth). Tom's father, Bob, is solid and a family bastion. Unfortunately, Tom's wife and Casey's mother is a loose and ill-tempered woman with no family conviction or remorse. No spoilers, as the scenario here is set in the first pages. What follows is fairly predictable. Friction between Tom and Ruth, loyalty between Tom & son, revelations of misdemeanours, three letters of destiny: follow on encounters that stretch the imagination of the reader. A sob story that has little scope for plausibility but hangs on to the narrative. Lots of padding and repetition that could do with pruning. How many times does Tom love Casey and vice versa and grandad and contempt of mother Ruth? The tale unfolds with coincidental content that just keeps the interest to the end. I have read excellent novels by Josephine Cox and appreciate her talents. Could do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So sickly sentimental it made my teeth hurt!, 17 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: Three Letters (Paperback)
Like other reviewers here, I found this book overly sentimental in writing style and completely unbelievable in plot. The descriptions of the love from son to father/grandfather are repeated ad nauseum, and a lot of the prose has a very amateur feel to it. The change of heart in the Mother (Ruth) was completely unconvincing and the mechanisms by which she was re-united with her lost love very implausible. I found the book more and more irritating, and only went on to finish it in case it redeemed itself by some unexpected chnage in style or plot - sadly it didn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Kindle Edition)
This would have been a good story if the Author had not continuously waffled at every opportunity.The characters were were not developed to their full potential and could have been more interesting. I think Miss Cox used this book as a quick money grabber and I am bitterly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars three letters, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Kindle Edition)
I always enjoy reading Josephine Cox books and this one was no different, she always make the story so believable. so that you want to keep on reading to see what happen next. I cant wait for her next book to come out on kindle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars three letters, 31 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Kindle Edition)
There is sadness and joy in this story. Casey is such a loveable lad. It will stir you emotionally. Maybe not to everyone's taste,but I quite liked this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Letters, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Hardcover)
Started reading this, so far so good, and then it got so boreing, but I kept reading, thought it would get better, but it did not,one of the most boreing books I have read, Jo Cox has done much better, I got fed up of reading Ruth this Ruth that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal present for Mum, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Hardcover)
My mother loves Josephine Cox books and was pleased to receive this as part of her Birthday present. Usual style book from a good author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touching family drama that's easy to read, 27 Feb 2012
By 
JK "Julie K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Three Letters (Hardcover)
A fictional journey into the dark heart of family secrets and, ultimately, family tragedy. An exploration into what happens when someone keeps a secret and how the repurcussions from that deceit spread in waves to affect the whole family. Because the author based the story on a real family she had once known the characters are rounded, believable,three dimensional and easy to connect with and I thought that probably saved the book. The family in question, Tom, Ruth and Casey, are in a terrible situation when we first encounter them but you're made aware of their story right from the start which leaves the rest of the book dealing with resolution. Now that's OK but; there doesn't seem to be any, not really, and the ending is wide open. Maybe, that's why the book seems overly long and wanders away with itself from time to time. About a third of the way through I began to feel somewhat bored and lost interest. However, overall this is a worthy novel that's beautifully written and quite emotional. Lacks the tension and suspense that could have been developed in a situation like this one, you feel a bit cheated, and perhaps the story just went on a bit too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Three Letters, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Kindle Edition)
This was brilliant, the love between a father and son and then the real father turns up who again is wonderful. You hate the boys Mum at first and then you begin to understand how much she was in love. What really touched me was the love between Grandad, Dad and son
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great purchase!, 24 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Three Letters (Hardcover)
Another great purchase, prompt and efficent service. I would highly recommend to friends and family. All thats left for my mum to do now is read and enjoy the purchase!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Letters
Three Letters by Josephine Cox
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews