Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant handbook for Dementia
This is a very thorough guide to dementia in all its manifestations by an experienced and eminently qualified practitioner in the field. He draws upon the knowledge gained "at the coal face" so to speak, during a career as a clinical nurse as well as through remarkable academic studies. He has mined the wordy tomes on complex subject and distilled the essential useful...
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by P. M. Barlow

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good source of information
Reading through the book it gave me an insight of this terrible illness It was helpful upto a point thanks
Published 15 months ago by Minerva


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant handbook for Dementia, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
P. M. Barlow "Karl barlow" (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
This is a very thorough guide to dementia in all its manifestations by an experienced and eminently qualified practitioner in the field. He draws upon the knowledge gained "at the coal face" so to speak, during a career as a clinical nurse as well as through remarkable academic studies. He has mined the wordy tomes on complex subject and distilled the essential useful information into this book to make it an ideal "owners manual" for anyone who, like me, has a relative with dementia, or indeed has been diagnosed themselves.

Many myths are dispelled and stigma is lifted from this misunderstood condition, to reveal the realities and practicalities of coping with it. The symptoms of every stage in the development of the various types of dementia are clearly explained and treatments, care practice and medication are all covered in laymans terms which allows sober assessment of each individual.

But the most commendable thing for me is the way the author never loses sight of the patient's perspective. To him they never cease to be people, with full consciousness, and he reminds us of it as he guides us through some of the most difficult aspects of dementia. I have seen how my own mother has benefited first hand from the knowledge and expertise that produced this invaluable and reassuring book.

I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Karl Barlow 10/11/11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and very well written book, 1 Dec. 2011
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
I am a unit manager on a dementia-nursing unit; this is just the book for me, for the relatives of my patients and for people recently diagnosed with dementia.

An excellent book, well written and very easy to understand

Contains the information that we all need to know about dementia
I have also read the author's other book on how to choose a good care home or a good nursing home for people. That book contains all the information that you need to get you informed quickly on how to find the best place for yourself or for somebody in your family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential reading, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
This is a must for anyone who has relatives suffering from any sort of Dementia, and a good idea for those in the early stages- a great help to understand what is happening to my mother and to help her feel loved, valued and appreciated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dementia 101, 18 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
I wish I had found this book a few months ago. My mother recently passed away, with dementia given as a cause of death. Despite excellent support from the Alzheimer's Society, we were still muddling along & the information about the differing stages of the disease & tips on how to maintain the independence of the sufferer would have been invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the subject area, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
This is an informative and easy to read book. It is particularly useful for the informal carers and the newly diagnosed person with dementia.
The inclusion of some case studies and further strategies to manage the condition for both the person with dementia and their families would be a useful addition. Also inclusion of some practical advice such as at what stage a person can drive to and power of attorney would enhance the text further. However despite these weaknesses a recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars should be given free!, 25 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
this gave a very clear explanation of the conditions and should be given to the carers free ( by the NHS ) as soon as the condition is diagnosed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dementia nursing, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
I am a deputy manager of a dementia nursing home for people in the later stages of the condition. This book is wonderfully written, clearly well informed and I found it extremly interesting, informative and I learnt a lot. As a nurse I spend my days learning and with dementia care, you never stop learning everyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An informative book, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
If you have been unfortunate enough to have a loved one contract this cruel disease you will know how bewildering it is to cope.I found the N.H.S. pretty useless in imparting any information on the condition.If this book had been available at least I would have had a better chance of understanding things.This book should be made available to all trying to cope with loved ones with this condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
This gave me a very good insight into Dementia, obviously no two people are the same but it has helped me understand what could happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good read, 28 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent text if your looking for a clear explanation about Dementia. Its great value for money. The content is very well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia
The Nurse Explains: Dementia, Alzheimer's Disease and Vascular Dementia by John David Baker RN MIfL Dip.RSA PGCE BSc DipHE Cert Man Care (Open) Cert HP (Open) LCGI
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews