Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of stories from the creepy to the bizarre.
From the first to the last this collection of stories never fails to entertain.This book takes you away from your plain ghost or zombie stories bringing something else altogether to stimulate your mind and broaden your imagination.I can only give it 5* as it was a pleasure to read.
Published on 9 Feb. 2013 by fudggie girl

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much gore, not enough mystery
Found most of stories either not well written or too concerned with trying to be pointlessly gory at the expense of suspense
Published 14 months ago by Bri


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of stories from the creepy to the bizarre., 9 Feb. 2013
By 
fudggie girl (wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
From the first to the last this collection of stories never fails to entertain.This book takes you away from your plain ghost or zombie stories bringing something else altogether to stimulate your mind and broaden your imagination.I can only give it 5* as it was a pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy, bizarre and varied, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
A very good collection of tales, each different to the others and carefully and expertly constructed. A new author to me, but one with a great imagination and an equally great future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly different!, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Stephen Oliver (Kloten, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book on spec, while I was searching for books on writing novels, since I've started writing my own. It promised to be a collection of dark stories, and boy, that was an understatement!

Every story began with a traditional style story, of the type I've read on many occasions, and every one of them went off in an unexpected direction, leading to endings I hadn't anticipated. This is refreshing in an era when there are so many derivative works being pushed in our faces.

One reviewer complained about too much gore and bad writing. I have to disagree. Those stories with gore wouldn't have worked if they'd been cleaned up and sanitised; they would have been boring. Even Brian Lumley agrees that there are times when blood has to be splattered around with a liberal hand. And as for bad writing, the stories pulled me in, and dragged me (kicking and screaming!) to their conclusions, which is all I ask of a story. They aren't great literary works, but then I've never enjoyed Jane Eyre or similar stories ever since school.

If you're looking for something new and interesting to while away a few hours, and you enjoy looking into the abyss of human horror and decay, then this may very well be a book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
A very entertaining collection of clever tales. I would highly recommend.
One of those books that keeps you reading on!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE BONE YARD., 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Some very good stories here to pass the time.Not the best in terms of composition but good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars, 27 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
A good selection of stories and well worth a read. Unfortunately it does have the mild drawback so many of these collections seem to be plagued with, i.e. a lack of good proof reading. An occasional missing word, wrong word, spelling error, grammatical error etc. does, for me, spoil an enjoyable reading experience. That said, this is an interesting collection of the genre. Almost 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Very happy with the book. Good mix of stories and enjoyed them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much gore, not enough mystery, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bone Yard and Other Stories (Kindle Edition)
Found most of stories either not well written or too concerned with trying to be pointlessly gory at the expense of suspense
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bone Yard and Other Stories
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews