Customer Reviews


205 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more focused and enjoyable film than the first one
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets struck me as a significantly better movie than the first Harry Potter film. The first movie was thrilling, giving us the first look with the naked eye of the setting already firmly lodged in the imaginative minds of Rowling's readers, but the fact that audiences are now quite familiar with both Hogwarts and the colorful characters...
Published on 22 Aug 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars When compared to the big screen movie or the for TV edit ...
When you buy these Warner Bros. DVD's be aware that they have been cut. The whole scene with the Malfoys in the store in Knockturn Alley is missing. The scene in the hospital wing with Hermione after the Polyjuice incedent is missing as is the scene in the library where all the others are ostracizing Harry because he speaks Parsel and they suspect him. These are just a...
Published on 24 Jun 2005 by rca0717


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A more focused and enjoyable film than the first one, 22 Aug 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets struck me as a significantly better movie than the first Harry Potter film. The first movie was thrilling, giving us the first look with the naked eye of the setting already firmly lodged in the imaginative minds of Rowling's readers, but the fact that audiences are now quite familiar with both Hogwarts and the colorful characters who reside there allows for the plot to exert greater control over everything that happens. Surely, there are little sidetracks along the way, but the tension builds continually toward the almost inevitable conclusion of the film. I will admit that one can find a few weak spots if not holes in the plot, but this fact does little to diminish the overall effectiveness of the film. Just as Rowling's writing draws you in to Harry Potter's world, so does this movie. It's rather amazing to see just how much the heroic triumvirate of Harry, Ron, and Hermione have matured, but they are still the same friends we left behind at the end of Year One. The late Richard Harris is once again the perfect Dumbledore, Professor Snape is even more Snape-ish that before, and Draco Malfoy is somehow even more unbearable. Along with all of the beloved characters we already know and love (or hate), a new set of important personages now enters Harry's world. The conceited egomaniac Professor Lockhart is a fascinating, albeit increasingly annoying, wizard, while Dobby the house elf is a well-animated, exceedingly sympathetic little guy who never fails to liven up the action around him. No one looms larger, however, than Lucius Malfoy, whose dark and looming presence comes through immediately on first sight and lingers until the very end. Important storylines for both now and the future begin to emerge, helping to pave the way for successive films. The special effects are really well done indeed, the music works perfectly, and the movie succeeds admirably in following the storyline of the book on which it is based. I would imagine that young readers are particularly fond of this film, as its variety of special effects, from the flying car to the increasingly exciting action above the Quidditch field to the amazing effects of drinking Polyjuice Potion, offers a lot of delightfully memorable moments.
The DVD features are excellent, much better than those found on the DVD of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. You don't have to jump through hoops to see all of the deleted scenes, there is a fun and informative look at the making of the movie; the tour of Dumbledore's office comes off nicely, and a number of interviews with Rowling, Chris Columbus, the actors and actresses, as well as some of the individuals in charge of creating the incredible look and feel of the movie are quite interesting to watch. A number of other activities, particularly among the DVD-ROM features, offer both adults and children a fun and easy way to linger in Harry's world for some time rather than leave immediately upon viewing the movie.
I haven't gone into detail here about the film because there's really no need to. Quite simply, this is just a great film. No longer are we and Harry oohing and aahing around every corner of the school corridors; the days of innocence and play are over as Hogwarts faces the prospect of closing. The darkness that will continually work its way into the Harry Potter storyline, greatly increasing the depth of even the most familiar of characters, begins in the Chamber of Secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph, 24 Feb 2003
After accompanying my children to the cinema to see the first Harry Potter adaptation, I must admit that I was quite looking forward to spending 2.5 hours in the company of the Hogwarts hosts, and my enthusiasm wasn't un-rewarded. Once again the time flew by far too quickly and my kids were again awestruck by the sheer scale of the deception.
There were shocks and surprises along the way. The first shock was how much Daniel and Rupert have grown since the last film, in looks, height, and confidence. Daniel's lower voice took a few scenes to get used to as well. The biggest surprise was the brilliant portrayal of Gilderoy Lockheart by Kenneth Branagh, who stole every scene he appeared in and brought much of the humor of the books into the script.
Obviously keen to overcome some criticisms of the first film, director Chris Columbus tried to include as many parts of the storyline from the book as he reasonably could in the time and as a consequence the pace never lets up. Fortunately the plot isn't too complicated (unlike the next book) so kids won't have too much trouble keeping up.
Once again excellent performances from the adults and the 3 lead children, Emma Watson settling into the role of Hermione as if she was born to play her. Ruperts facial expressions of fear, whilst funny at first, did start to wear thin towards the end, and Tom Feltons portrayal of Draco was, to be honest, embarrassing, but cut thankfully short.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable film, better than the first, a little scarier (especially if you are afraid of spiders !) and a must have DVD for your collection when released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Magical Edition, 22 Dec 2011
By 
Quinn (England, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Ultimate Edition) - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is the 2nd HP Ultimate Edition boxset. This edition is red (UE 1 was blue) with a cardboard sleeve. The box inside is solid and and very well-presented with lovely detailing. Inside there is a hardback 'Creating The Characters of Harry Potter' photo album featuring lots of pictures of the cast and some interesting concept drawings. There is also a paper folder which contains two artcards - Hagrid and Harry Potter - and a digital film code leaflet.
The discs themselves are housed in a separate fold-out dvd set:
Disc 1: Blu-Ray Movie (Theatrical Version)
Disc 2: DVD Movie (Theatrical Version)
Disc 3: DVD Movie (Extended Version)
Disc 4: DVD Special Features (Conversation With J.K.Rowling and Screenwriter Steve Kloves, 16 Mins of Additional Scenes, Sketch Gallery, Build A Scene, Tour of Chamber of Secrets, Diagon Alley, Dumbledores Office, Character Q&As, Character Snapshots
Disc 5: DVD 'Creating The Characters of Harry Potter' Documentary with Screen Tests, Trailers & TV Spots (1. The Magic Begins 2. Characters 3. Magical Creatures 4. Sound & Music 5. The Evolution of Harry Potter 6. Special Effects 7. Growing Up Potter 8. The Harry Potter Phenomenon)
Although this edition is marketed as a Blu-Ray set, please be aware that only one disc is a Blu-Ray which is my only complaint. Unfortunately the UK version does not contain a Blu-Ray extended version of the film which is really disappointing, especially when the US version of this boxset has one. However, the DVD extended version of the film is still great to watch with some worthwhile scene additions. Some of the extras here have been featured before on other Potter discs but the documentary on Disc 5 is new and interesting, offering a fantastic behind-the-scenes look with the cast. There's some lovely sections of the cast reading extracts of the books which is great to watch. Overall I think this set is magical and a wonderful edition for any fan... it's just a shame there's not an extra Blu-Ray extended version of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It blew me off my broom!, 24 April 2003
WOW! It really did blow me off my broomstick whilst i was joining in in a spot of Quiddictch. This film is far better than the first, it jumps straight into the story unlike 'The Philosophers Stone' which takes about an hour to get into the main story. The story is much darker and slicker than the first, and very gripping. Propably the most likeable and most annoying character of the film 'Dobby' warns Harry at the beggining not to go back to Hogwarts "terrible things will happen", but because he is Harry, and because if he didnt then there would be no film, Harry goes back to Hogwarts. Students are soon found lying stiff in corridoors with messages on the walls saying " The Chamber of Secrets has been opened", the students are said to have been petrified by a monster or the Heir of Slytherin, which people believe is Harry. Is it Harry?You soon find out in a great imaginative story that will leave you gripped for the whole film, oh and if you don't like spiders don't watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you're a Muggle, look away now......., 23 Feb 2003
By 
Nicky (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
As a huge fan of the Harry Potter series of novels, I really wanted to see just how well Chris Coloumbus made the transition from book to film. The first outing for Harry was excellent, and introduced old readers and new viewers alike to Harry, Ron, Hermione and the rest of Hogwarts' staff.
In 'The Chamber Of Secrets', Harry is developed as a character, as are his friends, although in reality a little more of the book has been edited out than I really would have liked. But that is my only real criticism of this film.
Daniel Radcliffe proves that he has developed as an actor since 'The Philosopher's Stone', and he is well backed up by his co-stars, both in Ron and Hermione, but also in Malfoy and his cronies.
I am a big fan of both Alan Rickman and Keneth Branagh, and their performances are just briliant, tongue in cheek enough for the older viewers, but Alan Rickman's bad guy Snape and Branagh's comic Lockhart will also appeal to younger watchers.
I love the Harry Potter movies, and I think that they will, perhaps not be as classic as the books, but still will remembered as some of the best children's films in recent years. I personally think that they are great,and I will enjoy them for many years to come. I hope you do too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A DVD FOR ALL AGES, 28 July 2009
By 
M. T. De Lambert (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Harry Potter story just like the previous one will interest and engage both adults and kids. The story has a brilliant plot and is full of magic and mystery. It will enthrall you to the end.

Harry, with his best friends, Hermione and Ron start their second year at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Here they meet their new Defence Against the Dark Arts teacher, learn new spells, play Quidditch AND solve the mystery of the Chamber of Secrets whilst avoiding hidden dangers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, 23 Oct 2003
By 
geraldine marie mcclintock (belfast, antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After having watched the first Harry Potter Movie which I thought was more than fabulous, I waited for the Chamber of Secrets, thinking to myself that the sequel to a movie is never as good as the first one.
I could have never been more wrong. Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets was just as good as Harry Potter and the Philosphers Stone. The Chamber of Secrets is just as action packed, funny and that all-round good family movie.
Its a great movie for the kids, but the adults will enjoy it even more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Gets Better And Better, 21 Feb 2003
By 
Matt (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
When I went to see this film I was expecting a lot and that's exactly what I got. The children's acting abilities have come on leaps and bounds, especially Rupert Grint and Emma Watson who now seem a lot more confident. Jason Isaacs performance as Lucious Malfoy depicts him as the ultimate children's film villain (despite the fact it's Lord Voldemort in the Harry Potter series) but it's Kenneth Brannagh that steals the show. I wasn't sure how well he'd do but he hams up the part of Gilderoy Lockheart to perfection.
As for the actually DVD release, they seem to be doing a "Lord Of The Rings" style film with 19 new or extended scenes (much better than the previous film's seven hidden scenes) as well as cast interviews, interactive games and much more. Hopefully it will be easier to navigate than the Philosophers Stone DVD.
If the bonus features live up to the standards of the film, it will definitely be worth buying. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Job, 31 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. N. Coleman (SW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a review of the movie, there are plenty of those. This is a short review of the Blu-Ray. As an avid HD fan, I have slowly but surely re-obtained my favourite films on BD and given away the DVD's to friends and family. The most obvious thing to say is that they are all better quality than DVD which is an aged technology now. However, the "transfer" from cell to digital is not always well done and some movies which were not mastered in digital can be comparatively poor at HD.

Potter has transferred very well, the scenes are crisp and clear with relatively low evidence of grain although this can sometimes be a subjective matter. The audio is also very good although not true HD. I am happy with this transfer to BD and consider it good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly recomended, 10 July 2010
By 
We have recentley started watching all the Harry Potter films again from the start i found the first one really good fun but i must say this one was even better second time around.
I had not seen it for quite a while maybe 5 years and didnt really remember much of the storyline at all.
Again another fun family adventure film nothing to scary for the young ones apart from the giant spiders (they even made me cringe).A fantastic film to watch on a sunday afternoon and i will highly recomend this one to fans of the books..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews